We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great - Room, not so great”
Review of The PortsWood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The PortsWood
Ranked #45 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Location was great in regards to proximity to the waterfront, shopping, restaurants, bars etc.. But the hotel room was not so great. Small rooms with, old tiled bathrooms and not the cleanest. The tile in the bathroom looked 20 years old - needs refreshed.. If you just need a place to stay - it will do, but it definitely needs refurbished. All the people were nice - and service wasn't bad.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grezyerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 772 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel is okay - location is great, the lobby area is very nice and the rooms are a bit dated with clunky noisy old AC machines. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed here as part of group travelling on a trade mission and we had good service throughout. But what really drove down the rating I'm giving this hotel was the incredibly inconvenient and useless room key system. Firstly the card keys they give you require a definite "knack" to operate. You learn how to make them work after numerous attempts and the housekeeping staff are clearly well used to helping frustrated guests get into their rooms. However, on top of this (fairly substantial) inconvenience the keys all stopped working entirely on 3 occasions in my 4 night stay and newly programmed ones had to be issued. This is a real inconvenience when you get back to your room after a hard days work and just want to collapse especially when there's only one small slow lift. Finally to put the tin hat on our key nightmare one of our party could not get into his room at all on to get his luggage on leaving and hotel maintenance had to REMOVE THE DOOR to allow him to get his bags. The locking mechanism had failed and this was the only way to get in. Portswood Hotel for goodness sake do something about this massive problem or you will never have repeat clients.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingKIttyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I’m just finishing a two-week stay at the PortsWood Waterfront Hotel. The location is excellent and just a short walk to the waterfront, with its many excellent restaurants. The hotel building is “old,” but the rooms have been completely refurbished. They are large, modern, and attractive, including the bathrooms. The staff is consistently helpful. A good buffet breakfast is included in the price as is free internet access. There is also a tour desk in the hotel’s lobby. I would have no hesitation in staying here again. Please note that the check-out time is early – 10 am, although I was given an extension upon request.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the same side as the entrance. There's often a lot of noise, including tour buses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichT529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at Portswood for 5 nights in Sep 2013. Hotel is very close to the Waterfront,where you can take the Hop on Hop off bus for your tours. Hotel provides nice choice for breakfast and delicious food if you want to dine or have lunch. Cleaning of rooms done twice per day which I find really rare. Complimentary bottles of water and chocolates are also provided every night. Very friendly staff and quick room service. I would recommend Portswood and would definitely go again if I get the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosh1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Close to VA Waterfront and Table Mountain. Clean hotel with great breakfast. Safe area to walk to waterfront with many great restaurants, entertainment and shopping. Staff is helpful and can arrange guides to give advice on the many attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Portswood for 3 nights during our Honeymoon in June 2011 and we really had a great time there. The Hotel is 5 walking minutes away from the Capetown Waterfront where it is safe to walk around in the evenings and grab something to eat. You might walk a little faster back to the Hotel at night as the Hotel is slightly off the waterfront but you should be fine. We did go to the waterfront every evening and never had any trouble...

The rooms were clean and fine as well. Breakfast was great and the service was really perfect ! We'll probably never forget the gentleman who served us coffee every morning with a huge smile on his face and the doorman who was always in a good mood and had a joke ready for us when we arrived or left the facilities!

Very friendly personal and a really really a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have visited the PortsWood again! A very personal and charming hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. A well located hotel, walking distance from the V&A. and other attractions in the area. Room was clean and well equipped as always. Upon arriving the second day, after staying there on the 18th September, we were welcomed with our surnames by all in the foyer! Have recommended this hotel to our family from Australia has they wanted to make recommendations to friends when visiting South Africa. Breakfast was a full buffet with cooked breakfast on offer. When visiting Cape Town would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HentieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PortsWood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PortsWood

Address: PortsWood Road, PortsWood Square | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $203 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The PortsWood 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The PortsWood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portswood Hotel Cape Town Central
Portswood Hotel Cape Town
Portswood Cape Town
The PortsWood Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing