We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a scenic location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Ranked #67 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a nice hotel in one of the pretty areas of Cape Town (as I understood it from my local guide). I got a room with a great view of Table Mountain (which unfortunately was under the clouds for most of my stay) as well as the boats harbored in the quay. The room was luxurious and very quiet despite being near a dock where a large ship was being repaired with all the accompanying noise. It's also a short walk away from a mall with lots of shopping and a variety of restaurants as well as a few markets and also the aquarium. The historical area of Cape Town is also short taxi-ride away. I felt absolutely safe walking around the area with plenty of people milling about even late at night. The included breakfast was sumptuous and the staff very courteous and responsive. All in all, I had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain which also faces away from the busy front of the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tvarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thanks for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay, sorry that there was cloud over the mountain, but that's one of the few things we can't arrange for our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 469 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel itself is ok - good size rooms and comfortable and ok value for money. The service however is excellent and the food in the restaurant is fabulous. The steak was so good I have never tasted anything better anywhere, Its was melt in your mouth fabulous. The location is great and close to everything.

We will be back in December its a great little hotel but Im going just for the steak :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a room from where I can see the main road. The rooms are well maintained and clean. The staff are trained and and offer great assistance. Waterfront is at a walkable distance. After work, you can walk up to waterfront and back to hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rduraikannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good location in a safe/secure area: VA Waterfront. Plenty of restaurant options nearby and the hotel room service kitchen serves up a delicious meal.

Spacious rooms and a great view of the Waterfront area, great to people-watch perched on the windowsill.

Room Tip: Try booking via Amex Platinum to request for a room upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su-Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Perfect place to stop in Cape Town, very close to the Waterfront with shopping centres and restaurants. You can quickly reach any place in the peninsula and can also walk to the city centre. Large parking place for cars. Breakfast is very good, with wide range of food also evening quick dinner options. I definitely recommend it in Cape Town

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cicci50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend in early June and was satisfied with my stay. The hotel is on the edge of the waterfront and you can walk to a lot of places. Rooms were comfortable and service was pretty good.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin042781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the City Lodge V&A Waterfront for a single night for business towards the end of April - this is my second stay there. It is always clean, neat, it has absolutely everything you could wish for in terms of amenities. They also have a fabulous breakfast with loads of fresh fruits and other nice baked goodies. We were dropped at the hotel by a colleague so didn't have a car to get around. The concierge arranged a taxi for us for R30.00 (4$) to get to the Waterfront for dinner. (I wouldn't recommend the walk on your own at night). All in all a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thanks for your comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,047 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 110 in Cape Town Central
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#52 of 110 in Cape Town Central
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 110 in Cape Town Central
865 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#73 of 110 in Cape Town Central
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $114 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing