We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regret staying here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Ranked #66 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed September 22, 2005

Although the hotel is situated in a convenient location and is part of a well known chain, this particular hotel is poorly managed. Having spent 4 hours traveling, all I wanted was a peaceful rest ahead of business meetings the next day. I was placed in a room next to a gym. The gym is supposed to be in use from 06h00 to 22h00 but the hotel does nothing to ensure observance of these hours. Just when I was preparing to sleep, I heard loud noises from the gym TV coming through. I went into the gym to find that there was no one there but the TV had just been left blaring at a high volume. I switched it off and thought my problems were solved. At 01h00 a.m. I awoke to the sounds of somebody exercising in the gym! I could hear everything! I called reception and asked to be moved to another room - only to be told there were no rooms available as "the hotel was fully booked"! At 06h00 the following morning I again was woken by somebody on a treadmill! After complaining and finally speaking to the manager, it turned out that there were other rooms available but "it would probably have been inconvenient to move me at 1 a.m."; the manager wanted to find out from me the name of the person I had spoken to at the reception (why would I know - I thought as manager he should know who was on duty at reception); and the room I was in was known for complaints due to gym noise (yet the hotel still doesn't enforce gym hours)! Despite an "apology", the hotel still charged me in full! One final thing - the blanket in the room had old stains and the bed over-cover had lipstick marks on it! Think twice before spending your money here!

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Arnold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 490 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London
227
Reviewed January 19, 2005

This hotel is a great base from which to explore Capetown and its surrounding areas. A ten minute walk from the V&A waterfront, it is ideally located. The rooms are clean and comfortable with air con. Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was good value. There is a small little gym and a jacuzzi too but no where to lie out and as the front of the hotel does not get the sun in the afternoon, this is not a hotel that is suitable for sunworshipers! All in all well worth the money. We would definately come back.

21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Lurad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Våra rum låg inåt och stördes av byggnadsarbeten, men rummen mot gatan stördes av trafiken dygnet ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kerstin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Estuve en la 256, que tenia una muy buena vista al canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FARRESRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
860 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
914 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria ...
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $135 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing