We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only a 3* hotel? I thught it was 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Ranked #64 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Only a 3* hotel? I thught it was 4*”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We booked this hotel on arrival at Cape Town airport through Tourist Information, and asked for a budget of R1400 max for two. All staff were very helpful and friendly. We arrived on a Saturday and curiously found ourselves the only couple in the dining room for dinner. The waitress was lovely and very efficient. Mysteriously the dining room was full for breakfast and the choice was as a good as we've experienced anywhere. Our room was very comfortable, but the view looked out over other rooms in the hotel. However, the location is perfect for the Waterfront, and is very close to the open top 'Red Bus' sight-seeing route. It took us to the Table Mountain cable car and then back to the hotel at the end of the day - no need for a taxi!

ps I left my ring behind in our room. Etienne, the Duty Manager went to great lengths to post it to my father in Jo'burg (who brought it with him on a visit to England). I was finally re-united with my ring this week. How about that for service?

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We thank you so much for the wonderful review. We're glad you enjoyed your dinner and our customer service! We're also happy you were reunited with your lost ring. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    229
    90
    19
    12
See reviews for
61
118
36
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Klerksdorp, North-West, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We loved our stay at the City Lodge V&A Waterfront. Friendly staff, small but comfortable room and the fact that it was walking distance from the V&A Waterfront is a big bonus!!! Breakfast was good and when we checked out, we received a freshly baked muffin to took along. This was a first time ever that I get something when booking out, and I think that is a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We thank you for the positive review. We're happy you enjoyed the friendliness of the staff as well as the breakfast offerings. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Pleasant stay and very friendly and efficient staff.
The dry-cleaning team took extra effort in catering to my specific laundry requirements
The check out took a little longer, but the staff were awesome.
The restaurant serves the best homemade bread ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised the City Lodge!

The hotel is walking distance from the W&A Waterfront in Cape Town.

Check-in was quick and friendly (check-out was however s*l*o*w). Rooms are smallish but comfortable and very well equipped. It also had a cheerful look to it. My room had a view towards the waterfront.

Breakfast was excellent. The hotel is also close to many good restaurants.

Well worth it and very central.

Room Tip: Some rooms face inner-walls of the hotel - ask for it to be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We're so pleased to hear that we could exceed your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed here for the Marathon over Easter weekend and had an absolutely amazing time. The service was particularly brilliant and attentive. Spent a lot of time by the bar after the marathon which was in high spirits with everyone nursing their muscles and enjoying a sundowner. The hotel itself isn't the Waldorf or anything but you make the most of its modest setup. Its close to pretty much everything in the waterfront area.

Thumbs up from me.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor make life a whole lot easier because the gym, restaurant, bar and jacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could make the Two Oceans Marathon a pleasurable experience for you. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We only stayed for one night but were not disappointed at all. We make use of the city lodge group a couple of times a year and are always pleased with the service.

The staff went out of their way to assist us. Nothing is ever too much!

Thank you...we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We’re glad to hear that while your stay was a short one, we could make it a good one, We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My hubby and I had the best two oceans marathon weekend at the City Lodge. The hotel was abuzz with runners and we were well taken of...from welcoming staff, balanced breakfast and free runners essentials (powerade, muffins and bananas) on the morning of the race. I will be back for next year's race and I better have my room ready at the City Lodge. Thank you again for the excellent service at reasonable prices!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nompumelelo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
917 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#65 of 106 in Cape Town Central
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
757 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Property: City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing