We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very different delightful experience!”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We chose Parker Cottage as a base to explore Cape Town prior to embarking on a 62 Grand Cruise Adventure on a "slow boat to China". The Cottage is quaint and reminiscent of days gone by-but do not be mistaken, the bathroom was unique and charming and totally functional yet so different in a great way-not unlike my Grandparents home in Belgium where I stayed as a child 55+ years ago. The bed was large and comfortable. The room although a little small for a long stay was perfect for our needs. The staff were superb, even kind enough to stock up on necessities for us to take on the ship. The other like minded guests were a pleasure to chat to and get acquainted with, there was much camaraderie. The hyped up breakfast quite frankly was not hyped up enough, it's simply outstanding. The great reviews Parker Cottage receive are well justified. We had no hesitation in singing it's praises to the folk that joined us on the ship all having stayed at various higher priced establishments in Cape Town.
Parker cottage is a gem, relaxing, inviting, and they deliver what they promise.
P.S. Their coffee is in a class of it's own. Go see for yourself you will not be disappointed. Joanne and Stewart

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gunner909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Our coffee is in a class of its own? Thanks for letting everyone know! We made the decision a while back at Parker Cottage to set out to find high-quality, fair trade, African coffee. No coffee is actually grown within our borders, (surprising, when you think about it as South Africa grows pretty much everything else...) so we had to look further afield to Ruwanda, Tanzania and Kenya. Now, all of our coffee here is African and fair trade produced and we're very proud of that fact, we must say.

Thank you for passing us on to everyone on the ship! We do like to think that you don't need to pay five star prices to get five star service at Parker Cottage. Granted, we don't have the facilities and room sizes of some of the larger hotels in Cape Town but we hope that we make up for that with a genuine and personalised experience.

Hope you made it back from the slow boat and we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

After nearly 12 hours overnight on a full 747, arriving at 10am at Parker Cottage's tranquility and breakfast was sooo welcome, as was the early access to a quirky glazed shower room!

Although I only stopped two nights, because I was booked elsewhere into a faded four star hotel by the V & A to start a two week package trip, I truly wished I had just stayed with my own arrangement and stayed on at the Parker Cottage. It is located in a buzzing inner suburb, with good local restaurantys and easy access both to Cape Town and Table Mountain.

The management and staff were genuinely caring and helpful. The real Victorian bedrooms are delightful. The outdoor areas are traquil and reminiscent of an Italian Villa, complete with fountain and carp pond.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbraithwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

A really wonderful place to stay, friendly helpful staff who always had a smile on their faces. The rooms were large and very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. Phil and his team help with advice right from your first correspondence with them right up to leaving them. My only regret is that we did not stay longer. Thank you Phil and everyone at Parker Cottage.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummyspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

As a South African living abroad, going "home" is always special but our last trip to Cape Town was especially good because of our experience at Parker Cottage.
Prior to booking we were very impressed with their website and the views expressed there and found that the reality far exceeded expectations.
Phil and his staff - we unfortunately didn't get to meet Liz - certainly go the extra mile, and the ethos behind the venture shines through.
They are truly an example of what can be achieved in that magnificent country.
Other reviewers have mentioned the style of the accommodation, the fantastic breakfasts and all the little touches that make Parker Cottage exceptional - and we can only but agree whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We need not add to the glowing comments heaped on Phil, Liz and the team. They truly earn the feedback given. Much has been mentioned about how helpful they are, above and beyond what is required to make a simple accommodation booking - from restaurant tips and sightseeing suggestions before you arrive, to a welcome beer while registration formalities are carried out sitting in the front garden - it was all most thoughtful and considered.

Sadly, our stay was marred by an unpleasant incident completely unconnected with Parker, but the lengths Phil went to in ensuring that we had a relatively uninterrupted final day's holiday are reason enough for us to make Parker our base in Cape Town whenever we find ourselves lucky enough to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, even the smaller ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0ffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

"Outshine a Sheraton?" Well, that's wonderful to hear, truly! (We also, having three MAs here in English literature and language working at Parker Cottage, particularly enjoyed the alliteration of that expression :-)). Yes, it was a bit of an unfortunate incident with your car, but at Parker Cottage, the point is that guests do not administrate their holiday or their trip once they have booked with us: we do it all, from fighting with car hire companies (how we love that part of our job!) to rebooking flights, getting you tables at restaurants and tickets to pretty much anything that is happening in Cape Town. We like to think that just because you're not paying five star prices, that's no reason not to offer five star service. One in the eye for Mr. Sheraton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a very memorable time staying at Parker Cottage- not so very different then the other wonderful reviews. Our high ceiling room with it's large window, comfortable queen bed and grand furnishings, besides the thoughtful detail put into making the room beautiful was enjoyed easily by us. Our breakfast was amazing each morning-fresh fruit, lattes, fresh juice, home made specials that were really wonderfully prepared , and the warm croissant ( our choice was almond ) to top off the meal , was just amazing . !! I think the extremely significant part of our eventual stay was the correspondence that took place prior to arriving. For this we are most grateful for. Much of what could have taken up our time was sorted out before we arrived ( tour bookings, restaurant considerations, ideas and answered questions...) Thank you to Phil and Liz for all that you shared and provided for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanpac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thanks J&P and in response, you're welcome, anytime, to the 'pre-arrival' conversation. South Africa isn't the easiest destination to book or find out about before you get here and, it's a very long way away from almost everywhere. We find that helping our guests with the big decisions (how long to stay in each place, how to get around, what's safe, what isn't, etc.) puts guests at their ease and lets them really enjoy the country properly, without having to worry about whether they made the right choices!

We're still getting through all your presents: going to try the cookbook tonight. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Before we even arrived, we were in love with this place and the staff! We found Parker Cottage on Trip Adviser and it seemed fantastic, too good to be true. From the first emails that we exchanged, we just knew that this was a special find, and our experience surpassed our very high expectations. Even though they couldn't accommodate us for all of our 6 nights in Cape Town, we accepted their offer to 'manage' our stay. They arranged for us to stay in a couple of local alternative guest houses on the nights when we couldn't stay at 'Parker' - excellent alternatives, both. But we loved 'coming home' to Parker Cottage! The rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated, and are spotlessly clean. Breakfast is a wonderful indulgence, not to be rushed. Savour it, enjoy the peaceful surroundings...while your hosts help you to plan your day. Phil sorted out our itinerary for our entire stay, and was a fantastic host, and friend! The rest of the staff were all so helpful and friendly too. Honestly, I can't find fault in this place - the best guest house we have ever stayed in - period! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We sampled three rooms (our fault for not booking early enough!), one from each of their 'grades...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thanks so much for this wonderful review! The best guesthouse you've ever stayed in? You can't fault the place? We're truly honoured!

Yes, you did get a tour of the rooms whilst you stayed with us, which was quite fun! At least you got to see all the types of room we offer. We deliberately opted out of star grading about three or four years ago because we wanted the guesthouse to have a bigger variety of rooms, meaning that a bigger variety of guests would stay with us. This is one of the reasons why our wine evenings are so fun because you'll meet people from all walks of life with very varied incomes and that that keeps things interesting!

Thanks for mentioning that we also sourced the rest of your accommodation whilst you were here: we have a rule at Parker Cottage that if a guest takes the trouble to contact us, regardless of whether we're full or out of budget, we make it our problem to find them the room that they are looking for. We never turn anyone away empty handed.

It sounds like we'll see you very soon. Thanks so much for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#61 of 112 in Cape Town Central
393 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
283 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
471 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $117 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing