We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hostel in a backpacker friendly area of Cape Town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

All dorms are very clean and modern and very secure. Each room has a combination lock on the door, a locker for your big bag, as well as an electronic safe for each person. Some of the dorms even have a small sink, which is quite handy.
Bathrooms are all very clean. There are separate cubicles for showers and toilets, and all of these are unisex. There is plenty of room for hanging up clothes etc in the shower cubicles, and the water is always piping hot. One of the toilet cubicles even comes equipped with a pair of binoculars, so you can gaze up at table mountain whilst you are there. Quite bizarre!
There is a kitchen downstairs, which is fairly well equipped – hob, oven and microwave are all working and nice and clean.
Outside, there is a medium sized pool. It looked fairly nice, but being the middle of winter, we opted not to try it.
There is a bar/restaurant on the first floor, with a nice sun terrace overlooking the pool, plus a great view of table mountain. Prices are reasonable, but the food can take a while to arrive when they are busy. There is a pool table, and a large projector TV which shows all the major sporting events.
Wifi is fast and reliable, but unfortunately not free. You get the first hour for free, and then have to pay after that.
The ATC overland trucks leave from here every other Saturday, which means it can get quite busy on these nights, so it’s advisable to book ahead.
The hostel also has a very good travel centre, able to book you on all sorts of trips all over Africa. Definitely worth a look if you are planning a safari, rafting, bungee jump etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks for your great review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hopefully we will see you back again one day!
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 551 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Coming straight out of an overlander trip from Vic falls all I wanted was a decent bed away from my twenty four wonderful travel companions and managed to upgrade to a single room. After some hostels around Australia I was suspicious of the quality of the accommodation and it was only one night and then moving into a prepaid four star monolith in downtown Cape Town.
Big mistake.. The upgrade was more than reasonable and the room exceptionally clean with a large separate shower ensuite. They have wonderful facilities and prices are more than reasonable.. With a full buffet breakfast at aroun forty Rand ($5.00 Aust ) That looked a little tired as I was having a late breakfast around ten o'clock.. So opted for a couple of poached eggs and Cupachino ( $3.50 Aust ) it has all the facilities you could need including pool bar etc and extremely friendly and helpful staff. All in a very professionally run establishment that should be the bench mark for back packer type accommodation the world over.. Well done!

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade at the lodge as the separate guest houses are a short one block walk which could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Hi Leon
Thanks for your great review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our guest house. We have recently refurbished them and it is always great when someone acknowledges the effort we have put in.
Make sure you book us next time you come to Cape Town :-)
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I enjoyed staying at Ashanti during a 2 dat bachelors weekend. Our group stayed in the 8 bed door which was spotless and included your own private safe and bed locker. A few drinks by the pool in the summertime is a must! Would suggest booking for the weekend brain (BBQ) put on by the backpacker staff for a taste of a true South African experience before heading out to town. The vibey Long Street is a brisk 10min walk away so situated in a fairly central area of town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmyjamesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Hi JimmyJames
Thanks for your review - hopefully we will see you back here again one day.
Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Gardens district is a very salubrious spot to land in Cape Town. Was v. pleased not to be staying down Long Street which is hostel central in Cape Town with all the attendent cheap eats and run down bars and street beggars. For a hostel Ashanti is excellent, staff are friendly and the place is kept spotlessly clean. Beds are extremely comfortable, pillows & linen highly recommended! There is a bar area w fab view of Table Mountain and a seductive happy hour with v. passable wine for ridiculous prices, the surroundings are pleasant - a nice front garden park lands. There is a well equipped kitchen for cooking your own food.

I stayed in a double pool side room. On the downside there is no heating in the rooms which in the winter is a drawback, staying poolside means dashing across an outside courtyard to toilets and showers brrrr. Noise can be an issue although staff are v. good at enforcing the no noise after midnight rule. I stayed there with a business colleague on a film research trip for 12 days. Definitely a low cost home from home to be recommended for budget travellers of all ages. We discovered plenty of local eating options (see my other reviews) and Arnolds, Wellness Warehouse & Van Hunks on Kloof Street became our regular haunts for eating out.

Our biggest bug bear, which we think is true of much of South Africa - certainly Cape Town, was internet availablity. There is one hour free wifi included in bed rental, great for a quick check up on facebook or emails but absolutely rubbish for anything else. Would definitely return to Ashanti outside Winter as long as I did not need a wifi connection or if I had access to high speed alternative.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are fun but choose one away from the dorm & kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annekscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Hello Anne
Thank you SO much for your great review - unfortunately we are reliant on the powers-that-be with our internet connectivity but hopefully as demand increases so will the speed!
We look forward to seeing you back here again one day.
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed in a private ensuite room of one of the 2 Ashanti guest houses on Union Street for a week, which is a short 3-minute walk from the main building. The room was clean and quiet, although the shower and toilet was only partitioned and not a separate room. This accommodation is perfect for couples or other leisure travellers who would prefer staying away from the young backpacker crowds in the dorms. A communal kitchen is available for you to prepare a simple meal but we didn't use it much as there were many restaurant choices in the neighbourhood, especially Kloof Street is just around the corner. There is also a verandah in the guest house - a perfect place for us to have some tea and snacks in the late afternoon.

The travel centre was excellent and the staff was very helpful for arranging our trips to the wine area and Cape Point.  The information available was comprehensive. We would definitely recommend you to make use of it if you want to plan some trips around Cape Town or beyond.

Free 1-hour Wi-Fi is offered to the guests every day but you can only get access in the main building, not in the guest house. This is enough for you to check your e-mails, etc.

The Kumasi cafe is a great place for breakfast. It only costs you R35 and you can have a basic buffet selection of cereals, eggs, pastry, fruits, cheese and coffee/tea. We sat on the terrace and enjoyed the stunning views of Table Mountain in the morning sunshine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGeekz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Hi there!
Thank you very much for your review. I note that you stayed in one of our guest houses around the corner in January. Since then, we have done a major refurbishment on all of those rooms and I am sure that if you stayed there now, you would describe them as more than basic :-)
There is also unlimited free wi-fi in the houses and each room has a new plasma screen television with satellite channels.
I do hope that you come back to Cape Town one day and have a look. It sounds like you did enjoy our beautiful city.
Best regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed at Ashanti for 6 nights.
The old house is really nice but unfortunately you hear everything. Even when people are talking at the corridor. My room was next to the bar and that was even worse! The music was so loud, you couldn`t talk while you where having a drink!? How could I sleep than? And even after midnight was music and people where screaming and what ever... But anyway, it`s a hostel/backpacker.
The travel centre arranged some very good tours, so that was much fun!
Some informations in the map in my rooms were wrong e.g. times and costs.
And the worst thing was, that I have to discuss things about money early in the morning at 05:45 with the guy who`s doing the night shift.My taxi was waiting for me and my Bus back home too. Why has nobody asked me before?I was there every day. I was really unhappy this morning.

Room Tip: Don`t go in the room next to the bar !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Hi there!
Thank you for your constructive criticism. Unfortunately, you are right - the room next to the bar IS very noisy and we do usually warn guests about that and try and put people in there who are likely to be in the bar themselves :-) If you had come to reception after your first day, we would have definitely moved you to a quieter room and even possibly upgraded you. This is the first I have heard of your unhappiness!
The travel centre file in your room is updated as regularly as possible, however things change all the time and sometimes something does fall through the cracks :-( The guys at the front desk or at the travel centre DO have up-to-date info though.
In terms of paying on check-out. We actually do have a sign at reception asking for payment in advance and most of our guests usually do that. Surely if you knew you were leaving so early in the morning, you would have settled up your bill in advance?
I hope that one day you will come back and visit us again regardless of the above.
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Ashanti hostel was the perfect place to stay in Cape Town. It is walking distance from long Street, but still on a quiet peaceful street with a stunning view of table mountain (Even from the restroom!). The staff was very good, bar was great, rooms and bathrooms were clean. I recommended this place to some fellow travelers and they loved it too!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank udaybalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Lodge
#80 of 112 in Cape Town Central
735 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#7 of 129 in Cape Town Central
368 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 129 in Cape Town Central
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#9 of 129 in Cape Town Central
564 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 129 in Cape Town Central
745 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 129 in Cape Town Central
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Lodge Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Address: 11 Hof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $24 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our backpackers lodge is situated in a converted Victorian mansion and boasts clean, comfortable rooms and handy innovations like individual reading lights, personal safes, international plug points and charging points. The sparkling pool, landscaped garden, spacious balconies and palm-fringed sundecks are great for chilling out - while our legendary Kumasi Bar is the place to party! We serve delicious meals in our bar and also have a well-equipped kitchen for self-catering. We offer all accommodation options, including private, en-suite rooms in our guesthouse around the corner. A basic backpacker breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Hotel Cape Town Central
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing