We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, good location, good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Ranked #67 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I would say this is a good hotel. The location, close to the V&A Waterfront is good. It is walkable, assuming you are physically fit, in 10 - 15 minutes. The rooms are decent. You get 15 minutes of free wifi a day. The breakfast is pretty darned good (cook to order eggs and waffles). If you are staying for the convention center (we were not) is is about a 5 - 10 minute walk.

The front desk staff was polite, the concierge was very helpful and the breakfast wait staff were very efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica_H_513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLodgeJHB, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Many thanks for your visit to our hotel and for your favourable comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 462 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

The city lodge is very close to key tourist attractions and easy to get to via the major motorways into cape town. Check-in was very easy and the staff was friendly and helpful. It is an older building and the layout a little bit like a maze. The room was very nice, clean, with all the things you would expect, except a bar fridge. Internet access, surprisingly was an additional charge. You can order food and breakfast is avaiilable. It was not included in my on line deal. In the morning there are also muffins available free of charge if you are in hurry. Overall, I felt this was definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice and good hotel, well located, near the waterfront. The city requires to take a taxi to move after 6pm from / to this hotel.
Excellent breakfast - English buffet breakfast , very rich, to take while enjoying the view of the city.
There is no mini bar in the rooms, so in case of needing some water there is a machine on the first floor -near the Reception- that works with coins.
A good option to enjoy Cape Town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceciliadematos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I recently visited the City Lodge V&A Waterfront and was pleasantly surprised, I have passed this hotel numerous times and never given it a second glance but this is a gem and you should try it. The hotel's convenient for exploring the Waterfront, Greenpoint and city centre or if attending the Convention Centre. Rooms are clean and comfortable, service and breakfast excellent. I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Pretty easy to find, safe, good attention paid to guests at reception and good service. However, management would do well to pay more attention at breakfast time and make sure the hot breakfast items are not always run out. So many staff walking about, taking away your plate when you go for another slice of toast and come back to find cup, side plate, etc, all cleared away. Otherwise it's an ok place. Value for money I would give it 6 out of 10.

Room Tip: The butchers block restaurant's not the top place they say it is. I would rate it as mediocre, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bullseye186609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have been to this destination several times and enjoyed our stay. The location is great - walking distance from the city centre as well as all the shops, restaurants and site seeing at the world famous waterfront.

The rooms are neat and the service friendly and helpfull. Children are also accomadated in several ways.

The warm swimming pool is a bonus!

Staying at the City Lodge almost feels like home.

Room Tip: Ask for canal facing - other rooms face the inside of the building with no views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

this is one of the oldest properties in cape town so u cant expect much from the interiors and decor of the property. rooms are small in comparison to the tariff.. yet i would say its one of the best places to stay in capetown just because of the location of the hotel its on the waterfront.
in five minutes walking distance u get hundreds of restaurents, a shopping mall and u can indulge in lots of activities.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saket A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#55 of 110 in Cape Town Central
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 110 in Cape Town Central
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterfront Village
Waterfront Village
#70 of 110 in Cape Town Central
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $123 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing