We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The PortsWood
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$139
$130
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$303
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$117
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
$195
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$88
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun The Cullinan(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$211
$135
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$63
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$141
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$246
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$334
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveler rating
280
370
115
34
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
370
115
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationsister hotelfew minutes walkbreakfast was includedwaterfront areatravel deskhop on hop off busrobben islandturn down servicequiet locationtravel agentstayed here for nightsstandard roomcomfortable roomsmall poolwater frontsafe area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 815 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

While being an older hotel from another era, it had charm and position that made us glad we'd made the choice to stay there. Location is superb right across road from waterfront area. The staff were fabulous -friendly and always ready with a welcome when we returned home. We had some on-line business to attend to while there and so we found sunny positions in the foyer where we could sit and work, which was rather pleasant.

Room Tip: Even though our room looked out over the street it wasn't noisy at night.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieRodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed at The Portswood for 4 nights in Sept 2013. While the rooms were adequate, the food and the service in the hotel were excellent. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to meet our needs. Ate in the Restaurant one night and the food was outstanding. On top of this the location is great being a stones throw from the Waterfront. also close enough to be able to walk into town. Have already recommended the hotel to friends who subsequently stayed and equally enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

always enjoy staying at the Portswood when visiting Cape Town

service is always great as soon as you walk in the door your welcomed with a smile, rooms are quite big and very clean

The location is great, a 5 minute walk to the waterfront with all it's restaurants and bars

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Portswood is perfectly situated in the V&A waterfront, few steps away is the food market, crafts market, Long street, and the office for "hop on hop off bus". The area is vibrant and fun, you wont be disappointed. During our stay the hotel made sure our every needs were met down to providing complimentary wine upon our arrival as we recently got engaged. The interior is very modern and comfortable. Would recommend it to anyone who wishes to spend a few days in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie_meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This wasn't our original booking but we are so glad our booking was changed to the Portswood. We arrived early morning from UK and were met at the airport by an excellent driver, at additional cost, but well worth it. Arriving at hotel around 9 am we were able to check in offered coffee and before long called to make our way to our room. Our stay end of August 2013 for 5 nights was excellent through out. All the staff were a credit to the company in their welcome, friendly attitude and excellent service with a polite and courteous response to everything. The hotel is but a few minutes walk to the V & A mall and waterfront including city sightseeing hop on and off bus which will take you to all the best sights and more. Thoroughly recommend this hotel we stayed room 410, roomy very comfortable bed very clean and also a view of Table Mountain.

Room Tip: We liked our room 410 view of Table Mountain
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews