We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, relaxing nothing was too much bother, excellent service”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
North East England
1 review
“Friendly, relaxing nothing was too much bother, excellent service”
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The rooms were large and spotless, the bathroom had both a bath and shower, allowing a long soak at the end of a hard day sight seeing.
The breakfast was fantastic, the cook was keen to cook your eggs exactly how you like them. Although if you didnt fancy a good full english breakfast, there was the choice of cereals, pastries, cold meats and cheese, variety of bread and fresh fruit.
Phil was a excellent host, when we arrival we were offered a glass of red wine, he was always around each morning happy to help and advice. The location of this B & B is great, easy access to cape town, table mountain and the main road N2 out of Cape Town, also it a safe walking distance from many restaurants . We would really recommend staying at Parkers Cottage ,

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bram14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
142
633
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Arrived in Cape Town late in the evening. We were tired after our long trip from the US and the welcome we got from Anton and the neighbor's cat was wonderful. Our rooms were comfortable and cozy and Phil did his best to meet and satisfy our every expectation. He was the perfect host..... helped us plan our sightseeing trips, got us a bigger rental car when ours didn't seem to fit 4 ladies and our luggage for the three week trip, had wonderful wine and cheese tasting and as part of the winter special package, had in room massages scheduled for us. He even provided personal taxi service when I had to bring my daughter, who had been studying at U of Cape Town, some new clothes from home. The breakfasts were always spectacular and we loved the different native fruits that they served each morning. The front porch was a wonderful place to have coffee in the morning and all of us loved the use of the free internet. The common areas were clean and welcoming and the various guests we met from all over Africa and Europe extremely interesting. Our special thanks to Anton for all of his help and suggestions about where to go and what to see. We truly feel blessed to have begun our South African Odyssey in Cape Town in the capable hands of Phil and his staff at Parker Cottage.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamaria807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

My family spent 3 weeks in South Africa in September and although we only stayed at the Parker Cottage in Cape Town for one night (before our flight to Kruger National Park early the next morning) our stay was delightful. Phil (the owner) was the perfect host and made a point of interacting with all of his guests and even prearing a lovely "happy hour" with snacks for the weary travelers in the cozy living room. The rooms were older, but spacious, and the improvements they have made to the house were apparent. The neighborhood was very authentic and we had one of the best dinners in Cape Town right around the corner from the B&B... a charming & very local hangout! Overall, we had a wonderful nights rest at the Parker Cottage and can't wait to go back to Cape Town!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dklaureneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Parker Cottage is a fantastic gem. This home away from home affordable luxury was a terrific find. The welcome sign with our names and the meet and greet, followed by free drinks and snacks was wonderful. All our concerns were met with graciousness and humour. The staff are extraordinary! Close to Restaurants and all amenities. Run of the house. Varied, delicious and abundant breakfasts. Free internet a bonus. Hard to leave!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

My husband and three children spent 7 nights at Parker Cottage. It felt like we were guests at a home, rather than customers at a "paid accommodation." We had Room 8, as well as the two annex rooms adjacent. The set up was proposed by Phil, our gracious host, and provided us with comfort as well as a great deal of privacy. The rooms are spotless, and the beds very comfortable. My children were treated with respect and kindness which did not go unnoticed. My children also appreciated the free wi-fi, while I appreciated the lovely porch and surrounding gardens. Complimentary wine was served every other night, accompanied by great discussions with both Phil and Anton. The conversations helped us a great deal to understand the culture and politics of South Africa in greater detail. Marie and Betty served up a delicious breakfast everyday, and Phil went out of his way to serve us local Boerewors sausage which we had enjoyed at Kruger Park. My husband celebrated his birthday in Cape Town, and Betty gave him a genuine hug, and Phil provided a nice surprise. If we are ever fortunate enough to visit beautiful Cape Town again, we will stay at Parker's Cottage. Also, Phil arranged a pick up for us at the airport, and both he and Anton were superior in giving advice about local restaurants, as well as arranging car rental. What else could anyone want?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

A warm welcome from Anton, and later Phil, made this place very special. We were welcomed with a pot of tea and later a bottle of wine which gave us the opportunity to chat about what we were wanting to do.
There were excellent suggestions for eating, all within walking distance. phil also gave us local information which helped us to plan our time effectively.
The rooms were clean, comfortable, especially the beds, and the breakfasts were plentiful and varied.
The terrace was delightful in the brief amount of sunshine we had.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE TOWN
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We had been looking forward to our romantic getaway for weeks and were pleasantly surprised that it lived up to our expectations.
We were greeted by Phillip, our host, on arrival and offered a beer on the tearrace in the garden, the water feature assisting us in switching into relaxation mode. Phillip was the perfect host, had a good laugh together and gave us some valuable information and then we were left in peace to enjoy the romantic setting together. The guest house is light,spacious and stylishly decorated with magnificent high ceilings. We had a stunning Victorian style bath in our suite which we had to make the most of as we don't have a bath at home so we soaked in bubbles and chilled out to the max!
The next morning we woke up ravenous and chose to sit outside so we could make the most of the sunshine and enjoy the garden. We are both caffeine addicts and are often disappointed by the coffee...not today!We were treated to a Kenyan blend which was delicious and got the taste buds going beserk. We devoured a citris salad with an unusual blend of avocado thrown into the mix, delicious! We then were treated to one of the most scrumptuous vegetarian breakfasts with mushrooms, bell peppers and perfect scrambled eggs...the highlight was the fresh baked almond croissants...mmmm. Excellent breakfast and we were energised to bounce into our Sunday :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,404 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
629 reviews
La Grenadine
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing