We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Ranked #66 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The hotel is very well located near the Waterfront. The rooms are a bit outdated, they could use a refreshment.

But all you need for an overnight was available and the breakfast was very nice with lots of fresh products. Staff was very helpfull.

Overall nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huguesheylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 489 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our family stayed there for 4 days in May 2011. The staff were so friendly, we had a rental car and it had safe and secure parking. The breakfast was great but the hotel also provided free fruit and muffins for guests who did not want to go to breakfast. There was a small heated pool, great gym but the best feature is it is very close to the Victoria and Alfred waterfront, literally minutes away and you have a beautiful view of Table Mountain.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koeksuster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

You can’t really go too far wrong at the City Lodge. The best thing about the place is the great location, just a short walk to both the waterfront area as well as the central city. Getting around by foot is easy and safe. The rooms are fairly average in size and standard for this type of hotel, clean and well-maintained. No problems with outside noise and I had a very restful sleep here. The free parking is a nice bonus and the in-room Wifi internet connection is fast but pricey, around $7/hour.

The fitness room was disappointing – small and poorly equipped. There are a few cardio machines and virtually no weights. The breakfast was excellent however I do have a big complaint about the breakfast set-up. Most of the breakfast items are buffet style “serve yourself”, however all the hot foods (eggs, bacon, tomatoes, sausages, etc) are behind a counter and you have to stand in a long line waiting 5-10 min for a lone server behind the counter to dish things up for everyone. It’s as if they don’t trust you to dish yourself up. Ridiculous!

Overall, I had a great stay here and I’ll likely stay here again in the future. Yes, I would recommend this place to other travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The best part about any City Lodge is that you are always sure that you will find a hotel of a good standard. What sets the City Lodge at the V&A Waterfront apart is that they offer excellent service, free parking and is centrally located at the entrance to the Waterfront close to the city, mountain and Sea Point area. Combine this with their winning breakfast and comfortable rooms and you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

After the appalling parking pay-point inefficiencies I experienced at the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel (over a considerable period) I decided to venture across the road to the City Lodge Waterfront Hotel very early this morning.

It may be slightly unfair to compare two hotels in such short period, but I immediately felt an end-to-end service culture at work. Was offered the business area to work before my 08:30 lecture in Green Point. Even at 06:15 in the morning I immediately felt at home, was even offered a complimentary cup of coffee. Friendly staff and above all the 2 hours parking was complimentary.

Great execution City Lodge management and staff. I will be back to marvel in your operational efficiencies. And above all I shared this delight with my human resources students during the course of a Labour Relations lecture later on Monday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Vernon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stayed at this very comfortable,centrally situated hotel,and was just about to relax when some noisy guests started an all night long party next to the pool . I complained the next day,but up to date have not received any feedback,apology... nothing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glendyrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The location is perfect, with both the waterfront and the city center within reasonable walking distance. The rooms are somewhat smaller than many modern hotel rooms, but consistent with those at other City Lodges. (Larger rooms are available in higher-priced Courtyard hotels within the same company.) With so many dining options at the nearby waterfront, we did not have a chance to eat at the restaurant. This hotel may not be the best choice for those who want a full-service hotel, but it is perfect for those who want to wander a bit and enjoy amazing Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#62 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,087 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria ...
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $133 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing