We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old house that is alive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old house that is alive”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lovely to stay in an old house that has been restored so well. We walked to the shop, at the Engen garage, they have everything, and had a Braai by the pool. The gas stove looks new and the oven worked. We made sweet potatoes in it. The mattresses were the best and the duvets wonderful. There are lots of clean bathrooms. It might not be that quite with the wooden floors, but you feel that the house is alive around you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hello Stephan
Thank you so much for your email. It is so nice when guests notice those extra things that we have provided. The wooden floors do make a bit of noise, but as you say there is not much we can do about it.
Thanks
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    170
    65
    24
    12
See reviews for
21
93
197
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have stayed in several backpacker hostels around Cape Town but none of them come close to Ashanti. While talking to a few people, many call the lodge their 2nd home. The rooms, doorms and privates are in great condition and are very comfty.

I have stayed at Ashanti for about 2 weeks, made some friends and connected to the staff who are all very enjoyable people. Mark the barman has supplied me with the right amount of Heineken every day and the barlady Caroline makes the best Hot Chocolate in the world!

All in all, i had a great time and will definitely return for a stay at Ashanti! :)

all the best
Michael

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelRupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello Michael
Thank you very much for your great review - I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us :-)
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Having stayed here a couple of times now in 2013 and 2014, I can honestly say there is no other hostel to stay at in the centre of Cape Town quite like Ashanti. The staff really make this hostel what it is, from the helpful reception staff to the great barman Mark, all who know the best places to go and even make a rainy day stuck inside fun. Aside from the staff, the hostel is in a great location with a beautiful view of Table Mountain and is spotless. It even has a great pool and some ace pool parties in Summer! Definitely one to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliviaoprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello Olivia
Thank you so much for your review. Obviously a returning guest is a happy guest and I am so glad that you keep coming back!
Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I haven't travelled around SA that much, but this is one of the best hostels I've stayed at. With code access at the front gate and the dorm room, this massive Old Cape-style house focuses on safety. You can leave your luggage locked away in the luggage room or in one of the personal safes in the rooms. The building is neat, modern, clean and... free! There's no one to tell you to keep the noise down at a specific time - you can sit out on the big open porch overlooking the city until the cows come home or hang out with the friendly staff. The only thing the backpackers requires is a lounge. It's got a cosy bar/restaurant area but could do with some chilled-out living room where one can just kick back. The beds are extremely comfortable and the dorms are equipped with a basin.

Best in Cape Town, if you ask me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MosselBayBackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay! Your constructive criticism regarding a lounge has been mentioned before and we are just waiting for our plans to be approved and then we will be building a wonderful chill room with an awesame Table Mountain view. This should definitely be completed by the end of the year.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The hostel is extremely secure with a code to enter the compound, another code to enter the dorm then personal safes and a locker under the bed to store your bag. In terms of location, it was well situated - only a 20min walk from Long Street, 5min walk from a supermarket/pharmacy and a 2min walk from a HopOnHopOff and MyCity bus stop. The view of Table Mountain from the restaurant terrace is also quite amazing. They also offer a great laundry service.

The staff however, were a mixed bag. Some were friendly and helpful, others were the the opposite - and didn't go out of their way at all to assist you. When I asked about Green Market and when it was open, I received a shrug and "dunno" as a response...

Overall though, I enjoyed my stay there and I met some really nice people.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbietheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi Abbie
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you noticed the extra security features that we have in order to make our guests feel safe and secure whilst visiting. I wish I could find out from you exactly which staff member you are referring to so that I can take appropriate action. We do try and ensure that everyone is friendly and helpful so I apologise for that.
The main thing is that overall you enjoyed your stay!
Regards, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Service was efficient, staff were helpful and the reception looks great! However our double room (with shared bathroom) was small - it was situated opposite the kitchen and swimming pool where there was constantly noise so we struggled to get a good night's sleep. There isn't secure parking available (although there is a carguard keeping watch) which makes you worry a bit when you are renting a car.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeBee188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi FeeBee
Thanks for your review - and I am glad that you had "mostly" positive comments about us. The noise in these old buildings does travel but we are working on it!
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This place has not a bad location in cape town for a backpackers and the rooms and toilets were clean and reasonable. However the staff need work. The two girls that met us at reception were more interested in having a drink with the guests out the front than helping us, this theme then continued with the American guy working the bar being more interested in having a sneaky drink behind the bar and making out with his girlfriend. The staff dragged this place down.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshKav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. Positive criticism is always helpful and specially when things can be improved. I will be working on customer service training immediately!
Regards, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.8 mi away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#74 of 109 in Cape Town Central
691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
336 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
1.6 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 128 in Cape Town Central
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Lodge Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Property: Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Address: 11 Hof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian mansion boasts clean, comfortable rooms and handy innovations like individual reading lights, personal safes and international plug points. Our sparkling pool, landscaped gardens, spacious balconies and palm-fringed sundecks are great for chilling out - while our legendary Kumasi Bar is the place to party! We serve delicious meals in our bar and also have a well-equipped kitchen for self-catering. We offer all accommodation options, including private, en-suite rooms in our guesthouse around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Hotel Cape Town Central
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing