We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Ranked #62 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel has a great location, very nice rooms and excellent breakfast. Loved the warm cream for your coffee or tea. Great place to stay. Would recommend to couples, families and business travelers .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Sherry P,

WOW! Thank you so much for the lovely, positive comments on TripAdvisor, and I would like to personally THANK YOU for taking the time to post your lovely comments.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure we know what our GUESTS experience regarding our services and facilities offered, to be able to not only meet, but exceed your expectations every time you stay with us. How wonderful that you enjoyed our scrumptious and extensive Breakfast Buffet.

Looking forward to welcome you back HOME in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel was great! It was a 5 minute walk to the waterfront and an easy drive to pretty much anywhere else you would want to go to in Cape Town. The staff was really nice and helpful. The rooms were perfectly clean. The rooms are not super fancy but are updated, modern, and clean. It also includes free breakfast which was a buffet with tons of food and an omelet station. Great place, overall!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelerRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear TravelerRach,

We are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback.

Hope to welcome you back at Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge very soon!

Kind Regards,

Colin Naiker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We (parents plus 2 teenage children) stayed at the Breakwater Lodge for 3 days in July. It's an unusual place - a prison converted into part hotel and part business school - but serves the purpose for a comfortable, but basic, base for a family visit to Cape Town at a reasonable price. And it's well situated close to the harbour. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not the place for you. The only criticism was the absence of a door to the shower in one room, which meant flooding if you used it - fortunately, having 2 rooms, we could avoid the problem but a black mark for the poor maintenance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Paul C,

Thank you for taking the time to write your constructive review on Trip Advisor.

We would like to apologize most sincerely for your disappointing experience concerning the showers. Please know that your concerns have been taken to heart and addressed with our Maintenance Manager, who has taken the necessary action to avoid such inconvenience from re-occurring.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Colin Naiker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I have been here before and I cam back again. Located right at V&A Waterfront, with great dinning and great sleep quality. This is one hotel that I will always feel comfortable in. The service is great and infrastructure well maintained. I really really loved the "earTHerapy Africa" product brand. I could come back just for that!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a waterfront view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NnennaWestAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear NnennaWestAfrica,

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review on Trip Advisor. Your praise in particular about our STAFF is most appreciated. We will be sure to pass your encouraging words on to them.
How wonderful that you enjoyed our "earTHerapy Africa" products!
We look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ again soon.

Kind regards,

Colin Naiker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

With a day riddled with meetings all over the Peninsula. I had a meeting at the Protea Hotel, Breakwater Lodge at the Waterfront where (fortunately) the meeting turned into lunch, and we shared a mezze platter. The weather was clear, so we sat outside on the veranda. Beautiful view of the mountain and the V&A Waterfront. The only pity is that there are huge constructions underway currently at the waterfront, so it was quite noisy.

FOOD - I am a huge fan of mezze platters. This one was delicious and quite reasonable for two people at R125. The platter had a variety of cold meats - salami, spicy sausage, pastrami; cheeses - blue an Brie; olives, pickles, rye bread, olive oil and boiled eggs (crusted with paprika, which wasn't quite my cup of tea, but interesting nonetheless). Everything else was very tasty. My only problem with a platter is that I generally end up eating waaay too much!

DRINKS - had a white Grapetiser.

SERVICE - a bit slow and when I was ready to go there was no one in sight; I just think they forgot about me.

VALUE FOR MONEY - fortunately I have a Prokard, so got 33% discount which was great. Value in general not bad.

RECOMMENDABLE - yes, quiet a nice gem of a place in a bustling Warerfront. 7/10

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank Regine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Regine L,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor about your experience at Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our mezze platter; we pride ourselves in our quality of fresh food. It is always such a pleasure to hear how our GUESTS enjoy the Hotel and Restaurant.

We hope to welcome you and your friends back soon.

Kind Reagrds,

Colin Naiker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I chose to stay in this hotel for the most obvious reason; LOCATION and price. Simply the cheapest (star rated) in V&A Waterfront.
This Hotel is located bang in the entrance of V&A Waterfront, opposite to the Twin Oceans Aquarium. The building is a historic piece and is part of Breakwater university campus.
I was ready to expect a few let downs as I drove in due to the "cheapest" tag.
But I have to say; this Hotel excels in class!
Very safe, guarded parking (uncovered) to start with.
Check in was a smooth experience with a very warm welcome from the staff. As the hotel is right in the middle of a functioning university campus, it needs some guidance to get around the various areas of the hotel and the very helping staff made sure that I reached my room without getting lost and also helped with everything a person needs while checking in. Kudos!
Room was amazingly well kept. Had the exact right temperature for the winter. Beautiful lighting, wide and huge windows perfectly curtained and the charm of a historic building, all gave me an everlasting note etched deep in my mind.
Bed was a comfortable one with perfect choice and mixture of white linen, pillows and soft blankets. Slept like a baby!
Beautifully designed bath and shower area added the luxure to the perfect levels on this price.
There were also a lot of free food/drinks/discount vouchers which I could use in many restaurants and tourist attractions in Capetown.

Overall, this hotel is a perfect choice for a family/business stay in V&A Waterfront.

Note: I love this hotel for it's location, beautiful rooms, historic building, amazing service and the best price!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zackokeepmoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Zackokeepmoving,

WOW! Thank you very much for the lovely, positive comments on TripAdvisor, and I would like to personally THANK YOU for taking the time to post your lovely comments.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure we know what our GUESTS experience regarding our services and facilities offered, to be able to not only meet, but exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

Your review captures the authentic, warm and attentive service culture that we strive to offer our GUESTS. Our entire TEAM goes out of their way to create a helpful and friendly environment, and it is heart-warming to read such amazing comments. I will be sure to congratulate everyone on their efforts.

Looking forward to welcome you back HOME in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Colin Naiker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed at Breakwater Lodge for three nights during a business trip. Staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is at a great location, about 10 minutes (probably less) to the waterfront. Where there are more dining places and mall for shopping. The mall closes at 9pm, for whoever intends to shop after days work is convenient. Since I was there for work, didn't spend much time in the bedroom. The room was clean, neat and spacious. This was a former prison that has been modified into hosting the hotel and the business school, it felt different from normal hotels. They have a small gym, that's located in the building where the reception is. The gym though small, is sufficiently equipped. The breakfast offered is extensive and the buffet offered for lunch also had varieties.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kbblandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Kbblandi,

Your feedback on Trip Advisor is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time in doing so.

How wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay and to found our location to be of great benefit to you. Yes, our hotel is truly unique, which we believe assists us in making our valued GUESTS feel welcome and at home. How wonderful that you enjoyed our scrumptious and extensive breakfast buffet.

We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Colin Naiker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria ...
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
671 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
373 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,850 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wha...
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
363 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge

Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $138 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance modern comfort and and experience soaking in the rich history of Cape Town with a stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge. Our hotel in Cape Town, South Africa sits right next to the city's fantastic V&A Waterfront, a minute from restaurants, shops and theatres. We're perfectly poised to give you a feel for the heart of the Waterfront area, just 25 km from Cape Town International Airport. Enjoy easy access to beaches, mountains and city hotspots from our accommodations, as well as convenience getting to Cape Town International Convention Center and Cape Town Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing