We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else!”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Parker Cottage has it all. Its got a great location, its comfortable, its reasonably priced, the breakfast is outstanding, the decor is beautiful and service on a level you are unlikely to find elsewhere.

Location: Parket Cottage is located on a quiet street in the Tamboerskloof district which is walking distance from much of the central part of Cape Town. Added bonus - there is plenty of street parking if you arrive by car.

The property: Beautiful colonial house which has been tastefully decorated by Liz to every details. There are comfortable indoor sitting areas as well as a fantastic outdoor courtyard for good weather.

The room: Our room was one of the smaller ones, but it was comfortable and very very attractive. We had absolutely everything we could need.

Breakfast: Delicious food, and fantastic service. The selection changes daily. My wife particularly enjoyed the French Toast and the fruit.


Service: But the one thing that stands out here is the personal attention of the two managers, and in particular - Phil. We arrived in Cape Town with only a general idea of what we wanted to see and do, but Phil quickly gave us advice and directions on how to make the most of our brief stay. His advice was perfect. Every stop, every restaurant was smack bang on the money. When we mentioned a little knick knack that my wife wanted to go out and look for, Phil offered to track it down for us and mail it to us in order to help us avoid wasting our precious sightseeing time. When we needed to check out early for a flight, they prepared for us a takeaway breakfast. They were always on hand, and always helpful. All of this attention mind you with several other guests all being equally demanding.

Cape Town is incredible, and I I can't wait to return. When I do, there is no way I would ever stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
141
629
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Right from the beginning Phil, the owner, excelled as a host. We were running a tight schedule for our planned excursion up Table Mountain and to abseil down. Phil instantly understood our need, booked cable car tickets and a taxi for us as we got out of the car. He then made sure all our luggage was taken to our room while we went off and played. Our hosts couldn't have been more informative and helpful throughout our stay. A well deserved 5.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks Steve! The point of choosing Parker Cottage B&B is that we administrate your stay for you. Whether you're here on holiday or on business, you don't have time to worry about transport, tickets, checking the weather, etc. We arrange all of that for you. (Just last night, we made a trip all the way to the airport and back to collect a camera that a guest had left on the plane.) Even better, we do it all for free and with a smile, as fast as we can. Hopefully, that's better service than you'd get staying in places much more expensive than us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Having yet another conversation with one another about how amazing our stay at Parker Cottages was has finally prompted me to write this review.

We stayed at Parker for three nights at the end of March, before leaving on an overland safari. The property is lovely and our room, while small, had everything we could wish for.

Breakfast was fit for a king, and special arrangements were made (with cute notes included) on the days where my partner was up early to run in the Two Oceans Marathon and on the day we left early for the safari.

Special shout out to Phil, for his amazing hospitality. We were always greeted with a smile, nothing was too much trouble and I was amazed at his attention to detail.

We'll be back to Cape Town as soon as we can and heading straight to Parker Cottages.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
In answer to the title of your review, yes you can! But not on TripAdvisor, only on the door of the staff room where your review has been posted with a big thank you to all the staff here. Thanks for mentioning the 'cute notes'. It's always a challenge communicating with guests in the house: we don't like to call, SMS or email people when they are on holiday (for us, the fewer screens you look at on holiday, the better, which is an opinion most of our guests tend to share) so we came up with the idea of hand written slips that we pin to the doors, like notes your butler might have left you around the time the house was built. Glad you liked them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Combining the best of informal and warm welcome with top notch accommodations that even your wallet appreciates and you get Parker Cottage. Even before our arrival, we felt like welcome, personal guests, and that level of attention continued throughout our stay. The beauty of the lush garden where we breakfasted is matched by the attention given to each piece in the room. We cannot say enough about each aspect of our stay, including delicious breakfasts, a connection to a terrific and thoughtful driver, and suggestions to get to know the city. This is an example of people's care and passion for what they do showing in how they tend to every detail of their guest house. I would love a Parker Cottage in every city I visit!

Room Tip: My only regret was that I did not get a look at the other rooms in this beautiful house. I am sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
What a lovely (and well written) review, Meg! Clearly, your accomplishments on paper are not limited to serious books but extend as far as TripAdvisor reviews too :-). It's most pleasing to hear that you think our prices belie the quality of what we do at Parker Cottage. For a small B&B, we have the challenge of keeping prices in the B&B bracket but also surpassing expectations in terms of service and the general quality of what you experience here. Very nice to know that we got it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at this inn for four nights and was impressed by the food and the service. The breakfasts were wonderful and the room was comfortable. The location is good for walking tours of the major sights in Cape Town. Phil and Liz have thought of everything, including preprinted Google maps of how to get from Parker Cottage to the hop-on, hop-off sightseeing bus stops nearby. I asked to be picked up and dropped off at the airport (260 SAR each way) and found this service to be friendly and efficient as well. Also enjoyed a lovely happy hour at the inn and was able to connect with some other guests from my hometown. I highly recommend Parker Cottage for its warmth and hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZengSiXin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks ZengSiXin! We try to make sure at Parker Cottage that the extraneous details of your trip here are covered, from sensibly-priced airport transfers to as you say maps of pretty much everything you could ever want to visit in Cape Town (most of these maps we make ourselves).

Glad also that you found the place warm and welcoming too: when are you coming back?

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A holiday home away from home and conveniently situated for the centre of Cape Town and Table Mountain is on its doorstep.

Parker Cottage is warm and friendly and the inviting ambiance of this guest house reflects the owners' attitude to the way they run it.

The Parker Cottage breakfast is excellent and superby/tastefully served.

There is a cool and comfortable terrace and a garden to enjoy a cool glass of South African wine and a beauthifully served tray of tea on call.

We enjoyed our stay and will certainly go back to it when in Cape Town next.

Room Tip: Standard is a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 591MaryJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks Mary J! So pleased you found Parker Cottage to be warm and welcoming.

The 'standard room' you refer to certainly is small but it's not our 'standard room', in fact. The first room you stayed in is The Kane Room and as we say on our website, it's really only for the type of traveler who wants to use the room to sleep and shower and intends spending most of the day and night out in the city. It's certainly not a great choice for long lie ins or luxuriating in the room but it's comfortable.

Hopefully the upgrade to The Southmoor Room, which is also in our Cosy (economy) class, worked better for you. All the other rooms in our Cosy class are the same size but we like to be able to offer the tiny Kane Room to travelers on a budget too.

Next time, we'll make sure you get one of our Beautiful rooms: these all have King beds, air conditioning and are at least 25 square metres in size. These are in fact our 'standard' rooms (there's also a class above this called the Fantastic Room, even bigger, with super King four poster beds etc.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Parker Guesthouse was a wonderful place to star our journey in South Africa. Generous room sizes and well equipped bathrooms were a nice place to land after a 17+ hour flight. Great breakfasts. Hosts helped to arrange a rental car for us gave directions to sightseeing.
It is in a walkable area with coffee houses and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiedangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,243 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing