We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place made our trip!”
Review of The Backpack

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Backpack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our stay at the backpack was a perfect end to a long trip. Within 30 minutes of check in we were in the bar area drinking and hanging out with people we just met and felt right at home. The staff was awesome and made our stay a ton of fun. Best location, totally safe, and a great environment. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank briancrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is awesome to hear that you had an awesome stay with us at the Backpack. Our staff strive to make all our guests feel like they are part of the family.

We are happy to hear that you were able to use the bar facilities too.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards



Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 713 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

My hubby and I stayed at the Backpack for a few nights on our recent trip to the rainbow nation and found it really good value for the price. We stayed in a private double which was clean, comfortable and appeared secure. There are plenty of safes available in the complex for valuables, the kitchen has everything but an oven and microwave, the car-park didn't seem to get too over-crowded and has an overnight guard as it isn't gated. The bar area was nice and friendly, a good place to spend a quick drink or two. The Backpack is also located in a handy location, on the convergence of roads to Table Mountain, Camps Bay and the Waterfront, with various food outlets and supermarkets nearby.
We will likely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fliss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with your accommodation.

In our self-catering facilities we do have two oven style microwaves for our guests to use as we don't have a built in oven. Sorry, if you didn't have a chance to make use of them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hostel.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Overall this hostel is very good. Very tidy rooms and a friendly and helpful staff. The hostel has an awesome location near Kloof Street and Long Street (but not on Long Street) and has a great view of Table Mountain in the background. Many pubs and good restaurants are within walking distance (cactus jacks,Simply Asia, Knead). The staff is young and energetic and willing to take you out on the town and organize numerous tours for you. Highly recommend a Shark Diving excursion and a Township tour while visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is lovely to hear that you had a good stay at the Backpack. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed some night outs with the staff in town.

We are happy to hear that you were able to make use of the travel desk that we have on site at the hostel to book trips.

Please visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed at The Backpack during September 2012 after it being recommended by a friend. Overall, the hostel is large, clean, in a great location, and has a great atmosphere for travelers. There are plenty of bathrooms and showers which have good pressure and are hot. There is a fun bar with a pool table where you can always make a couple friends; and although I did not eat the food, it looked good and was reasonably priced.

Negatives - Internet isn't great and was quiet expensive, not unlike many other places though in Africa. Also, I was in the largest mix dorm room, and we had cupboards for our things to be locked away. Not 1 of the 8 people in my room could get their clipboard to lock. When I asked the front desk to fix it, they said they would, but it was never done. Luckily, there is good security here from outside guests and nothing I had was stolen. Finally, there was only 1 outlet plug for us to charge our electronics in the room. Not enough for 8 people to share.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelindaBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Backpack. We pride ourselves in having an awesome location in the city.

It is unfortunate that the lockers in your rooms did not work. We will be sure to have our maintenance man have a look at them. Our security at hostel is a top priority so we are glad that you felt safe within the Backpack walls.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I travelled in a group of ten, and after arriving from Durban, where our hostel was dirty, and a bit shifty, arriving here felt like living in luxuary.

The location is handy, with kloof street around the corner, and long street not far either, the view of table mountain just tops it off.

The bar has a relaxing atmosphere, just what you need after a long hike up table mountain or drive to cape point.

It's dedication to fair trade is also admirable, representing the ethos of the hostel.

Fantastic stay, I will definitely visit again one day.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on TripAdvisor.

We are really happy to hear that you found the Backpack a touch of luxury. We are always proud of our establishment when we can outshine our guests impressions of what they were expecting.

We truly pride ourselves in our Fairtrade accreditation, as it not only shows that we give back to our community, but we work fairly amongst our staff members as well.

Please visit us again next time you are in Cape Town.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

At the beginning of July, I stayed in the 'Family Room' under the roof for two nights with my family. The view of Table Mountain through the ceiling windows is a great addition. The double bed and the two single beds were very comfortable. En-Suite room with a small but cosy bathroom. Beautiful large room in this backpacker which is located only five minutes walk from the famous Long Street. Fantastic room!
Later that same month, I returned to The Backpack alone and stayed for a week in a En-Suite Single room. This room was very comfortable, with a nice bathroom. Great room!
The private rooms are well equipped with African style and comfortable furniture. A small table was missing from both rooms visited, and would be a great addition to be able to do some work.
The backpacker offers a parking for a dozen cars, 24-hour guard and security. The inner court is a very nice and relaxing place with a billiard table and a small restaurant that serves snacks and drinks, as well as a great breakfast. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. I would recommend to stay at this backpacker to anyone, from lone travellers seeking to meet fellow travellers, families and groups of friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelScholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hostel on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely glad to hear that you keep coming back to our hostel on so many different occasions.

It is nice to see that you have tried a few different types of rooms out within the hostel, as it gives you a nice feel as to all the rooms we offer.

We are happy that you felt safe parking your car in the parking lot knowing that there was a security guard there on a 24/7 basis.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Overall, our stay was very good.

The staff was friendly and helped us book a few tours during our time in Cape Town. They have a wide variety of tours you can book right at the main desk, which is so easy and convenient; all the tours we booked were excellent. They even let us store our luggage and shower in the evening before traveling home since we had checked out early that day.

The location is awesome. You can walk to many restaurants nearby and it is about a R40 taxi ride to the aquarium/Waterfront or Table Mountain. A big plus is all taxis know where it is!

But there are many beds and only one kitchen to be shared, so it was very crowded in the mornings and evenings. Fellow travelers didn't seem to respect the shared kitchen space, so it was often dirty and clean dishes were sparse. Also, with so many people sharing such a small space, it was difficult to store much food in the fridge or cabinets.

The laundry (R50 per load) and internet are overpriced, but our room had a small heater and fan, and there is good water pressure in addition to plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: We really liked the two-person room with ensuite bathroom, but it seemed as though all areas were no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nc0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are really glad to hear that you had a lovely stay at the Backpack.

We love our location within the city as well, just close enough to all the fun, but far away enough that you can have a restful sleep at night.

Thank you for pointing out that you found that there are not enough storage boxes in the self-catering kitchen. We will be sure to put some more into the kitchen.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hostel again soon.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
392 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 129 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#9 of 129 in Cape Town Central
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 129 in Cape Town Central
520 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 129 in Cape Town Central
396 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 129 in Cape Town Central
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Address: 74 New Church Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $32 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Africa's original award-winning Fair Trade hostel and travel shop, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban designer hostel. Private or Shared rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, electronic safes and in-house ATM. FREE fibre WiFi through the hostel. Swim in the pool with a view of Table Mountain, meet like-minded international travelers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, singles, twins and family rooms. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing