We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice with a few rough edges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Ranked #67 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed January 4, 2011

The hotel's location at Sea point is fine, although there is no beach around this area and, although the hotel did have sea facing rooms, ours was overlooking an adjacent building. When we arrived in Capetown the wind was blowing a gale and there was a draft running through the room even with the window shut (the wind could be heard whistling around the edges of the window as well). Our room's adjoining door was also unlocked, which staff rectified commendably quickly when informed - good job as well, as in the middle of the first night someone checked into the room next to ours and tried the handle. Apart from this, the room was decent enough and clean with a good selection of TV chanels including the English Premier League. Breakfast was very good, with a wide selection to choose from and the staff were very friendly and eager to help (although booking taxis were not their strong point - amazingly managing to book too many, not enough or at the wrong time. In saying that though, it always seemed to work out, one way or another). We ordered room sevice one evening and the food was good. The hotel pool was a pretty poor effort, often in shade and with 6 loungers. Overall, was okay for the money but if you can find better looking accommodation for the same price.....

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Premier Hotel Cape Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 493 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2010

This hotel is very well located at Sea Point, almost straight off the promenade. It had quite a lot of English when we were there - mostly midlifers to elderly (over 50 - 70+). Ask for a sea view if you can and enjoy the sunsets! The staff were very friendly and attentive and the rooms were very reasonably priced, if quite small and the toilet and bathroom was tiny. If you like space this is probably not your No 1 hotel but the parking is secure and it was quiet. For what we paid, we considered it good value. Also very well located for the Green and Sea Point Shul (three minutes away in the same road, where you will get a very warm welcome also).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoyalSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

The Hotel Cape Manor in the Sea Point neighborhood of Cape Town is a delightful hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is very warm and friendly, and the area is quiet. One door down from the seaside, the hotel is ideally situated in Sea Point--near the coast and a three-minute walk away form the bustle of the main street. The included breakfast is wonderful with fresh fruits, eggs, breads, meats, and cheese. Everything was very good, and it's evident the chef is happy to serve you.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brianpatrick1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We spent four nights here at the end of an exhausting tour of South Africa with Saga. The hotel is by the sea but there is obvious pollution to be seen in the water and the smell is not for the faint hearted. We didn’t manage to go by the sea because of this and there is no beach in that part of Cape Town. The hotel has no real lounge as it seems to be part of the bar and is small. Cape town is just like any other city and was a bit of a disappointment after all we had seen in our travels. The Waterfront area is nice with lots of restaurants to choose from. We also went to Robben Island and that was an experience not to be missed.
Dinner was a selection from the buffet and could include Butternut Soup, Fish Steak, Thai Green Curry dish and vegetables, Salad, Hake, Rice and Tuna Bake, Beef Curry and Carrots, Yellowtail fish, Ostrich with sauce and chips .
Desserts included Pineapple pudding with cold Custard and Roly Poly Pudding and Cheesecake. There was quite a selection.
Breakfast included Porridge and fresh fruit. As there was a queue for eggs, they don't make scrambled eggs, I had some bacon and bread with coffee, which was drinkable. There was quite a selection for breakfast.
South Africa seems to be famous for being a meat eating nation and that is certainly reflected in the amount of meat you are given at each meal. The same can be said of fish.
While there we visited the Cape of Good Hope, the Penguins at Simons Town and the botanical gardens at Kirstenbosch. I had been looking forward to visiting these gardens but was very disappointed in that there were very few plants in flower and was pretty dismal compared to the botanical gardens in Durban. We visited in February 2010.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wolfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

A professionally run, welcoming hotel with genuinely comfortable rooms just yards from the marine promenade. Busses to the Waterfront and Central Cape Town are easily accessible as are the restaurants, shops and generally buzzy street life of Sea Point. The staff are warm and exceptionally helpful, willing to do whatever is necessary to ensure a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arnorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

This is not an expensive hotel but our room had a sea view and all the widgets you might expect. The service was excellent with advice, car hire etc just sorted with a smile. The catering was excellent with an ingenious approach to their fluctuating numbers as groups came through. When numbers are low, the restaurant was a la carte; when numbers were high, a good quality buffet selection is offered allowing the staff to operate a good service. Good wine list. It's not too close to the town centre but is convenient for local shops with much lower prices than the tourist traps in the V&A Waterfront.
They even have a library with decent books.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
2  Thank Jeremy1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

My husband and I have found this hotel after our arrival to Cape Town, and the choice couldn't be better. The hotel has everything necessary for a wonderful vacation or for a great conference. The location is a minute away from a famous promenade where you can enjoy an ocean walk. The staff is welcoming, polite, and happy to serve; the manager is most personal, and we had the feeling that he practically never left the hotel - greeting guests early in the morning and being around the whole day. I wish every hotel had such a manager and such a service. Full buffet breakfasts can keep you going the whole day - tasty and beautifully arranged. Room service is not noticeable but you always find your room clean, the sheets and towels changed and extra white. And what is more, prices are very reasonable. So if you ever plan a trip to Cape Town, this hotel will be the best choice. Great job, I can't be thankful enough.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TatSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cape_Manor, Manager at Premier Hotel Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#44 of 111 in Cape Town Central
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#39 of 111 in Cape Town Central
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Premier Hotel Pretoria
#17 of 73 in Pretoria
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#59 of 111 in Cape Town Central
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#26 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Cape Town

Address: 1 Marais Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Cape Manor Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $74 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Premier Hotel Cape Manor is located in the beautifully tree-lined Marais Road on the Sea Point promenade in Cape Town, commanding spectacular views of Table Mountain and the awe inspiring Atlantic Ocean. This Western Cape hotel is situated at the heart of the fairest Cape's tourism centre and attractions like Table Mountain, the world famous Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, Green Point Stadium and the beautiful Camps Bay and Clifton beaches surround this luxurious destination for both business executives and leisure travelers. Guests at the Premier Hotel Cape Manor can enjoy wonderful evenings out in the cosmopolitan area of Cape Town and then return to their comfortable rooms with mountain & sea views for pure relaxation. Alternatively, enjoy your favourite drink on the hotel deck at the Promenade Cocktail Bar while watching the sun set over the Atlantic Ocean. Whether you are looking for a business facility or stylish accommodation, we at Premier Hotel Cape Manor welcome you to the best of Cape hospitality.he Premier Hotel Cape Manor is located in the beautifully tree-lined Marais Road on the Sea Point promenade in Cape Town, commanding spectacular views of Table Mountain and the awe inspiring Atlantic Ocean. This Western Cape hotel is situated at the heart of the fairest Cape's tourism centre and attractions like Table Mountain, the world famous Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, Green Point Stadium and the beautiful Camps Bay and Clifton beaches surround this luxurious destination for both business executives and leisure travelers. Guests at the Premier Hotel Cape Manor can enjoy wonderful evenings out in the cosmopolitan area of Cape Town and then return to their comfortable rooms with mountain & sea views for pure relaxation. Alternatively, enjoy your favourite drink on the hotel deck at the Promenade Cocktail Bar while watching the sun set over the Atlantic Ocean. Whether you are looking for a business facility or stylish accommodation, we at Premier Hotel Cape Manor welcome you to the best of Cape hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Hotel Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Manor Hotel
Premier Hotel Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing