We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusal but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Ranked #62 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Protea Breakwater lodge was once an old prison and it shows in certain areas. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The rooms were basic and perhaps a little small. Ours looked over a roof. The housekeeping of the room was below standard many items such as towels and shower gel not replaced. Breakfast was good with a wide range on offer. Location of the hotel was ideal for the V and A Waterfront without costing a fortune.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I stayed at this hotel recently. It met all my business needs in terms of location, room quality, gym and breakfast. Located right next to the V&A makes this a perfect location for dinner options. I stayed in a single room which was small, but comfortable. Service was very good with staff always friendly and on hand to offer assistance. The gym is small, but has adequate equipment to have a nice workout. I was very impressed with the breakfast options (full English or continental) in terms of quality and variety. There is a small charge for on site parking if you are in a hire car. Overall a very good experience and I would definitely stay here again. I thought prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is a converted prison and is located very near to the water front. The staffs are mainly university students and are very well-trained. You don't have to take foods at the hotel as there plenty of choices outside the hotel. It is very near to Cape Town Hop-On-Hop-Off bus you practically do not need to spend much time driving around.

Room Tip: Don't take double single bed room. Take a room with queen size bed. More spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauWengSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Protea Breakwater Lodge is a converted prison and is also linked to a university. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and functional, the food in the restaurant is perfectly fine.
The location is fantastic! It is about a 5-10 minute walk to the V&A waterfront and a stones throw from the aquarium.
We stayed there for about 6 nights and it was fine for that length of time. Would stay there again if I go back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marnie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

2 blocks from the waterfront, very interesting because it was a prison in the past. today a university and this great hotel. Excellent rooms, free 3 hours per day wi-fi 3, gym overlooking table mountais, incredible breakfast. Recommend

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milamasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel has a lot of great attributes, the main being its locality. It is literally across the road from the V&A waterfront which is one of the main tourist attraction in Cape Town. There is a huge modern shopping mall, great restaurants and the City sight seeing bus is immediately across the road and the Aquarium next to that. You also get the Robben Island tour from the same location. We loved the quirkiness of its history and the original prison features it has kept. It is clean and modern and great food on the room service (extra cheap if you are British with the current great exchange rate!). The room we had was a family room with two separate bedrooms, even though there was only two of us. It had a good sized shower and separate toilet. There was a fridge and a safe in the rooms which came in handy. The beds were firm but comfortable, gorgeous sheets and an undisturbed quiet nights sleep. There was so much to do in Cape Town we spent very little time in the hotel and didn't try their Spa facilities etc. Cheaper than most other hotels in the area but you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I do not know whether it is because Breakwater Lodge is located within Africa's best academic facility but the quality of the service is amazing. From the driver who picked me up at the airport, through check in and my 17 day stay in Breakwater lodge had no cause to complain about anything. The room was clean and cosy. The humility, respect and professionalism of the staff was wonderful, for a country that is just recovering from apartheid. Cleaners work everyday including weekends replenishing everything: 5 towels each day. Wow... all for US$86 a night in the heart of Cape Town, near the waterfront? Wow... I am blown away. I am definitely coming back... If for nothing at all just to see those wonderful multiracial ever helpful and smiling front desk officials of this wonderful hotel. You guys rock!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solomon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 110 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 110 in Cape Town Central
656 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#47 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge

Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $133 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance modern comfort and and experience soaking in the rich history of Cape Town with a stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge. Our hotel in Cape Town, South Africa sits right next to the city's fantastic V&A Waterfront, a minute from restaurants, shops and theatres. We're perfectly poised to give you a feel for the heart of the Waterfront area, just 25 km from Cape Town International Airport. Enjoy easy access to beaches, mountains and city hotspots from our accommodations, as well as convenience getting to Cape Town International Convention Center and Cape Town Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing