We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Ranked #54 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Brazil
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best localization”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The high point in this hotel is the localization, close to everything. Is easy to go walking to waterfront, aquarium and to station bus to get the red buses.
The rooms are very small but atended my needs. The hotel is retired and everithing is new.
Our room was supposed to be for a couple but when we arrived were two beds putted together, but they promptly improved the matresses ina way tha was equal to a double bed.
The bad point was the fact that hasn´t refrigerator in the bedrooms and the bathrooms doesn´t have glass or shower curtain. The floor gets very wetted and the water flows into the room.
The breaskfast is very good but a little expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaraAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    401
    135
    41
    27
See reviews for
148
288
62
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My first trip to Cape Town. My wonderful Travel Agent recommended this hotel and she was right in every regard. The location is fantastic, walking distance to all the V & A Waterfront has to offer. The Red Bus city tour departs from down the steps, across the road! Great to orientate yourself, the staff pointed me in the right direction to all I wanted to see & do.
The rooms are very comfortable, good restful sleep, hot, hot shower, excellent restaurants, well appointed and very reasonably priced. Nothing was too much trouble.
I availed myself of several of the spa treatments. Again well done and the price is very reasonable.
As I am travelling alone I am very grateful to the staff - thank you for your assistance. A great team.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Enjoyed numerous stays at this iconic hotel based at the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. A reconverted jail offers an outstanding hotel for the budget traveller. It is located close to all amenities and offers great views of Table mountain. The restaurant is above average in fare.

Room Tip: Ensure you request rooms with view of table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thommo178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights, staff really friendly. Went to breakfast that was really good had a chef there to do eggs your way, nothing too much trouble. Tried the restaurant, same good value definitely worth a visit. To say its where students go and there are classes held its very quite. Interesting to see that it had been a prison, the rooms are good. Near the waterfront

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Protea Breakwater lodge was once an old prison and it shows in certain areas. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The rooms were basic and perhaps a little small. Ours looked over a roof. The housekeeping of the room was below standard many items such as towels and shower gel not replaced. Breakfast was good with a wide range on offer. Location of the hotel was ideal for the V and A Waterfront without costing a fortune.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I stayed at this hotel recently. It met all my business needs in terms of location, room quality, gym and breakfast. Located right next to the V&A makes this a perfect location for dinner options. I stayed in a single room which was small, but comfortable. Service was very good with staff always friendly and on hand to offer assistance. The gym is small, but has adequate equipment to have a nice workout. I was very impressed with the breakfast options (full English or continental) in terms of quality and variety. There is a small charge for on site parking if you are in a hire car. Overall a very good experience and I would definitely stay here again. I thought prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is a converted prison and is located very near to the water front. The staffs are mainly university students and are very well-trained. You don't have to take foods at the hotel as there plenty of choices outside the hotel. It is very near to Cape Town Hop-On-Hop-Off bus you practically do not need to spend much time driving around.

Room Tip: Don't take double single bed room. Take a room with queen size bed. More spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauWengSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 973 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rich piece of history balancing modern-day comfort when you stay at this hotel right next to Cape Town's fabulous V&A Waterfront. Just a minute away from restaurants, theatres and shops, the hotel is perfectly positioned in the heart of the V&A Waterfront and 25km from Cape Town International Airport. The hotel is also near all the main routes to the beaches, mountain walks and city hotspots as well as the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and Cape Town Stadium. The hotel is closely linked with the University of Cape Town's Graduate School of Business and features 18 conference venues, four public lounges, gym, SPA, business centre, 24-hour secure parking - 250 parking bays, airport transfers, laundry service. The hotel boasts with 191 modern environmentally conscious rooms with standard rooms, business suites and family units. All rooms are equipped with minibar fridge, free uncapped WIFI, tea/coffee facilities, air-conditioning, LCD flat screen TV, telephone and laptop-friendly electronic safes. Stonebreakers Restaurant offers a la carte & buffet menus daily in a relaxed atmosphere with magnificent views of both the V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain. A selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages is available from our full service bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing