We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

sleeping was not possible because of horrible noise. altough lots of mobile phones were stolen nobody felt responsible to do something. we will never choose this lodge again. it was the worst on a six week trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grasarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hi there!
I was really surprised to see your review as it is rare that we have someone who is so unhappy with their stay here. Obviously there are occasions but not often.
I am not sure specifically which noise you are referring to but if we are busy it can be noisy as we have wooden floors and high ceilings. However, the night manager is under strict instructions to act on any complaints so should you have said something to him he would have quietened things down.
I admit that we have had a few things stolen recently from the communal areas, but unfortunately the honesty of all of our guests is out of our hands. We provide a number of security options (secure lockers under bunks, individual safes for every person and a safe at reception). The first telephone stolen was left charging in the communal kitchen and we immediately put up a sign warning all guests to make sure that they look after their belongings. We cannot be held responsible if valuables are left on a table next to the pool for instance.It's a sad reality that there are irresponsible and dishonest travellers.
Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 559 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

I only stayed here one night as i had been travelling the garden route and only had one night in cape town before i flew home.
I travelled with 4 other people. and shared a room with them.

Our room was basic but a luxury compared to some places we had stayed! we had a sink and mirror in our bedroom, also more than one plug socket, as silly as it sounds we were really happy with our room and we could sit on a bottom bunk bed without banging our heads, we hadnt been able to do this in other places haha.

The place also had a great veiw of table mountain from the staircase window, it had 2 showers and 3 toilets upstairs near our room and some more downstairs, the pool looked clean and swimable although we didnt have time to use it.

We ate there but only for breakfast. which had a massive range of things, from cereal, toast, ham and cheeses, eggs, musli, coffe & tea and fruit juices. this was at a R50 charge.

Id also say the location was good. we had to walk around 10-15minutes to long street/ reasturants ect. although we were advised to get a cab home as it can be dangerous if your not in a large group.
Hope this helps. travelling alone or not id advise this place xx

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah_travel_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hi Sarah
It was indeed a pity that you could only stay one night, but I am so glad that someone appreciates the little things.... like the bunks. We had them designed specially so that you could sit up on the bottom bunk without banging your head - and individual reading lights too!
Next time, you should stay for longer :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I definitely recommend people to stay here. The also arranged for me to go to the airport as well. I had a private room and it was lovely, clean, and comfortable. I loved the grassy front lawn and the pool as well. Bathrooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and always helpful. They organized so I could go on the wine tour and that was such an amazing day trip. Ashanti is located in a perfect spot, and there is woolworths close by to buy food. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNU10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have made a few improvements since May 2012, so you should come back again one day to check them out :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not really the best place if you need to sleep as this place can get really noisy. They often organise braii which you can registered for ZAR50. Good attention given from the staff at reception, they can organise almost any tours for you. The rooms are nice and clean. Spacious and individual shower area. There is a large swimming pool in the back area. If the weather allows it, you'll love sit around it to have a drink and chill. Walking distance from the city center, Bo Kaap...

Room Tip: The ones in the ground floor are a lot noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hello Myriam
Thanks for your review. I had a look at when you were here and it was an exceptionally busy time (we are not always full) so it was probably a bit noisy. Sorry about that!
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

we stayed in a room that was recently renovated ( guesthouse 2), however, the doors and windows still have to be upgraded - door does not close and window bangs all night . looking at the effort they put in the inside of the room, I am confident they are in the process of upgrading the rest. in the meantime, I suggest you take ear plugs to guarantee a good night sleep ( it works !).
Check in is a bit of a mission ... a sign at the gate asks you to check in at the lodge 'around the corner' ...
there is a common kitchen with fridge and microwave, very handy for a snack

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that had a direct access to the pattio ... great when you need to go outside for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hello Phillippe
Thank you for your kind review. As you correctly stated, we have recently upgraded all our guest house rooms last year. There are still a few minor things here and there that need doing but at this time of year it is very difficult to get into the rooms as they are all occupied :-)
We do make clear on all our correspondence that the guest house rooms are stand-alone and that check-in and all major facilities (swimming pool, bar, etc) is at the main lodge. I am sorry that you found it a bit of a mission but as there are only a few rooms in each guest house it doesn't really warrant a staff member over there. I am sure you understand.
Nevertheless, it seems you enjoyed your stay here with us and perhaps we will see you again?
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed a few days in a double room just next to the reception in end of December 2012. It was very small but nice bed and very clean. I would go for a double room further away from the reception as everyone comes by when entering the hostel.

We moved to a dorm a few days later to save some money, and the staff let the three of us traveling together at that time stay alone in a 6 bed dorm which was very nice of them.

All rooms have safety deposit boxes with pin codes and lockers for big back-packs.
Internet is free 1 hour per day - but you can beg for more vouchers.
Kitchen is nice, but the only fridge is a bit crampled for space.
Swimming pool is small but ok - and it is nice in the area.
Travel agency seemed very good - but we did not use it.
Price is a bit steep - but that is probably Cape Town average

Room Tip: Double rooms - get one away from the reception Dorms - get one that is not next to the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAddictDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hello there
Thank you so much for your review. Our pricing is very much on a par with most Cape Town backpacker lodges and in fact, we are not even the most expensive although our facilities are definitely among the best :-)
Hopefully next time you come back to Cape Town you will stay with us again.
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were four friends of retirement age, spending six nights in Cape Town, exploring the area independently, after completing a safari with a tour group. We stayed in one of two Ashanti Guest Houses, which are about two blocks from the main property. We had two, private, en suite rooms, with a kitchen, porch and back yard area shared with the other four rooms. We were two blocks from a grocery store and restaurants in one direction and a few blocks from a Hop-on Hop-off bus stop. The area was very safe during the daytime; most places recommend taxis at night. The Ashanti offered laundry services for a small fee and had a travel desk, that arranged tours of the Cape of Good Hope and Stellenbosch for us, as well as exchanged money. It was a pleasant walk to the Green Market area, through the Company Gardens, and about a 45 minute walk to the V&A Waterfront.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48,215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Hello there!
Thank you so much for your great review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hopefully we will see you back here again one day. Hopefully your Galapagos postcard got to its intended recipient :-)
Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Lodge
#82 of 112 in Cape Town Central
739 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#6 of 131 in Cape Town Central
372 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#4 of 131 in Cape Town Central
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#9 of 131 in Cape Town Central
573 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 131 in Cape Town Central
758 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 131 in Cape Town Central
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Lodge Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Address: 11 Hof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $24 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our backpackers lodge is situated in a converted Victorian mansion and boasts clean, comfortable rooms and handy innovations like individual reading lights, personal safes, international plug points and charging points. The sparkling pool, landscaped garden, spacious balconies and palm-fringed sundecks are great for chilling out - while our legendary Kumasi Bar is the place to party! We serve delicious meals in our bar and also have a well-equipped kitchen for self-catering. We offer all accommodation options, including private, en-suite rooms in our guesthouse around the corner. A basic backpacker breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Hotel Cape Town Central
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing