We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place close to the city centre”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed in Parker Cottage in Feb 09 and had a really great stay there. The B&B is furnished and decorated in the style of an English country home which is very homely and warm but also a little bit dark. Phil is a great host, breakfasts have been overwhelmingly good and he serves wine and nibbles a couple of times a week on the porch which is a great occasion to chat with the other guests and exchange stories and information. while there is no pool at the B&B, you can use the pool at the other B&Bs Phil runs which is not far away. Location wise, easy walks into the centre, if you have a car, this is a good base for exploring cape town and the surronds. Overall, it's a great place to stay and to chill out.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckytraveller918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2009

Just wanted to respond to the part of this review about the house being a bit dark: having only been here 8 months, we're aware that not everything is perfect yet. One thing that will be hard to change is the character of the house - it's over 120 years old and is a listed heritage building, so putting in additional natural lighting is not really a possibility. For some guests, especially in the heat of summer, the cooling nature of the high ceilings and shaded windows is a blessing. In winter, when the light is lower, this may not be so obvious. Hope this helps! Liz and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

913 - 919 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

Lovely hosts, very friendly and helpful with absolutely everything. Rooms decorated in beautiful cottage style, lounge rooms very cozy especially in winter (when we were there) with the fireplace and glass of wine... Breakfast absolutely delicious, you can have it for hours... Perfectly positioned in quiet street with 5min drive from either Table Mountain, Sugar Hill or Campus Bay or Waterfront. Lots of galleries and restaurants nearby - just ask your host and they'll point you to right place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BataDelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Like many guests before us, we consider Parker Cottage to be an excellent B&B. The house itself is beautiful and has a very nice atmosphere. We stayed in the family room (they converted the domestic quarters - it turned out to be a perfect spot for our family of five). It was maybe not a 100% ready when we came, but that didn't make our stay less enjoyable. Who cares about a shower curtain when Phil, the owner, is awaiting you on arrival with a cup of tea... and later on had a bottle of wine ready to share.
Besides the lovely house, the perfect location (very near Kloof Street, so you could walk to many good restaurants in the evening), the nice breakfasts, free internet access (and that all for affordable rates), for us it was Phil's hospitality that made this place the perfect B&B: he is truly helpful and informative, warm and caring - without being obtrusive.
Our children (12, 10 and 8 yrs) loved it too and we all look forward to our next visit to Cape Town and Parker Cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaskiaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Parker Cottage is a beautiful, relaxed place to stay in Cape Town. The hosts are friendly and efficient, the grounds and rooms are well kept and comfortable, and the breakfasts are excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradobirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

This is a beautiful place to stay (house and grounds) with warm, welcoming folks. The room I shared (the whimisical one with music wallpaper in the loo) was spacious, clean, pretty and comfortable. The breakfasts were delightful--delicious and large enough to skip lunch--as were the staff. The location is superb with numerous of Cape Town's best restaurants within a stone's throw, as well as Table Mountain, nice, hilly walks, and Long Street. It's an easy walk to sites in town too. The wine soirees are an especially nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanat3880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Parker Cottage is strategically located in Cape Town and very close to a variety of restaurants. The services offered by the management are excellent. Breakfast is well prepared and carters for all tastes. The bedrooms are spacious and very clean. The same applies to the toilets, bath tabs and shower rooms. One can relax in two living rooms which are well decorated. Alternatively, one can sit outside in the veranda while admiring a very productive old orange tree. The interaction between clients and management is personalised and very warm. Parker Cottage is simply among the best.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007Lusaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My wife and I traveled to Cape Town in April, 2009 and decided to stay at Parker Cottage based on the positive reviews we read on Trip Advisor and other sources. We were not disappointed by our experience.

Parker Cottage is a wonderful, laid-back, yet elegantly styled guest house situated in close proximity to many of the prominent Cape Town attractions. While its location is excellent, I have to say that the most compelling reason to stay at Parker Cottage is to experience the first rate service and care of Phil, Anton and the entire staff , who each go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. For example, we managed to get two flat tires on our drive to Cape Point and were stranded at the Cape Point visitor center. After offering to make the hour plus drive himself to pick us up (which we declined), Phil quickly arranged alternate transportation to bring us back to the city and ensured that we had a replacement rental car first thing the next morning.

We stayed in two different luxury rooms during our time at Parker Cottage and were equally impressed by the quality of both rooms. Breakfast can be taken in the dining room or on the terrace, which is surrounded by a lovely garden. Every other evening Phil or Anton served drinks and snacks on the terrace. This gave us an opportunity to meet the other guests, which we really enjoyed.

We would not hesitate to stay at Parker Cottage again on our next trip to Cape Town and recommend it whole heartedly to anyone considering a bed and breakfast option - we can't imagine a better stay in the city.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Couple45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#61 of 112 in Cape Town Central
393 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
283 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
471 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $117 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing