We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here in Feb for 4 nights. We stayed in the Hamra room (cosy room) which was beautifully decorated. Everyone at Parker Cottage was incredibly friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived, until we left. They were more than happy to make reservations and recommendations with anything that we needed. The bedding and room was clean ( I am extremely fussy when it comes to cleanliness ). The breakfasts were such an experience. Everything that we ate or drank was delightfully yummy :) It is situated in a perfect location. It's close enough to the stadium to walk home at night and to everything else situated in town. I don't have any negatives to say about the place, but rather just a comment which is a personal preference. It was quite hot in summer and even though we were supplied with a fan, aircon would've been nice. I understand though that Parker Cottage is all about saving the earth (which is great), so as I say this is just a personal opinion, rather than an actual negative.
Unfortunately on the second night and onwards, we also had a horrible smell coming out the drains of our bathroom. However unfortunate this was, Phil was aware of it and tried his best to fix what he could whilst we were still occupying the room. In saying this, we had a lovely stay at Parker Cottage and didn't let this minor issue detract from the rest of the awesomeness which was the Parker Cottage experience.
We will definitely go back to Parker Cottage in the future!

Room Tip: The Hamra Room (room 10) is situated right at the back of the Guest house which is nice and quiet. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for this great review, guys! We will pass on your comments about the clenliness of the room and linen to Babalwa, whose room it is, and also to Nompilo, who is in charge of the linen here. Most kind of you to comment on that.

You'll be pleased to hear that the smell you refer to has been fixed: plumbing in Victorian houses (this one was completed in 1895) is sometimes not up to modern standards, shall we say, so it took a while to sort that one out! But it's done now. Thanks for pointing it out.

Air con: actually, all our rooms in the Beautiful (standard) and Fantastic (luxury) class, as well as the Family Suite, all have air conditioning. It's only the Cosy (economy) rooms that don't. We do offer portable air con units in all rooms, though: wish you'd told us while you were here and we'd have sorted that one out chop chop.

So, see you for the next honeymoon, right? :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
134
619
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The parker Cottage is an excellently run B&B, in a nice neighborhood. The owners are super helpful and the entire place has a momely, yet professional atmosphere. Great place to relax. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Alex, thanks; Short and sweet and much appreciated. Thanks for taking the time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My attending the Indaba Mining conference was organized at the last minute (shame ion me!). As a result my travel agent in Canada could not even find a hotel room in the city. I had no choice but to look for Guest House availability. This too was problematic. Fortunately, I landed at Parker Cottage. Liz, Phil and the staff looked after me as if I was a long lost relative! They organized my stay by looking after transportation, suggesting restaurant and wine shop enabling me to focus on my business. The healthy breakfasts allowed me to "run a marathon" every day while at the conference! The comfortable and clean rooms made me feel I was staying at a 5 star hotel. The modest price made my boss smile. I was even able to do some nice shopping at the nearby commercial street (5 minute walk from the Carsten street!). I could not have asked for more really! The team at Parker Cottage is fundamentally driven by the idea of satisfying their customers. It shows that they like welcoming you and ensuring that you appreciate your stay. They are there for you ! Thanks so much for helping make my stay in Cap Town a successful one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Loved the title of this review, Jean Marc! Yes, we did rather 'send you round the houses' to use a British expression during your stay, didn't we? We do try, thank you for noticing, to make things totally seamless here, and if that means sleeping in a new bed every night for five nights, in different buildings, well, that is what we do!

So pleased it all worked out. We'll see you with the family next time, right?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Parker Cottage1 week in november on our trip in South Africa. The house and surrounding area offers a familiar and cozy impression despite its "small" size provides service which in many cases gives added value compared to the big hotel chains, and I have several times stayed at several hotels in the chain, Accor, Hilton, Pullman, Melia with several.

The service is personal, as well as constant contact candidates and issues we need help with something, etc. during your stay is superb. Since I work as a photographer was extra smooth that I had help with the booking of helicopter, also we got testimonials of seeing things around the cape town area.

The only thing I can see that some would possibly be lacking is well a pool but on the other hand, it is a matter of preference and not something I see as a negative.

Thank you for a very pleasant stay and would recommend paker Cottage to the fullest!

Stefan Mjellander SWEDEN

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanmjellander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The staff and owners are friendly, helpful and efficient. The accommodation is first class and the breakfast excellent. Thank you for the wine tasting - enjoyed the excellent wine and company. Location is ideally suited for my requirements.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwynSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
So nice to get such a glowing review from a local, Alwyn! Many thanks. We know that South Africans are a very discerning bunch (well, who wouldn't be with such an incredible range of good places to stay), so it's a huge compliment when we get it right for our fellow countrymen. We'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It is rare to find so charming and peaceful a place so near to the heart of a major city. Over breakfast in the garden, it is easy to imagine oneself on a rural estate in the cape winelands, rather than tucked up the hill from Cape Town's busiest district. Phil, Liz and their coworkers are so very good-natured, knowledgeable and helpful that one quickly comes to feel at home amongst friends. How often does one hug their hosts when they leave a bed and breakfast? We're only sorry we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyatt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks so much Wyatt and Cathy, for picking up exactly the point of what we're trying to do here. Parker Cottage should feel a little like staying with a grandiose friend at their house in the country, only the major difference is that you're right in the heart of the City Bowl, Cape Town. Oh, and we hug EVERYONE who wants to be hugged at Parker Cottage! Glad you took us up on the offer :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Dear Phil and Liz,
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay! The beautiful surroundings, your warm welcome and the wonderful staff was amazing to experience. We loved the room, the breakfast, and the placement of your guesthouse. Anyone looking for a unique and genuine experience should stay at Parker Cottage.
Greetings to Babalwa, Thandeka and Lexi!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks very much for saying thank you very much, Majken! We'll pass on your greetings to the ladies. Most kind of you to remember all their names.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,352 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,197 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
617 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing