We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Ranked #52 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Aylesbury, Bucks
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Protea Breakwater Lodge is a converted prison and is also linked to a university. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and functional, the food in the restaurant is perfectly fine.
The location is fantastic! It is about a 5-10 minute walk to the V&A waterfront and a stones throw from the aquarium.
We stayed there for about 6 nights and it was fine for that length of time. Would stay there again if I go back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    423
    140
    41
    28
See reviews for
151
304
64
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

2 blocks from the waterfront, very interesting because it was a prison in the past. today a university and this great hotel. Excellent rooms, free 3 hours per day wi-fi 3, gym overlooking table mountais, incredible breakfast. Recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milamasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel has a lot of great attributes, the main being its locality. It is literally across the road from the V&A waterfront which is one of the main tourist attraction in Cape Town. There is a huge modern shopping mall, great restaurants and the City sight seeing bus is immediately across the road and the Aquarium next to that. You also get the Robben Island tour from the same location. We loved the quirkiness of its history and the original prison features it has kept. It is clean and modern and great food on the room service (extra cheap if you are British with the current great exchange rate!). The room we had was a family room with two separate bedrooms, even though there was only two of us. It had a good sized shower and separate toilet. There was a fridge and a safe in the rooms which came in handy. The beds were firm but comfortable, gorgeous sheets and an undisturbed quiet nights sleep. There was so much to do in Cape Town we spent very little time in the hotel and didn't try their Spa facilities etc. Cheaper than most other hotels in the area but you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I do not know whether it is because Breakwater Lodge is located within Africa's best academic facility but the quality of the service is amazing. From the driver who picked me up at the airport, through check in and my 17 day stay in Breakwater lodge had no cause to complain about anything. The room was clean and cosy. The humility, respect and professionalism of the staff was wonderful, for a country that is just recovering from apartheid. Cleaners work everyday including weekends replenishing everything: 5 towels each day. Wow... all for US$86 a night in the heart of Cape Town, near the waterfront? Wow... I am blown away. I am definitely coming back... If for nothing at all just to see those wonderful multiracial ever helpful and smiling front desk officials of this wonderful hotel. You guys rock!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solomon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, it is in an excellent location 5 mins walk to the v&a waterfront, the sight seeing bus stops just across the road, the hotel it's self a little strange as you have to walk through the university to get to the restuarants but is not a problem as it's less than 5 mins from the main reception the rooms were very clean and comfortable just a little on the small side, all the staff are very helpful and friendly, The breakfast buffet was very good so much choice and the "time out "restaurant was excellent value, the food was amazing with very good service, would defiantly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a great value for money hotel located at the doorstep of the V&A Waterfront. Friendly, helpful and efficient reception staff. Room is modern, simple well furnished and very functional maybe not ideal for long stays. TV screen a little small but okay for watching the news while dressing. Located within walking distance to transport (to the city and airport), to various attractions: Robben Islands tours, Aquarium, boat trips, starting point for sightseeing tours, amazing shopping and to many choices of restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelProCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We got a great rate last minute on this property ( about $AU100 per night) and stayed 2 nights. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is good - lots of fruits, yogurts, etc, all sorts of hot food. The restaurant is also good value, the food very tasty, although it lacks a bit in atmosphere.

We had a disable access room ( must have been the only one left) and the toilet is in a strange location which means you can sit on the toilet and wash your hands at the same time. The bathroom door didnt quite close properly either. The room itself however, was huge. Nice view of the courtyard.

The hotel is in a great location - across the road from the Two Oceans Aquarium and walking distance to the whole V & A Waterfront area.

We would stay here again - our only gripe was that the wi-fi link in our room was weak. We found we got a faster link in the lobby and breakfast area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norfolkjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#64 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rich piece of history balancing modern-day comfort when you stay at this hotel right next to Cape Town's fabulous V&A Waterfront. Just a minute away from restaurants, theatres and shops, the hotel is perfectly positioned in the heart of the V&A Waterfront and 25km from Cape Town International Airport. The hotel is also near all the main routes to the beaches, mountain walks and city hotspots as well as the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and Cape Town Stadium. The hotel is closely linked with the University of Cape Town's Graduate School of Business and features 18 conference venues, four public lounges, gym, SPA, business centre, 24-hour secure parking - 250 parking bays, airport transfers, laundry service. The hotel boasts with 191 modern environmentally conscious rooms with standard rooms, business suites and family units. All rooms are equipped with minibar fridge, free uncapped WIFI, tea/coffee facilities, air-conditioning, LCD flat screen TV, telephone and laptop-friendly electronic safes. Stonebreakers Restaurant offers a la carte & buffet menus daily in a relaxed atmosphere with magnificent views of both the V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain. A selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages is available from our full service bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing