We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$121
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$194
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$125
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$172
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$104
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$89
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 51% below average rates

The price you found is 51% lower than this hotel's average rate of $165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$107
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$279
$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $317/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$221
$186
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$803
$619
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveler rating
291
383
120
35
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
383
120
35
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationsister hotelwaterfront areafew minutes walkrobben islandbreakfast was includedtravel deskhop on hop off busturn down servicequiet locationstayed here for nightstravel agentstandard roomwater frontrooms are comfortablesmall poolsafe area
Filter
Updating list...
679 - 684 of 845 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights after a 4 day stay in Frannschoek, and therefore found Cape Town a much busier environment. The V&A Waterfront is a great location for activities and restaurants, although the surrounding bays feel more 'South Afican' as the V&A has an 'American Mall' feeling to it...

The hotel itself is excellent, with great amenities (although a small pool area that doesnt get much sun is a poor deisgn). The Cape Malay restaurant has excellent breakfast buffet and the dinner menu is superb. Hazel is great waitress and always greets you with a smile, as do all the staff including the very welcoming doormen who will valet park your car in the underground car park for you with hardly any wating time when you wnt your vehicle back.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Etops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2006

My wife & I recently enjoyed a 5 day holiday in Cape Town staying at the Portswood Hotel. Prior to our trip I had e-mailed the hotel to request a room on the top floorwhich they duly provided. They also offered a meet & greet service at the airport whcih turned out to be a chauffeur driven Mercedes! For Rr295 this was a very comfortable & relaxing way to arrive in a city for the first time.
The hotel has an excellent location in the V&A waterfront. Although the rooms were much more than adequate, quite large & very clean, it was the exceptional staff & service that made our stay memorable. In fact a group of work colleagues who stayed there in 2005 enjoyed ot so much they're going back in 2007! We would also definitely stay there again.
In addition to the continental breakfast, hot options were cooked to order if you asked the waiting staff.
Cape Town itself is a fabulous city to visit & we found everyone very friendly & helpful.
We booked our excursions through a company called Hylton Ross & they were excellent! They mostly use 7 seater mini buses which makes the trips more intimate & friendly. The tour guides on our 3 excursions were full of interesting information about the places we visited. They are also the sister company of the open top tour buses & you get discount vouchers for the excursions when you buy a ticket for the open top bus.
In all the restaurants we ate in at the V&A waterfront the food & winewas superb & very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank teamginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2006

We stayed at the Portswood Hotel at the recommendation of a friend who is South African. It is good value for money and very central. It is 2 minutes walk to the V&A - where there are shops and plenty of restuarants. You can also catch the hop-on/hop-off bus here which takes you on a tour of the city inc table mountain so is very handy.
We went to watch the Cricket at Newlands one day and the hotel arranged a car to take us - one point though - the hotel quoted us one price and then the drive another (cheaper) price so would advise you try and pay the driver!
The breakfast was good - plenty to choose from and there was a cooked option (unlike a prev review said). The staff would come and take your order for this at the table - sometimes though you'd have to call them over.
Finally - watch your tipping! You must tip everyone in SA. We were tipping waiters a £3-£4 at the end of every meal - we joined some South African friends one night who thought it was very funny - they advised us only to tip £1-£2 for meals and in cafes 50p-£1.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Melanie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2006

Just returned from 5 nights at the Portswood. Very good location wise, just walk down the nearby stairs and you are in the Waterfront which is a plus for safety especially at night. The staff are very friendly (and there seem to be so many of them too)and
when I arrived before the check in time they found me a room straight away and bought me up some coffee at no extra cost. The included breakfast was ok but it was only continental and no hot option which was a little surprising for a 4 star hotel. Room was good, and was cleaned twice a day and had a safe etc which was important, only problem I found was as I was in a room facing the road, car noise was quite noticeable at times as its a fairly busy road. Overall this hotel was very safe, welcoming and an ideal base to explore the city.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank planethopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2006

I just came back from a wonderfull vacation through South Africa, Namibie and Botswana. I decided to spent two luxury nights in Capetown before I started camping for 3 weeks.
The Portswood hotel is on a great location, only 2 minutes from the V & A Waterfront, the place you want to be when you do not have so much time in Capetown.
The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is large enough, a small swimming pool and friendly staff (although a bit slow).
For a bit more luxury, their sister hotel The Commodore is right next to it, but to be honest why pay so much more just to stay in a 5 star. You can use the facilities anyway if you stay in the Portswood.
If you travel alone or do not have too much time, try this place, prices vs location it is a good bargain!!

16  Thank marieke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews