We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parker Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$171
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$101
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$116
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$154
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$197
$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
$184
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$762
$733
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$752
$427
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$549
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,063)
Filter reviews
1,063 results
Traveler rating
1,004
54
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,004
54
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsspecial of the daycape peninsulamiller's thumbtable mountainhonesty barhome away from homefamily suitesouth africabed and breakfastcar hirerestaurant recommendationsthe entire staffwine countryguest housefresh fruitgreat hosts
Filter
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 1,063 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Parker Cottage has it all! The location is great, the breakfast is amazing, the staff is wonderful and the accommodations are incredibly comfortable. From the moment I booked our stay at Parker Cottage, they assisted us in every aspect of planning our trip to Cape Town and the rest of South Africa. For months I emailed with PC on a very regular basis and they happily answered every question and gave me the most wonderful suggestions. Every restaurant and activity recommendation was spot on for what we were looking for. From the moment we arrived at Parker Cottage I felt like we were being welcomed into a friend's home. The entire staff is incredibly warm and friendly. Be sure to wake-up hungry and plan to take time for breakfast! Our days in Cape Town were busy and sadly we had to miss breakfast a few days and breakfast shouldn't be missed! We were lucky enough to spend two days touring wine country with Parker Cottage's driver, Chris. The term driver doesn't do Chris justice! His knowledge about wine and Cape Town was fantastic. Chris is another wonderful gem of the Parker Cottage team. Our trip to Cape Town was superb and choosing to stay at Parker Cottage made it even better. I can't recommend Parker Cottage enough. Thank you Parker Cottage. And thanks again Lexi for that hard to get reservation!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Yes – Parker cottage really is that good. Rarely does one find a place to stay that transcends the simply concepts of hospitality and customer service. The reputation of Parker Cottage is richly deserved and the experience of staying here is if anything, even better than any preconceptions formed by reviews such as this.
From the moment we arrived until the time we departed we were treated like family by a TEAM of very warm, genuine and caring people for which nothing was too much trouble. I have travelled extensively both for business & pleasure and the welcome extended by Phil on our arrival is without question the best that I have ever experienced.
The accommodations are luxuriously appointed throughout and the breakfasts are simply exquisite – all cooked to order and very filling.
Phil and the team are also very helpful in planning excursions, booking restaurants, etc. and this was even before we arrived in South Africa. The amount of pre-stay care and customer service was exemplary.
In relation to planning excursions I would suggest that anyone staying at Parker Cottage and not wishing to drive, should without question consider booking Parker’s resident driver – Chris Hannival – to chauffer you around in his luxury BMW. Chris treated us to 2 very special & memorable days providing context and in-depth local knowledge throughout – plus he’s a top guy and great fun!
All in all our stay at Parker Cottage greatly exceeded ALL possible expectations. It is plainly obvious how much drive, passion and commitment Phil and the team have and the almost obsessive level of detail assigned to your care as they continue to improve and refine the service they provide.
Personally we have fallen in love with South Africa and are already planning to return next year. We had little enough time in Cape Town this time around and as such will most definitely have to visit again. Whilst our itinerary is far from planned the one cast iron certainty is that we will once again, be staying at Parker Cottage and very much look forward to doing so. In a word – perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al_Stone_NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Parker cottage is a Dutch style house about 2 K from attractions such as Company Gardens and the museums. The breakfast is the best we have had on our South Africa visit and the staff are very informal and friendly. They cannot do enough to help you and are full of advice on how to spend your time in Cape Town.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank howard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great welcome, beautifull house and the rooms are very tastefull decorated. First class breakfast is served on the terrace or in the garden. Phil and his team are extremely helpful when planning restaurants and tours (we can recommend the Parker Cottage Walking Tour). Safe area (also in the evening) with restaurants on walking distance.
Simply the best in Cape town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnr0epers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thanks so much! The best in Cape Town? High compliments from such seasoned travellers....

And thanks for sending your friends too: there can't be a greater compliment than that for a hotelier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Choosing to have 4 nights here on arrival in Cape Town was the best decision. We really like this part of the city, and our rooms and breakfasts were first class. The daily specials at breakfasts just had to be photographed as well as eaten. All the staff were so friendly, and the information print-outs on town walking and on potential restaurants to visit were very clear and helpful. An ideal place to stay after a long flight.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itma_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Oh, we love the comment about 'photographed as well as eaten'! Perhaps it's the five courses, perhaps it's the love and care that Thandeka, Nompilo and Nombulelo put into the food or just the location (the veranda or the garden), but people do seem to like our breakfasts!

Hope Kings Lynn isn't too badly flooded and thanks for a lovely review. Super to have met you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews