We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome at Parker Cottage”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Fantastic accommodation in a brilliant location - can't fault it. It really is a taste of decadence at an affordable price. Phil is a superb host with lots of suggestions for making the most of your time in Cape Town and surrounds. Staff are very friendly - we even learnt a few words of Xhosa in our short stay thanks to Thandeki's perseverance. Food generally in South Africa is brilliant but I have to say the breakfast at Parker's was one of the best we had - particularly liked the option of the special each day. Allow time to enjoy the accommodation it's a very chilled environment to be in. Thank you. Tina & Simon

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

So pleased you enjoyed Parker, Tina and Simon! Thandeka will not give up on anyone who shows the faintest interest in isiXhosa. It's a beautiful, ancient language which isn't given the attention it deserves, so thanks for making the effort, really. Loved your turn of phrase 'a taste of decadence at an affordable price'. Most generous of you to say so!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
There are newer reviews for Parker Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at Parker Cottage and cannot find words to describe the fantastic time we had. Within an hour of arriving, Phil, who cannot do enough for you, knew exactly what we liked and what we wanted to see he advised us how to do it, in the limited time we had, and had our tickets printed for our first stop at Table Mountain. All of the staff are a credit to Phil and Liz, friendly and helpful. The five course breakfasts are out of the world, with no set time to dine, you must try the days special. We were lucky to attend one of Phil's infamous wine evenings where we both tasted excellent wine and chatted to other guests. Phil and Liz have put together a list of recommended restaurants, many within walking distance of the hotel, it was impossible to try them all but those we managed we were not disappointed with, Phil will even book your table and provide you with directions. If you fancy and tea, coffee, glass wine or beer in the evening you help yourself, tea/coffee free and you write down on a piece of paper if you have had alcohol, how many places would trust you to do that, never mind have access to the kitchen. Parker Cottage was recommended to us by an Agency in Port Elizabeth, we are so pleased to have found it, you would strggle to get the service and personal touch we received in a five star hotel. We look forward to returning one day. Thank You Phil and Staff. Barry & Barry

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry_Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thanks so much for this review, Barry and Brenda! Quite a thing to be told that we surpass the service of some five star hotels! The point of staying at Parker Cottage is that the administration of your holiday is taken care of, even if you've already prebooked a lot of things. You're here to enjoy yourselves, not worry about buying tickets, hiring a car, etc. Leave that to us! We'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We are so pleased that we have discovered Parker Cottage - a warm and welcoming home from home in Cape Town. Phil and Liz's beautiful Guest House is very conveniently situated in a quiet neighbourhood with quick and easy access to great restaurants, shops and sightseeing attractions. From the cheery greeting on the blackboard when we arrived, to our early morning departure, Phil and his friendly staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and to meet our every need. This included finding someone to repair a tyre puncture on a Sunday ............over the Heritage Day long weekend! It seems that nothing is too much trouble for Phil and his smily, helpful team at Parker Cottage. Our Nguni room was beautiful and we so enjoyed the warm, comfortable accommodation. Waking up to those delicious breakfasts was also a very special treat and it was fun meeting and chatting to the international guests at breakfast too. Thank you to all at Parker Cottage for a relaxing stay. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thanks so much Ashley S! Yes, tfinding a place to repair a tyre on a Sunday , over a public holiday weekend, was interesting, wasn't it? The point of staying at Parker Cottage is that even though we're just a B&B, the standard of service is supposed to be beyond what you'd expect of a five star hotel. So when you put us to the test on that one, it looks like we got it right. It was great to see you: don't leave your sons without a visit for too long now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I and another friend spent 4 nights in September 2012 at Parker Cottage. What a fantastic experience. The host Phill and all his staff made us feel at home right from the start. Elegant rooms with all facilities i9n a very quiet location. Safe car parking in the street outside the cottage. Separate lounge rooms with comfortable furniture provide the perfect place for wind down drinks at the end of the day. Phil helped us in so many ways with recommendations for restaurants, things to do in Cape Town and further afield. Organised Airport pickup, tickets for Table Mountain etc. The cottage is a 5 minute walk to numerous restaurants, supermarket, shops and a 15 minute walk to town central. Walk to the end of the street and look right for the most spectacular view of Table Mount.
Breakfast always presented a daily special and was most sumptuous. You get smiles and warm greetings from all the staff. If you feel like eating in you have the run of the dining room and the staff will set up a table.
This is one of the best B&Bs in which we have stayed.

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Downunder62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Parker Cottage in September 2012 and cannot recommend it highly enough. After being told by a colleague this was the place to stay in Cape Town we had no reservations in booking - not only were we not disappointed it was even better than we could have imagined. From moving our whole booking due to the Lufthansa strike for no extra fee, to the airport pick up, to the amazing self drive tour cards, restaurant recommendations to the wine evening to the yummy breakfast. Parker Cottage made the start to our holiday and to be honest other B&B's have been spoilt after our great experience here. To Phil and all his team - many thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fi_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Hi Fi 01! Thanks so much for such a lovely review and so sorry for setting the bar too high :-). Those self drive tours you mention are undergoing an overhaul this spring, along with the restaurant guide as things move and change in Cape Town. So pleased you enjoyed them: they're obviously quite a lot of work to put together (and then they have to be tested too) but they are so much fun. We'll see you next time you're in Cape Town, then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were so happy with our choice of Parker Cottage in Cape Town. The location is safe, within walking distance of many of the sights, and yet feels like part of a family and neighborhood experience rather than an impersonal city-center hotel. Phil was an exceptional host, anxious to discover our interests and directing us to wonderful restaurants, sights and experiences. He and his staff made us feel so pampered with breakfasts on a gourmet level, and we were lucky enough to be around for the excellent weekly wine tasting evening. The room was clean and comfortable, and a snug lounge made visiting with other guests an enjoyable addition. A charming venture!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

What a great place to stay!

My wife and I spent four nights at Parker Cottage in August: the first stop on a long-anticipated first trip to Southern Africa, and couldn't have had a better start for our vacation.

For the most part, I can only echo what so many others have written about Parker House. Lovely, comfortable accommodation including the guest rooms and lounges, and in a great location (an interesting neighbourhood: residential with enough stores, restaurants, etc, nearby, and convenient to other places in central Cape Town). The breakfasts are indeed stupendous, and the atmosphere as we experienced, including interactions with other guests relaxed and warm.

But it’s the special welcome and help from the hosts that make Parker stand out. In our case, we only met Phil, but it was his presence, assistance -- and sense of humour -- that made our stay there so special. In fact, we experienced Phil & Liz’s welcome and helpfulness before we arrived.

I had pre-booked a rental car through an agency they recommended, and when I had some questions with the agency about their pricing, Phil & Liz went to the top of the company to straighten things out. We also received some great write-ups of their recommended restaurants, nicely sorted by area and type of restaurant. As well, they booked our trip to Robben Island for us, and had the tickets printed and waiting for us.

When we arrived at Parker, the welcome we got from Phil really made us feel at home instantly. He gave us some more ideas about what to see in Cape Town, and our Cape Town friend who had brought us from the airport was impressed with Phil’s knowledge of the city, even though he’s originally from the UK.

Throughout our stay, we enjoyed conversation with other guests and Phil. Anytime we had any question, issue, or wanted to try out something in town, Phil was always ready to help, advise,book us at a restaurant, or arrange an interesting tour.

When it was time to leave, I told Phil I'd be picking up our rental car at the airport, as that seemed to be the only possibility on a Sunday morning. He got on the phone, and arranged for our pick up in a more convenient central location.

A few days after we left Cape Town, I emailed back, telling Phil how much we'd enjoyed our stay and thanking him for helping to make it special. I also mentioned news I'd just learned: that the host of our Johannesburg B&B, a well-known South African journalist, had tragically died (and her place would not be open when we were there). Phil was right on it, checking out availability of B&B's he could recommend, and made the arrangements for us.

Parker Cottage is an excellent home in Cape Town that I can't recommend highly enough, and has terrific hosts that look after you from before you arrive and after you leave.

You can't go wrong there.

Room Tip: We booked the Fitzroy, one of the "Fantastic rooms": lovely, roomy, beautiful 4 poster bed
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank to-music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thanks for such a comprehensive review, TO! Really, you've been so kind to go into so much detail about your stay with us. The point of staying at Parker Cottage is that if you are on holiday or on business you are here to get on with your day and shouldn't have to administrate everything about your day too! So we try to make sure that there is literally nothing that you have to attend to yourself, from car hire, to restaurant bookings, day trips, even the rest of your stay elsewhere in the country: we do it all from our desk on your behalf, free of charge, 24/7.
So sorry that you didn't get to meet Liz: her Phd is keeping her locked in a dungeon of brain and I'm lucky to see her some days! She'll be appalled to hear that you think I have a sense of humour, by the way :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,412 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,279 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
636 reviews
La Grenadine
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $122 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing