We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
$119
$101
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$171
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$116
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$154
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$197
$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
$184
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$762
$733
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$752
$427
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$549
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
116
264
99
20
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
264
99
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtravel deskwalking distanceconstruction worknon smoking roomminute walkclose proximityfree wifibusiness tripwater frontstar hotelbuffet breakfastpleasant stayeasy accesscomfortable roomssecure parkingrobben island
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 511 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a good value hotel to stay in and we had 3 comfortable nights there. It is not in the main Waterfront which I think is an advantage as it is relatively quiet. That said, if you have a car there is plenty of parking and the Waterfront is only a 2 minute drive away. We found the staff friendly and efficient, the breakfast had plenty to chose from and the rooms were spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K8Kayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

V + A Waterfront City Lodge is situated within walking distance from the Waterfront in Cape Town. Cape Town touring bus as well as the Canal Boat stops right outside the Hotel. Staff at this establishment are very friendly and helpfull. My stay at this hotel was very enjoyable. Security is good with ample parking.
Restaurant on the premises offers good food at a reasonable price. Breakfast not to be missed.
You can certainly put this Hotel on your list when in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canalside of the Hotel has got a beautifull view towards the Canal, Harbour Side as well as a bit of the Waterfront.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pikkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again at City Lodge V&A Waterfront or at another hotel in our group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We did not book before we came as it was very last minute but they still had a room available for us. The receptionists were very helpful and efficient.

Location is fantastic. You can walk to the Waterfront and if you like walking, like I do, you can even get around town during the day and easily find your way back to the hotel. Which means you don't need to hire a car - we didn't.

The room was perfect for us as a couple.

Breakfast was amazing! We sat there for a good half-an-hour trying everything. They had selections for those who wish to be healthy as well as those who don't.

The price is comparitive with other hotels like this in the area.

They also have a gym and a pool for use by guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is what you expect from a hotel like this. It is a bit predictable, but not without its charm. It was centrally located and the staff was nice. What had room service, which was worth it. I just felt like sleeping in a few hours one day and haveing a "me" day.

Great location. And thank you you lovely ladies, you know how to make an American feel welcome

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PilotLady48167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The city lodge is very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very delicious. the location is close to go the water front. it took 15 minutes on foot. But, internet connection was not full free and room is somehow small. I think this hotel is good for the people who travel alone.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews