We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What more could you want!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What more could you want!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Big thank you to Phil and his fab team for making our short stay so wonderful!
Lovely and polite staff, nobody walks by without saying hello (important to us british!)
Appreciate your help on veggie restaus for me and your amazing cape peninsula detailed itinerary. 
We are genuinely worried we will never have as delicious a breakfast ever again!☺
Phil asked us for things to improve and we really struggled to think of any :)
Love, love, loved it! (I dont normally write reviews but for PArker i feel i must!)
Thank you and all the luck always
R and H

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heeru H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
134
614
53
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Nothing can really prepare you for the welcome and service you receive at Parker Cottage - nothing is too difficult or unreasonable - and No is not an answer that is accepted by any of the staff.

The rooms are all individual - no chain approach to accommodation at Parker - they each have wonderful little quirks in the art and the furniture - wonderfully comfortable beds - light, bring and airy - a perfect compliment to the outside of the building.

There is a massive breakfast in the morning - fresh fruit salad, yogurt, full English (with a South African twist), fresh pastries, cold meat and cheese option and as much tea, coffee and fruit juice as you can imagine (that list is not a choice, that is the amount you are expected to eat sitting on the veranda over looking the lovely garden and koi pond). be warned, Phil, Thandeka and the team will take serious offence if you dont polish it all off.

Before you can even ask for a recommendation of somewhere to eat in the evening, Lexi, Tomas or Phil will have booked a table for you in a local restaurant that you might like - and they certainly understand their guests as their recommendations have been infallible.

Phil's hospitality extends to some extra-curricular activities in the evenings such as his weekly wine tasting for guests, whilst his kindness and generosity meant that my parents and in-laws, who weren't staying were included was just one example of the extra mile that the team will go to in order to make sure that your stay is faultless.

Use Chris's car service to get to and from the airport as well as for a trip out to the winelands - he and his colleague Raymond know their stuff and will fill the time on the road with stories of the old South Africa and their experiences, through to the state of South African football and the quality of the local wines.

The team at Parker made our trip to Cape Town even more special than it was already turning out to be - thank you for everything

Room Tip: The Koi Pond room has a great shower design and is one the front of the house with a great view out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamandkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Everything about our stay at Parker Cottage was exceptional. When we arrived, we were welcomed by Phil with a selection of lovely local beers and wines, and as much information and help as we could have possibly wished for on what to do, and where to visit during our time in Cape Town. Phil and his staff could not have been more helpful, from booking restaurants, ordering taxis, buying attraction tickets and indeed anything they could possibly help with. The breakfast at Parker is thing of beauty! Sitting on the balcony, or in the lovely gardens enjoying the most comprehensive breakfast menu we've ever seen was completely beautiful. A 5 course breakfast of the most unbelievable quality is offered, and the most difficult thing is not offending Phil by not managing all of what's on offer! An exceptional stay in a beautiful house in a beautiful city, can not recommend highly enough.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenni-Inverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
What a lovely review! Yes, a five course breakfast isn't easy to offer or to get right but we think the secret is never letting the breakfast 'stand still'. We're constantly refining the ingredients, the suppliers, the daily special, and, not least of all, our staff's training.

We're so glad you enjoyed the beers and wine: we try to keep the suppliers here as small and personal as possible, so assuming that quality is excellent and price sensible, we do our level best to avoid anything corporate. You won't find Castle Lager or Spier wines in our fridge: only the small, boutique wineries and the artisenal beers make it into our kitchen!

Hope the Inverness winter isn't too awful to you: you know where we are when you need a bit of sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Phil, the owner is not easily convined when you decide to not eat all the 5-steps-breakfast he has in mind for you to start the day "the Parker Cottage" way .... We loved it. The veranda is beautiful, the house is classic English and the service is superb. best B&B !, and Location Location to nearby restaurants :)

Room Tip: choose a room on the 2nd floor, there are two, quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The service from Phil and his staff was simply superb and made our stay in Cape Town even more enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble in offering advice or booking tickets or anything else for that matter. Very very highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank diysteve345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice rooms, very yummy and unique breakfasts, good service and a beautiful garden, ideal for early morning breakfast! This is a place where they don't mind going the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable! The rates are very reasonable. We would warmly recommend Parker Cottage.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
So glad that you found our rates reasonable! It's always a challenge to offer a five course breakfast and five star service at B&B rates, but we manage :-). Thanks so much for letting us and other travelers know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

When I arrived at Parker cottage, I had already been away from home three weeks, aftermy first international flight and my first holiday travelling alone. My son is working on St Helena and ,aged 82, I travelled 1500 miles to see my grandchildren. After five days on the mailboat cruising from CapeTown, eight days on the Island with the family, and six days coming back to CapeTown with a force six gale all the way......I was exhausted. Phil and Lexi took good care of me, and helped me to make the most of my short stay at Parker Cottage. The highlight of the whole trip was a wonderful day out in the Cape area, with Phil's friend Chris and his comfortable car. It ,was an outing planned just for me, to enjoy the wonderful scenery and the wild life, and Chris is was a thoughtful and interesting companion. The next day , with a lot of help from Phil, I visited Table Mountain and the Waterfront, and some other places.....but I needed a lot of encouragement as I was too nervous to venture far alone. Parker cottage proved perfect for me because besides being a beautiful old house, well run and welcoming, I received the care which enabled me to really enjoy my short stay in CapeTown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Audrey, we're so pleased that we managed to turn your initial apprehension about your stay in Cape Town into a marvellous experience. You were very brave to come all the way here on your own, and by boat to boot! We also think Chris is the consumate gentleman: nothing is too much trouble for him and he's been our guide and driver since we opened five years ago.

We're also delighted that you did manage to get out and see so much of Cape Town and it was a pleasure to assist you. We work very closely with a superb taxi company called Royale Cabs who take such good care of our guests, it's as good as driving them around ourselves.

It would be an honour to see you here again: really hope you can make it your safari in Port Elizabeth next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing