We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book Robbin Island ahead.”
Review of The PortsWood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The PortsWood
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bexley, Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Book Robbin Island ahead.”
Reviewed October 25, 2006

My Husband & I were returning from a trip to Australia & thought Cape Town would be a different stop over. Be prepared for long delays checking in at the airport we went thru Jo-burg & were bumped off our original flight (our luggage travelled without us!) Portswood was excellent, staff were very friendly & efficient. The room was cleaned daily with beds turned down & fresh towels each evening. 2 Mins walk from superb restaurants, I would advise booking the better ones as it does get quite busy. We found Cape Town excellent value. If you are only do a short trip book Robbin Island before you go it is fully booked 4 days in advance. Get the Hotel travel desk to book the private car to Cape Point. It was a Mercedes & cost approx £80 with driver for whole day trip, our guide was brilliant, we saw, Whales, baboons, penguins, springbok.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank KidsInheritance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    336
    104
    30
    13
See reviews for
76
347
59
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights after a 4 day stay in Frannschoek, and therefore found Cape Town a much busier environment. The V&A Waterfront is a great location for activities and restaurants, although the surrounding bays feel more 'South Afican' as the V&A has an 'American Mall' feeling to it...

The hotel itself is excellent, with great amenities (although a small pool area that doesnt get much sun is a poor deisgn). The Cape Malay restaurant has excellent breakfast buffet and the dinner menu is superb. Hazel is great waitress and always greets you with a smile, as do all the staff including the very welcoming doormen who will valet park your car in the underground car park for you with hardly any wating time when you wnt your vehicle back.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Nothing, but if I have to be picky then the small pool area
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Etops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ystrad mynach,wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2006

My wife & I recently enjoyed a 5 day holiday in Cape Town staying at the Portswood Hotel. Prior to our trip I had e-mailed the hotel to request a room on the top floorwhich they duly provided. They also offered a meet & greet service at the airport whcih turned out to be a chauffeur driven Mercedes! For Rr295 this was a very comfortable & relaxing way to arrive in a city for the first time.
The hotel has an excellent location in the V&A waterfront. Although the rooms were much more than adequate, quite large & very clean, it was the exceptional staff & service that made our stay memorable. In fact a group of work colleagues who stayed there in 2005 enjoyed ot so much they're going back in 2007! We would also definitely stay there again.
In addition to the continental breakfast, hot options were cooked to order if you asked the waiting staff.
Cape Town itself is a fabulous city to visit & we found everyone very friendly & helpful.
We booked our excursions through a company called Hylton Ross & they were excellent! They mostly use 7 seater mini buses which makes the trips more intimate & friendly. The tour guides on our 3 excursions were full of interesting information about the places we visited. They are also the sister company of the open top tour buses & you get discount vouchers for the excursions when you buy a ticket for the open top bus.
In all the restaurants we ate in at the V&A waterfront the food & winewas superb & very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank teamginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2006

We stayed at the Portswood Hotel at the recommendation of a friend who is South African. It is good value for money and very central. It is 2 minutes walk to the V&A - where there are shops and plenty of restuarants. You can also catch the hop-on/hop-off bus here which takes you on a tour of the city inc table mountain so is very handy.
We went to watch the Cricket at Newlands one day and the hotel arranged a car to take us - one point though - the hotel quoted us one price and then the drive another (cheaper) price so would advise you try and pay the driver!
The breakfast was good - plenty to choose from and there was a cooked option (unlike a prev review said). The staff would come and take your order for this at the table - sometimes though you'd have to call them over.
Finally - watch your tipping! You must tip everyone in SA. We were tipping waiters a £3-£4 at the end of every meal - we joined some South African friends one night who thought it was very funny - they advised us only to tip £1-£2 for meals and in cafes 50p-£1.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Melanie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2006

Just returned from 5 nights at the Portswood. Very good location wise, just walk down the nearby stairs and you are in the Waterfront which is a plus for safety especially at night. The staff are very friendly (and there seem to be so many of them too)and
when I arrived before the check in time they found me a room straight away and bought me up some coffee at no extra cost. The included breakfast was ok but it was only continental and no hot option which was a little surprising for a 4 star hotel. Room was good, and was cleaned twice a day and had a safe etc which was important, only problem I found was as I was in a room facing the road, car noise was quite noticeable at times as its a fairly busy road. Overall this hotel was very safe, welcoming and an ideal base to explore the city.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank planethopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2006

I just came back from a wonderfull vacation through South Africa, Namibie and Botswana. I decided to spent two luxury nights in Capetown before I started camping for 3 weeks.
The Portswood hotel is on a great location, only 2 minutes from the V & A Waterfront, the place you want to be when you do not have so much time in Capetown.
The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is large enough, a small swimming pool and friendly staff (although a bit slow).
For a bit more luxury, their sister hotel The Commodore is right next to it, but to be honest why pay so much more just to stay in a 5 star. You can use the facilities anyway if you stay in the Portswood.
If you travel alone or do not have too much time, try this place, prices vs location it is a good bargain!!

Helpful?
16 Thank marieke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PortsWood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PortsWood

Property: The PortsWood
Address: PortsWood Road, PortsWood Square | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The PortsWood 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The PortsWood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portswood Hotel Cape Town Central
Portswood Hotel Cape Town
Portswood Cape Town
The PortsWood Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing