We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$172
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$102
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$128
$116
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Southern Sun The Cullinan(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$196
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$197
$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
$184
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$752
$427
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$733
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$549
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
116
264
99
20
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
264
99
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtravel deskwalking distanceconstruction worknon smoking roomminute walkclose proximityfree wifibusiness tripwater frontstar hotelbuffet breakfastpleasant stayeasy accesscomfortable roomssecure parkingrobben island
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 511 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

8 of us stayed before our golf trip up the Garden Route....
Great location to stroll to the Waterfront.
Service was excellent - we were collected at the airport arranged by the hotel. Reception had our rooms ready for early check in and were extremely friendly.
The breakfast offered was excellent - as may have said, as good a choice as any top hotel.
The Manager, Dean - was very visible and proactive during our 3 day stay and his staff did him proud.
Overall, a great place that is close to the "action" and conveniently located for anything "Cape Town wise"

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zambandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for the great review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I spent a few nights here for a work related conference. Excellent location and far surpassed my expectations for a city lodge. Fantastic service, great food and convenient. Rooms larger than i have had for most business trips. Highly recommended,

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel is an excellent base to explore Cape Town especially if u love walking. Most attractions are within walking distance and/or within a tour bus/taxi route. Lovely rooms but don't count on any type of real view. Beware there is NO pool as advertised but rather a splash / jacuzzi type of outdoor thing. A bit disappointing considering that this area can get really hot in summer! All in all no real reason not to recommend. Shop for a good room rate..

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rooms. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our first visit to South Africa, arranging 8 people to travel around for 15 days is not easy, with help from friends, we were recommended City Lodge to finish our holiday and booked 4 rooms. On arrival the reception ladies were very pleasant and so helpful, we were soon unpacked, enjoying a cool drink in terrace bar. Breakfast was amazing with the quality of some very top hotels, plenty of choice, and very helpful staff. Easy walking distance to the beautiful Waterfront, to enjoy some shopping and entertainment. We used the Red city bus tours to travel up to Table Mountain, and the 2 hop on bus stops are close to City Lodge. The hotel has a travel arrangement desk and we were able to book our airport transport easily with security that we would not be panicking to be on time. Swift checkout after 3 enjoyable days in Cape Town. Well done City Lodge a great end to our biggest adventure.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in a very spaciousness quiet room on the top floor over looking the harbour for 4 nights in the week prior to Christmas. Very impressed overall, the hotel is very central, with the rooms clean and tidy. We were surprised then even with the hotel being full, it was very quiet and a good sleep was welcome. The reception staff very friendly and welcoming. Parking was easy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant_I_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews