We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great - thank you!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Ranked #66 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently great - thank you!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the City Lodge V&A Waterfront for a single night for business towards the end of April - this is my second stay there. It is always clean, neat, it has absolutely everything you could wish for in terms of amenities. They also have a fabulous breakfast with loads of fresh fruits and other nice baked goodies. We were dropped at the hotel by a colleague so didn't have a car to get around. The concierge arranged a taxi for us for R30.00 (4$) to get to the Waterfront for dinner. (I wouldn't recommend the walk on your own at night). All in all a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for your comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    237
    92
    19
    12
See reviews for
62
125
37
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

First time in cape so not sure if the service is the norm. I was not impressed and I was not upset, just meh service. The hotel rooms are small so if business traveler you may want to rethink. The bathrooms have a Euro shower so tight quarters even for a small person. The bed was comfortable. I stayed facing a busy street, may want to ask for a different room if you are not wanting noise. The location is actually so so. If walking you walk through a lot of construction right now and even on other streets not a lot of light to get to the waterfront. I thought the travel desk people were very friendly and more personable than the hotel staff. I took a ride from them to get to Table top, sadly they made me feel more welcomed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlutoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The City Lodge was our base for four nights in Cape Town and we were very pleased with this hotel. It offers the perfect location, within an easy 10 minute walk to epicenter of the V&A Waterfront complex of shops. Our room and bed were comfortable, everything is well-maintained, the front desk staff was professional and the buffet breakfast (with made to order omelettes) was superb. No pool (just a jacuzzi) but everything else was very satisfactory.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my sons when we were looking at schools in CT. Well located and reasonably priced. Decent sized room, but TV was tiny and the is no room service. You can tray-in from the restaurant where prices are reasonable or access fast-food via Mr Delivery.. But it's not the same. The hotel 'does the job' - good for a business traveller on a budget who just needs a place to lay his head.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BloDaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare and London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed in April 2013 for a weekend getaway on the end of a business trip. The hotel was great for holidaying (easy walking distance or short boat or taxi ride to the V&A Waterfront) and work (good sized desk in room, free 20 mins of internet a day, then charged directly to your credit card.) The rooms are clean and comfortable and the shower was good. The staff are kind and helpful, and allowed me to print my boarding cards for free, as well as arranging a late night pickup from the airport on arrival. And the takeaway muffin on check out is a nice touch!

Top tips: 1) take a taxi back from the waterfront at night (there are security guards along the route but some lonely sections and why risk the chance of being mugged?). 2) When purchasing internet access for a few days, unless you want to stream a substantial amount of video, its cheaper to buy access by data size (ie 1 gig) rather than an unlimited per day rate. 3) The "quick breakfast" is less expensive than the full buffet, but still includes bacon and eggs, so you won't go hungry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review - we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloof, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

As previous reviewers have indicated very clearly - this hotel is an EXCELLENT choice, especially for business people needing to be fairly centrally located, with close proximity to N1 & N2 and who are not wanting to pay the high rates some hotels in the CBD/Waterfront area charge. The same would apply to folks holidaying in Cape Town and not wanting to spend a fortune on accommodation. Public transport and taxi services are easily accessible too, as is the fabulous Cape Town Sightseeing "red bus" - which stops very nearby. The rooms are well thought out and equipped. Breakfasts provide a wide range of options in buffet style and VERY good coffee. There is a late night coffee shop with light meals, located adjacent to the bar and an all hours fast food delivery service available too. We found all the staff very courteous and helpful, from front desk & tourist cubicle through to cleaning and food services. Just a pity that wi-fi is not freely available. This is obviously a well managed hotel and certainly a credit to the City Lodge group. We were so very pleased we made this choice!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet non-smoking room and we got one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your extensive review of our hotel - hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a second year in row to take part in the Cape Argus Cycle Tour. The hotel is smack bang in the middle between the start and the finish line. The hotel is very accommodating for the cyclists with an early breakfast on the day of the race and allowing cycles in the room. “Sweat and Gears” are stationed in the parking lot and is ready to service your bike and last minute repairs and parts. The whole package, including the pricing for the accommodation is well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HendrikDuToit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments - we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#64 of 109 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
808 reviews
0.6 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Property: City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing