We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lady Hamilton Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Cadogan(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fritz Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
More Quarters Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ikhaya Lodge(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveler rating
269
188
67
25
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
188
67
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streettable mountainbunk bedsgreat backpackersdorm roomtravel deskswimming poolshared bathroommain buildingnice place to staykloof streetenjoyed my stayguest housegarden routecompany gardensthe location is perfecthostel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 563 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I definitely recommend people to stay here. The also arranged for me to go to the airport as well. I had a private room and it was lovely, clean, and comfortable. I loved the grassy front lawn and the pool as well. Bathrooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and always helpful. They organized so I could go on the wine tour and that was such an amazing day trip. Ashanti is located in a perfect spot, and there is woolworths close by to buy food. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNU10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have made a few improvements since May 2012, so you should come back again one day to check them out :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not really the best place if you need to sleep as this place can get really noisy. They often organise braii which you can registered for ZAR50. Good attention given from the staff at reception, they can organise almost any tours for you. The rooms are nice and clean. Spacious and individual shower area. There is a large swimming pool in the back area. If the weather allows it, you'll love sit around it to have a drink and chill. Walking distance from the city center, Bo Kaap...

Room Tip: The ones in the ground floor are a lot noisier
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hello Myriam
Thanks for your review. I had a look at when you were here and it was an exceptionally busy time (we are not always full) so it was probably a bit noisy. Sorry about that!
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

we stayed in a room that was recently renovated ( guesthouse 2), however, the doors and windows still have to be upgraded - door does not close and window bangs all night . looking at the effort they put in the inside of the room, I am confident they are in the process of upgrading the rest. in the meantime, I suggest you take ear plugs to guarantee a good night sleep ( it works !).
Check in is a bit of a mission ... a sign at the gate asks you to check in at the lodge 'around the corner' ...
there is a common kitchen with fridge and microwave, very handy for a snack

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that had a direct access to the pattio ... great when you need to go outside for a smoke ...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hello Phillippe
Thank you for your kind review. As you correctly stated, we have recently upgraded all our guest house rooms last year. There are still a few minor things here and there that need doing but at this time of year it is very difficult to get into the rooms as they are all occupied :-)
We do make clear on all our correspondence that the guest house rooms are stand-alone and that check-in and all major facilities (swimming pool, bar, etc) is at the main lodge. I am sorry that you found it a bit of a mission but as there are only a few rooms in each guest house it doesn't really warrant a staff member over there. I am sure you understand.
Nevertheless, it seems you enjoyed your stay here with us and perhaps we will see you again?
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed a few days in a double room just next to the reception in end of December 2012. It was very small but nice bed and very clean. I would go for a double room further away from the reception as everyone comes by when entering the hostel.

We moved to a dorm a few days later to save some money, and the staff let the three of us traveling together at that time stay alone in a 6 bed dorm which was very nice of them.

All rooms have safety deposit boxes with pin codes and lockers for big back-packs.
Internet is free 1 hour per day - but you can beg for more vouchers.
Kitchen is nice, but the only fridge is a bit crampled for space.
Swimming pool is small but ok - and it is nice in the area.
Travel agency seemed very good - but we did not use it.
Price is a bit steep - but that is probably Cape Town average

Room Tip: Double rooms - get one away from the reception Dorms - get one that is not next to the bar
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAddictDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hello there
Thank you so much for your review. Our pricing is very much on a par with most Cape Town backpacker lodges and in fact, we are not even the most expensive although our facilities are definitely among the best :-)
Hopefully next time you come back to Cape Town you will stay with us again.
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were four friends of retirement age, spending six nights in Cape Town, exploring the area independently, after completing a safari with a tour group. We stayed in one of two Ashanti Guest Houses, which are about two blocks from the main property. We had two, private, en suite rooms, with a kitchen, porch and back yard area shared with the other four rooms. We were two blocks from a grocery store and restaurants in one direction and a few blocks from a Hop-on Hop-off bus stop. The area was very safe during the daytime; most places recommend taxis at night. The Ashanti offered laundry services for a small fee and had a travel desk, that arranged tours of the Cape of Good Hope and Stellenbosch for us, as well as exchanged money. It was a pleasant walk to the Green Market area, through the Company Gardens, and about a 45 minute walk to the V&A Waterfront.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48,215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Hello there!
Thank you so much for your great review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hopefully we will see you back here again one day. Hopefully your Galapagos postcard got to its intended recipient :-)
Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews