We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even CONSIDER staying anywhere else!”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't even CONSIDER staying anywhere else!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The quality of your accommodation usually determines the success of a trip, so staying at Parker Cottage ensured that our trip to Cape Town was a huge success!

We loved our visit, found everything meeting and exceeding our expectations and were impressed with how quickly Phil, and the rest of the staff, would respond to any request.

It is a warm and cosy place to stay, but the staff are all extremely professional. The breakfasts are the best we've ever had at a B&B, love the way guests can, at any time, go and make their own coffee or tea in the kitchen (gives a homely feel), the daily newspapers, the fire in the lounge when the weather turned, the folders with recommended trips and restaurants, and so much more!

The part we probably appreciated most, was the wine tasting evening. It brought a group of strangers from different parts of the world together and they felt like friends after that evening. It is an excellent idea, and we felt as if we were leaving family behind when we left two days later.

Phil, wishing you and your staff all the best going forward, keep up the high standards and we hope to meet again in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
142
633
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We returned recently to stay again at Parker Cottage.
We were not disappointed as the high standards of accommodation, friendly service, attention to detail, helpful & thoughtful advice, were all still firmly in place without being intrusive.
Breakfasts continue to excel where others only imitate (Phil is currently on a grape peeling master class just to push presentation into the 100%).
As returning guests we had to deal with preconceived expectations and try as we may we really cannot suggest any areas for improvement.
Transfers to/from airport readily arranged.
Location for walking in and around C T is excellent. Many good eating establishments within easy reach. Blue bus tour highly recommended (willingly booked by Phil).
A great place to celebrate a 40th wedding anniversary so we did.
We worry about giving good reviews as such secrets should be kept close!

Room Tip: Book early to ensure you can stay here. All rooms have different charms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Staying for four nights at Parker Cottage was a dleight. The house itself is beautifully restored - a real flavour of colonial living, but with modern comforts. Our room was spacious, comfortable and packed with character. Breakfasts were the best we had in four months travelling in the southern hemisphere, with variety – not often experienced elsewhere - added through a delicious daily ‘special’.

It was our first visit to Cape Town and our enjoyment of the Mother City was considerably enhanced by Phil’s informed and enthusiastic advice (supplementing what's already in the walking and restauarant info available on the website) and by his working relationship with Chris, who drove us around the Cape Peninsula on a wonderful day of exploring and walking, culminating in a cable car up to Table Mountain at sunset. Phil, Liz, Lexi and the team were keen to ensure that our time in Cape Town was well spent but, sensibly, not as hectic as we’d originally planned. We met a few lovely guests too, some at the Cottage's wine tasting evening.

Cape Town is not without its issues but Parker Cottage provided a safe, friendly, knowledgeable, luxurious and supportive base for our first experience of a vibrant city. We’re keen to return to both. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenksBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place is a real gem. Everyone was so helpful from the start of the booking process until check out. We needed a pick up from the airport around midnight for one of our party and this was carried out seamlessly and even a welcome tray was provided on arrival. Apart from the rooms and breakfasts (with a special addition every day) which were superb, Phil and Lexi gave us all sorts of helpful information of places to visit during our stay. There are excellent restaurants close by and we spent a half day walking from the B&B to the V&A Waterfront, seeing so much amazing architecture on the way. We will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wintonian101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Let me start by saying that you don't get the types of TA reviews that Parker Cottage gets by being on B&B management autopilot. Phil and Liz, the staff from front to back and the property itself met our every expectation. Start reading the reviews and know you can trust them.
So rather than clutter this review up with more "hozanna's" to Phil (... it is best to keep his inner child smiling, yet well behaved :-), I thought I might discuss why we chose Parker, the process itself and how it worked into our entire RSA trip planning.
When my wife requested a "safari adventure" my first comment was "I have never planned a trip like that before" She pointed to the computer and said " start talking to your little internet friends and make it happen". So off to TA I went and hello to all my little internet friends!
I found Parker Cottage on TA very early on and this was the farthest, longest destination to get to that my wife and I had ever planned for. We also desired to burn some air miles as both a budget expander and because the future of rewards programs is cloudy at best. I mention this because we needed to lock down our flights a full 10 months prior to the trip. Contacting Phil about what was available that far out meant that my pre trip planning was longer that ever, and I must say the pre trip communications with Parker Cottage were precise, clear and so timely, I thought the time changes between Cape Town and Chicago didn't exist. Compared to the response times from inquiry to reply I have found when dealing with high end B&B's in the EU, you could tell Phil didn't take his customer response training in Italy!
We were faced with the decision Safari first and then Cape Town or the other way around and we were very happy with our decision to come to Cape Town first, reset our time clocks and then go for Safari- It proved much easier to ride jetlagged on a HoHo bus for the first days in South Africa than face early wake up calls for safari game runs. It is also a good migration arriving at a chic international metro area on par beauty wise with San Francisco or Sydney and then move along later to searching for fresh elephant poop on a dusty game trail!
Our time in Cape Town was maximized as I became more comfortable in trusting that Phils logistics planning (ride in from airport, event tickets, Peninsula tour, wine country tour) was better than anything I could have managed on my own and I think pretty on par price wise without any of the hassle. I think that had I asked Phil at breakfast to try to set up a barefoot wedding at sunset tonight with a priest and a rabbi, mimes for entertainment and his and her tattoo artists to mark the occasion, he would have pulled out his cell phone and said "The only problem I may have is finding a priest because its Easter Week... but let me see what I can do...would a Monk work?".
Seriously, every recomendation he or the staff made was great- buying tram tickets in advance, etc- it just made no sense not to utilize Parker Cottage to pre book services.
So in summary:
Very strong pre trip communications
Used Parker Cottage to set up airport ground transportation, tickets to tram on Cable mountain, a "sold out" concert, HoHo bus, tour of Peninsula, tour of wine country, self guided walk, very reasonable laundry service and numerous restaurant suggestions both close and down at the waterfront.
Very much enjoyed Phils wine tasting event, a stocked fridge in the kitchen for off hour beverages and a precise and accurate folio at the end of the stay. Entire transaction felt clean, safe and secure.
My wife said "You done good!" is selecting Parker Cottage for our stay.

Room Tip: We went for the high end and were not disappointed- The photos are exactly as presented in reality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capsu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When I decided to revisit Cape Town, my first step was to ask for a booking at Parker cottage where I had stayed during my first visit to years earlier. I was a few days out of Cape Town on a small expedition cruise ship when Phil checked in with me by email to see if there was anything they could do during my (unfortunately) very short visit. The result was bookings and three restaurants, one of which Phil had recommended to me two years earlier which produces very fine Japanese food an exceptionally peaceful environment.

Highest marks go to the leisurely breakfast, on the porch or terrace during good weather, and the outstanding guidance on how best to spend your time.

If I am ever faced with imminent disaster, such as a 50 foot tsunami flood or a major massive terrorist explosion I will pack up my children and grandchildren with tags around their necks saying "Parker Cottage Cape Town," knowing they will end up safe and well taken care of.

Room Tip: As a single traveler I have had rooms that were particularly suitable to that condition and very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGM-Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Living in Durban, we had a family wedding in Cape Town and recommended Parker Cottage to Canadian friends attending the weddding. They were thrilled with the warm hospitality offered to them. On a previous, very pleasurable stay at Parker Cottage, the proprietor, Phil, suggested we contact them for our wedding transport arrangements. They were so effecient and pleasant to deal with, the arrangements were complicated, but everyone was collected and delivered home on time!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bernice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,402 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,262 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
629 reviews
La Grenadine
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing