We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Backpack
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cape Milner(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fritz Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
An African Villa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Long Street Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Cape Town Hollow(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Happy Rhino Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveler rating
472
193
41
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
193
41
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetfair tradetable mountainprivate bathroombed dormtownship tourcommon areasrooms are cleanenjoyed my stayfelt very safethe location is perfectkloof streetstayed here for nightsstay in cape townsouth africahome away from homehostel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 730 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My hubby and I stayed at the Backpack for a few nights on our recent trip to the rainbow nation and found it really good value for the price. We stayed in a private double which was clean, comfortable and appeared secure. There are plenty of safes available in the complex for valuables, the kitchen has everything but an oven and microwave, the car-park didn't seem to get too over-crowded and has an overnight guard as it isn't gated. The bar area was nice and friendly, a good place to spend a quick drink or two. The Backpack is also located in a handy location, on the convergence of roads to Table Mountain, Camps Bay and the Waterfront, with various food outlets and supermarkets nearby.
We will likely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fliss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with your accommodation.

In our self-catering facilities we do have two oven style microwaves for our guests to use as we don't have a built in oven. Sorry, if you didn't have a chance to make use of them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hostel.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Overall this hostel is very good. Very tidy rooms and a friendly and helpful staff. The hostel has an awesome location near Kloof Street and Long Street (but not on Long Street) and has a great view of Table Mountain in the background. Many pubs and good restaurants are within walking distance (cactus jacks,Simply Asia, Knead). The staff is young and energetic and willing to take you out on the town and organize numerous tours for you. Highly recommend a Shark Diving excursion and a Township tour while visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is lovely to hear that you had a good stay at the Backpack. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed some night outs with the staff in town.

We are happy to hear that you were able to make use of the travel desk that we have on site at the hostel to book trips.

Please visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed at The Backpack during September 2012 after it being recommended by a friend. Overall, the hostel is large, clean, in a great location, and has a great atmosphere for travelers. There are plenty of bathrooms and showers which have good pressure and are hot. There is a fun bar with a pool table where you can always make a couple friends; and although I did not eat the food, it looked good and was reasonably priced.

Negatives - Internet isn't great and was quiet expensive, not unlike many other places though in Africa. Also, I was in the largest mix dorm room, and we had cupboards for our things to be locked away. Not 1 of the 8 people in my room could get their clipboard to lock. When I asked the front desk to fix it, they said they would, but it was never done. Luckily, there is good security here from outside guests and nothing I had was stolen. Finally, there was only 1 outlet plug for us to charge our electronics in the room. Not enough for 8 people to share.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelindaBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Backpack. We pride ourselves in having an awesome location in the city.

It is unfortunate that the lockers in your rooms did not work. We will be sure to have our maintenance man have a look at them. Our security at hostel is a top priority so we are glad that you felt safe within the Backpack walls.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I travelled in a group of ten, and after arriving from Durban, where our hostel was dirty, and a bit shifty, arriving here felt like living in luxuary.

The location is handy, with kloof street around the corner, and long street not far either, the view of table mountain just tops it off.

The bar has a relaxing atmosphere, just what you need after a long hike up table mountain or drive to cape point.

It's dedication to fair trade is also admirable, representing the ethos of the hostel.

Fantastic stay, I will definitely visit again one day.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on TripAdvisor.

We are really happy to hear that you found the Backpack a touch of luxury. We are always proud of our establishment when we can outshine our guests impressions of what they were expecting.

We truly pride ourselves in our Fairtrade accreditation, as it not only shows that we give back to our community, but we work fairly amongst our staff members as well.

Please visit us again next time you are in Cape Town.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

At the beginning of July, I stayed in the 'Family Room' under the roof for two nights with my family. The view of Table Mountain through the ceiling windows is a great addition. The double bed and the two single beds were very comfortable. En-Suite room with a small but cosy bathroom. Beautiful large room in this backpacker which is located only five minutes walk from the famous Long Street. Fantastic room!
Later that same month, I returned to The Backpack alone and stayed for a week in a En-Suite Single room. This room was very comfortable, with a nice bathroom. Great room!
The private rooms are well equipped with African style and comfortable furniture. A small table was missing from both rooms visited, and would be a great addition to be able to do some work.
The backpacker offers a parking for a dozen cars, 24-hour guard and security. The inner court is a very nice and relaxing place with a billiard table and a small restaurant that serves snacks and drinks, as well as a great breakfast. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. I would recommend to stay at this backpacker to anyone, from lone travellers seeking to meet fellow travellers, families and groups of friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelScholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hostel on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely glad to hear that you keep coming back to our hostel on so many different occasions.

It is nice to see that you have tried a few different types of rooms out within the hostel, as it gives you a nice feel as to all the rooms we offer.

We are happy that you felt safe parking your car in the parking lot knowing that there was a security guard there on a 24/7 basis.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews