We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Dream Stay”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Dream Stay”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Everything about our 7 day stay was like a dream. The house was beautiful and conveniently located. Our room was ultra comfortable and we felt very at home there. Breakfasts were lavish and delicious. Thandeka greeted us with a smile on her face each morning and was an absolute delight. I still dream of the croissants! The wine evening was spectacular and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests.
Phil and Lexi really went above and beyond to help us choose restaurants and to plan various day trips. Phil also went to great lengths to assist us in exploring options for getting some wine shipped back to the US, which we can not thank him enough for! Our stay was perfect in every way and we hope to return to Parker Cottage one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Veronica, what a amazing review! Having stayed for seven days, you really got a chance to see if initial impressions last and it seems that at Parker Cottage, they do :-). Thandeka, our senior housekeeper here, will be so pleased that you remembered her and what she did for you: she's away this weekend having been on duty six days a week this month, so taking a well deserved break.

And we're so pleased the wine story ended well! We'll see you guys very soon, we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
138
626
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Parker Cottage is the place to stay in Capetown.....we arrived early on Saturday morning (early flight) whilst they still serving breakfast, but Phil still made us very welcome offering us coffee and a room to freshen up in after our long flight. . Phil then sat down with us and gave us details of the area which proofed invaluable from his walking tour of Capetown to the detailed tour of Capepoint.
The house and garden are lovely and our room was very spacious and cosy,we even had a small outside area for ourselves. The breakfast is amazing, the only trouble being Phil is not keen on the words 'Thankyou but I am really full now'....I can honestly say that throughout our 2 weeks in South Africa we never had a better breakfast .We also enjoyed the wine tasting evening in the garden which was very relaxing meeting and chatting to the other guests.The whole staff from Phil to Donny make you feel very special so can I say a big thankyou to all of them for making our first few days in South Africa very special...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
The best breakfast in South Africa? Oh, you flatter us! As you'll know, it's five courses long with a daily special, all served on the veranda or in the garden by the fountain, and so we're not happy when people don't stay for three hours and finish everything! We thought you made a valiant effort, though (in fact, nobody has yet eaten the whole Parker Cottage Breakfast. We're still waiting for that day!)

We're glad that you liked the fact that we were able to help you freshen up when you arrived, even though it was a good seven hours before check in time (14h00). After all, it's not your fault if your flight arrives early! Lesser establishments (even some five star hotels who shall remain nameless) only allow you to store your bags and then hang around in the lounge until your room is ready. We have a guest cloakroom here with a shower and a basin where you can change and feel human again before heading out for the day, so clearly, this made an impression on you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Big thank you to Phil and his fab team for making our short stay so wonderful!
Lovely and polite staff, nobody walks by without saying hello (important to us british!)
Appreciate your help on veggie restaus for me and your amazing cape peninsula detailed itinerary. 
We are genuinely worried we will never have as delicious a breakfast ever again!☺
Phil asked us for things to improve and we really struggled to think of any :)
Love, love, loved it! (I dont normally write reviews but for PArker i feel i must!)
Thank you and all the luck always
R and H

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heeru H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Nothing can really prepare you for the welcome and service you receive at Parker Cottage - nothing is too difficult or unreasonable - and No is not an answer that is accepted by any of the staff.

The rooms are all individual - no chain approach to accommodation at Parker - they each have wonderful little quirks in the art and the furniture - wonderfully comfortable beds - light, bring and airy - a perfect compliment to the outside of the building.

There is a massive breakfast in the morning - fresh fruit salad, yogurt, full English (with a South African twist), fresh pastries, cold meat and cheese option and as much tea, coffee and fruit juice as you can imagine (that list is not a choice, that is the amount you are expected to eat sitting on the veranda over looking the lovely garden and koi pond). be warned, Phil, Thandeka and the team will take serious offence if you dont polish it all off.

Before you can even ask for a recommendation of somewhere to eat in the evening, Lexi, Tomas or Phil will have booked a table for you in a local restaurant that you might like - and they certainly understand their guests as their recommendations have been infallible.

Phil's hospitality extends to some extra-curricular activities in the evenings such as his weekly wine tasting for guests, whilst his kindness and generosity meant that my parents and in-laws, who weren't staying were included was just one example of the extra mile that the team will go to in order to make sure that your stay is faultless.

Use Chris's car service to get to and from the airport as well as for a trip out to the winelands - he and his colleague Raymond know their stuff and will fill the time on the road with stories of the old South Africa and their experiences, through to the state of South African football and the quality of the local wines.

The team at Parker made our trip to Cape Town even more special than it was already turning out to be - thank you for everything

Room Tip: The Koi Pond room has a great shower design and is one the front of the house with a great view out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamandkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Everything about our stay at Parker Cottage was exceptional. When we arrived, we were welcomed by Phil with a selection of lovely local beers and wines, and as much information and help as we could have possibly wished for on what to do, and where to visit during our time in Cape Town. Phil and his staff could not have been more helpful, from booking restaurants, ordering taxis, buying attraction tickets and indeed anything they could possibly help with. The breakfast at Parker is thing of beauty! Sitting on the balcony, or in the lovely gardens enjoying the most comprehensive breakfast menu we've ever seen was completely beautiful. A 5 course breakfast of the most unbelievable quality is offered, and the most difficult thing is not offending Phil by not managing all of what's on offer! An exceptional stay in a beautiful house in a beautiful city, can not recommend highly enough.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenni-Inverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
What a lovely review! Yes, a five course breakfast isn't easy to offer or to get right but we think the secret is never letting the breakfast 'stand still'. We're constantly refining the ingredients, the suppliers, the daily special, and, not least of all, our staff's training.

We're so glad you enjoyed the beers and wine: we try to keep the suppliers here as small and personal as possible, so assuming that quality is excellent and price sensible, we do our level best to avoid anything corporate. You won't find Castle Lager or Spier wines in our fridge: only the small, boutique wineries and the artisenal beers make it into our kitchen!

Hope the Inverness winter isn't too awful to you: you know where we are when you need a bit of sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Phil, the owner is not easily convined when you decide to not eat all the 5-steps-breakfast he has in mind for you to start the day "the Parker Cottage" way .... We loved it. The veranda is beautiful, the house is classic English and the service is superb. best B&B !, and Location Location to nearby restaurants :)

Room Tip: choose a room on the 2nd floor, there are two, quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The service from Phil and his staff was simply superb and made our stay in Cape Town even more enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble in offering advice or booking tickets or anything else for that matter. Very very highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank diysteve345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing