We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
cape town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed the past weekend at this hotel for 2 nights to be tourists in our own city. This was not our 1st stay probably 5 times before. We love this hotel as it is in the heart of the Waterfront. We had a deluxe room (634) very spacious and overlooking the harbour and Table Mountain. Bathroom very comfortable and spacious. Just the view of Table Mountain very special. (One of the New 7 Wonders of the World). Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast has a huge buffet selection. You can also order eggs from the kitchen. On arrival you can get a complimentary glass of sparkling wine. They also have a shuttle service to the convention centre. Can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and facing Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TableMountain_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,560
    414
    116
    35
    29
See reviews for
397
948
58
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

With the exception of the hotel's cheap coffee the Table Bay is very beautiful, a perfect location on the waterfront, lovely rooms with stellar views, amazing breakfast and a really a very nice property overall. The reason for the poor rating was what happened on the very last day. We checked out early at 8:00am, pretty much on time to catch our flight at Cape Town Airport for our Safari. Asked the concierge to call us a cab but kept us waiting over 30 minutes for a taxi in the cold (cab stop far from lobby). I kept running back inside asking where the cab was and they kept telling me they were stuck in traffic but if I pay triple the price I can book the hotel car. When the cab finally arrived after a half hour (after several complaints) I noticed a line of cabs waiting just two blocks away, would have taken them 2 minutes to get there. The driver of the cab explained that a few workers at the hotel has side deals with specific drivers and not the cab companies. So the driver they had a "deal" with was taking a long time to get there. Not only does this hurt the honest cab drivers but in my case I had a close call potentially missing my flight! We made it in the nick of time. if you stay at the Table Bay make sure you call at least 30 minutes before you need a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank F1182KBdavidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, the hotel does have access to cab drivers at the hotel to facilitate the speed of response for our guests and should this not be available, the most speedy alternative should be arranged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We booked a trip on the Rovos Rail train from Cape Town to Pretoria and booked into the Table Bay adjacent to the Waterfront Mall in Cape Town. The reception staff were extremely friendly and efficient, right down to the porter. We were shown to our room and familiarised with all the features. We had a beautiful view of the harbour and mountain behind it. Although it was winter our room was cosy and the beds very comfortable. Plenty of closet space and the bathroom had ample space, double vanities and a private and seperate toilet. I did not bother to figure out the irritating Hotel Television system as we weren't in the room long enough at any time to watch any TV. Right next to the Mall, shopping is easy and a wide variey of shops and merchandise are on offer. Breakfast is included and must rate as one of the most complete buffets we have ever encountered in any hotel. We are sure to return to this hotel often.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour and mounain view; we found it nicer than the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

stayed here for 5 nights on a holiday with friends in june , the best feature about this hotel is its location and its proximity to the best shopping mall in cape town the V&A Waterfront.
the hotel is designed in a neo classical style which exudes luxury! the views from the banquet area where the breakfast is laid out is breathtaking, the service was nice and we were upgraded to the junior suite. We were also given complimentary high tea vouchers as we were staying for 5 nights,
with modern contemporary hotels being the order of the day, you will love this property if you like to stay in classical styled hotels once in a while.
A few tips for my indian friends, the restaurant bukhara at the v&a mall has the best indian cuisine
matrix is a rip off get a local sim :)

Room Tip: try to get a room facing either the table mountains or the robben island
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jatin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We do pride ourselves on the incredible location, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a great hotel with an excellent location on the V&A Waterfront. There is direct access to the mall from the hotel with excellent shopping and many superb restaurants to choose from. The rooms are extremely comfortable with a beautiful view over the bay. Check-in and check-out was easy and hassle free. The bed was very comfortable with a fair room size which made my nights rest a pleasure. Finally breakfast has a good selection to choose from and was well prepared. All in all a great hotel which I would recommend should your budget allow.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skywhalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Lion World Tours did a great job putting our trip together. We stayed 4 nights at Table Bay Hotel. It was very clean, the staff were very nice and accommodating, and the food was delicious. We had breakfast, high tea and dinner. They all surpassed our expectations. We had a beautiful view of Table Mountain that our camera could not capture in a picture. We could not get enough of the view. The huge mall was attached to our hotel and the waterfront was very safe and had a lot going on. We enjoyed a band from Zimbabwe at the bar across the water and wonderful meals at nearby restaurants. It is all very close. Definitely take a ride to the top of Table Mountain and a trip to the wine country, we also took a trip to the tip of Africa seeing the penguins and Cape of Good Hope. Our last day we golfed and shopped. It was fabulous and then we were off to Marataba Safari Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatieB7SkiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

A truly classic 5-star hotel with a superb location in Cape Town's V&A waterfront area. The location in Cape Town is very important, as the waterfront area is one of those areas, where you can safely walk around even later in the evening. The downtown area does have a few nice hotels as well, but my overall experience from it is not very good: slightly run-down, messy, and not very safe in the evenings. In addition, the waterfront area has a large number of dining and entertainment opportunities. What also makes the location of this hotel excellent is the fact that it is attached to the adjacent shopping mall.

We had two separate stays at the hotel. Our first room was spacious and commanded a great view towards the waterfront and harbor area and the Table Mountain. Our second room was even more spacious and commanded an equally impressive view. At the beginning of our second stay, we were first given a room where somebody had been smoking (even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room). When we provided feedback from this, we were immediately upgraded to another, more spacious room and given free access to the cake table that was part of the afternoon tea ceremony at the hotel. A good example of the kind of responsive service that we were given at this great hotel.

Also, the hotel had one of the best and largest breakfasts that I have enjoyed anywhere in my life. It is easy to survive with the breakfast alone until the dinner.

One of the many reasons why we selected this hotel was the fact that it has a pool (or actually an outside pool area). Unfortunately, this pool area turned out to be fairly small (at least if you want to be exposed to the sunshine and get tanned). To secure a sunbed, be prepared to go there soon after the breakfast time.

Those of you who are after more boutique hotel-style accommodation and relaxed atmosphere, this is not your hotel of choice. Those of you in search of a classic, more formal luxury experience should seriously consider this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkoSHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Property: The Table Bay Hotel
Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing