We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location. Walk to Waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Ranked #67 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent value for a short stay in Cape Town. Safe, free parking. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms are spacious, clean and the hotel is situated a stone's throw from the V.A. Waterfront. The Express breakfast bar is such a good idea! We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to local as well as foreign visitors.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SvB-CvB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you aqain soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 461 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Excellent location, good price and in the best neighborhood of Cape Town, but if you go with kids and they want to swim, it could be heavy drinkers, in a really small swimming pool with no space for kids. And waitress giving them more alcohol with nobody to stop this disgusting and terrible situation for a good hotel. Service in the afternoon is really bad and ife you adk for something, waitress don't want for walk, opposite to morning when the service at breakfast is really good. Administrators has to check how drunked people disturbed other guests like my kids who couldn't swim

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Covadonga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed most elements of your stay, but we are not so happy to hear about the bits that you did not enjoy. Please accept our apologies for the swimming pool experience - and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

There are not many hotels of this price level within such short walking distance from the Waterfront. Very friendly and efficient staff. Excellent breakfast. Small but pleasant terrace overlooking the water, where one can enjoy drinks and food.Free parking. Easy to find and access straight off the main road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while in Cape Town on business and was extremely impressed. The service was excellent, staff friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble, rooms clean and comfortable, location of hotel excellent for both business people and holiday makers. The new Express Breakfast Bar in the main foyer is certainly a novel idea and just the way to start off the day as it was far less crowded than the dining area downstairs. The light meals available throughout the day were also very tasty and excellent value. Well done City Lodge!

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the blocks are quieter, some rooms open out to face the road, they can be noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your most recent stay and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient spot, close to the V&A Waterfront. The rooms are well furnished and spotless. Everything looked new, even the white towels. The bathroom was clean and sparkling. Breakfast was substantial with fruit, cereal, toast and cooked bacon and eggs. Staff are cheerful, friendly and helpful. This hotel does not pretend to pamper or be very luxurious so there is no porter. But it is very good value and would suit a family or business people. Not the quietest spot as the hotel is by a busy road. But the rooms are well insulated so not really noisy. No doubt there are rooms away from the road if you want. The hotel operates a very good taxi at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicelincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

City Lodge offered one of their team scheme rates to all exhibitors for the functions we were attending which made a big difference to our budget. Nicely located for easy access to the various venues.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InyatiSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I slept 10 nights at City Lodge V&A and everything was fine. People at front desk very friendly, no trouble with the bill. I made international calls at reasonable price. All were well specified, every thing at my room works. Bathroom is small, but funcional.

It´s a very nice place to stay. A Good breakfast every morning, and natural juice for free at noon.
Other things: There´s a pool, but is small one, like a family jacuzzi. No time to used it.
The hotel location: Ideal to move to Waterfront walking, and just 5 minutes walk to conference center.
No noise and a safe place.
Cape town is awesome, people funny and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gus_Gustavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#59 of 111 in Cape Town Central
379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 111 in Cape Town Central
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterfront Village
Waterfront Village
#71 of 111 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
0.6 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 111 in Cape Town Central
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $125 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing