We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$172
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$102
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$752
$427
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$733
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$128
$116
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$549
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$197
$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
$184
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveler rating
274
189
69
25
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
189
69
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streettable mountainbunk bedsgreat backpackersdorm roomtravel deskswimming poolshared bathroommain buildingnice place to staykloof streetenjoyed my stayguest housegarden routecompany gardensthe location is perfecthostel
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 571 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Take nothing away from it, this appears to be a very well run backpackers lodge, but it left us feeling a little bit old. We stayed here for two reasons: (1) because we'd splurged a bit on other nights in Cape Town and (2) we we'd heard good things about Ashanti. Location was great, check-in was sweet, the quality of our private room was good - but we arrived tired and needed to sleep. Sleep we didn't get, because the noise from the internal bar went on at full blast until 02h00. This was despite less than a handful of people being at the bar... and the vast majority of guests, like us, having hit the sack. Still, we've rated it highly - it is what it is - a top youth hostel.

Room Tip: Don't book private rooms near the bar if you're planning to sleep early.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swazidarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hi guys
Sorry about the noise - we have been addressing this problem so I will definitely investigate.
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Ashant Lodge is in a great location with a beautiful view of Table Mountain (you have really nice view of Table Mountain also frm the toilet :)) The hostel is secure with a code to enter the compound, another code to enter the dorm, personal safes and a locker under the bed. We had a really nice stay. The staff was very friendly, especially the – bartender Mark Barr. He made the stay even better. The only disadvantage was a bad smell in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scaryeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hi there!
I am glad that you discovered the "loo with a view" - a lot of our guests don't find it :-)
I wonder why there was a bad smell in the kitchen,.... maybe someone was cooking something strange?
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I made a backpacker tour throuh southern africa and I started my trip in cape town and stayed in ashanti at the beginning and at the end of my tour! it was the cheapest accomodation i could find and it was the best compared to all other places. I want to thank dan from malawi and the guy from ireland( kevin or mike ) i'm not sure what his name was, but they were very helpful and did a really good job! thanks again and one day i will come back to cape town and of course ashanti lodge!
Mahir from Germany

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3mahirkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hello Mahir
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that my staff looked after you well!
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed in Ashanti for almost two weeks. Is was a pleasant experience and I met really cool people. Mr Mark Barr made the stay even better with super service and a warm attitude. I shall visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanPearShaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thanks so much for your review. That is the beauty of staying in a backpackers lodge - that you get to meet lots of other travellers.
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lovely to stay in an old house that has been restored so well. We walked to the shop, at the Engen garage, they have everything, and had a Braai by the pool. The gas stove looks new and the oven worked. We made sweet potatoes in it. The mattresses were the best and the duvets wonderful. There are lots of clean bathrooms. It might not be that quite with the wooden floors, but you feel that the house is alive around you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hello Stephan
Thank you so much for your email. It is so nice when guests notice those extra things that we have provided. The wooden floors do make a bit of noise, but as you say there is not much we can do about it.
Thanks
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews