We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Cape Town, forget all the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Cape Town, forget all the rest”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have stayed there 3 times and it is a truly amazing experience every time i come back. The hotel's location is probably its biggest selling point, the second being the view from any of the rooms which is also outstanding especially if you have ocean view which is 100% worth the premium price. The breakfast is another experience with one of the largest buffets i have ever seen. Whether for busines or pleasure or both, forget all the other hotels, this is the best!

Room Tip: take an ocean view room and indulge in the view every morning Note swimming pool is available but s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMEG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Next time we hope you have time to experience Camissa, the new brasserie with a great selection of dishes with a touch of local flavour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,493
    399
    114
    32
    27
See reviews for
386
905
55
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, Wilts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is indeed a great hotel. We arrived early from an overnight flight and although our room wasn't ready we were offered tea / coffee and were able to sit in the lounge and wait. The rooms were well finished, large and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location on the V&A Waterfront and has great views of the ocean and Table Mountain. Breakfast is very good indeed, almost unlimited choice and a lovely outside area in which to relax into the start of the day. All the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We used the pool and Spa services which were also first rate. If you are going to Cape Town then this is certainly a great base for your stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEnglishAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We hope to see you in the future and recommend you book a dinner or lunch at Camissa brasserie, which offers a superb selection of great dishes with a touch of local flavour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Arrived the same time as a cruise ship with the consequent noise levels in the reception area it was hard to hear as we checked in. The rooms were OK - not a luxurious as we might have expected. Brilliant view.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanilla99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor. We pride ourselves on the magnificent view from every room of the hotel either on to Table Mountain or across Table Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights after a celebration birthday holiday touring around South Africa.

This is a fantastic hotel and has the best location in Cape Town.

We had a lovely luxury king room with a huge balcony that overlooked the bay, the lovely seals swimming and the amazing Table mountain.

To wake up in the morning and see this view it was a dream and we miss it so much.

South Africa has captured our hearts and we will return.

This hotel is 5 star luxury and full attention to detail.

We were treated with amazing customer care, every member of staff we came across spoke, every one was so polite and obliging. What more could we ask for.

The decoration and the reception area so relaxing, piano players, high tea, cakes and you can see how people love just to come to this hotel not just to stay but for meetings, breakfast,lunch dates etc.

Breakfast was a treat here at The Table Bay Hotel, so much choice, all you could imagine... We so enjoyed our time eating outside on the veranda on the sunshine every morning taking in the view.

The staff were fantastic, reception who helped extending our stay as we did not want to leave, and a lovely member of staff Shirley who on our last night saw we were taking pictures said she would take some of both of us and then said come outside and she would take lots for us.. She was so friendly and this gesture was so kind.

All the team working here are so polite and helpful you could not ask for a better group of people they really make the hotel, I only wish I could name everyone,but they all need praise as a great bunch and so well trained.

Our room was really large, such a comfortable bed, fantastic air conditioning which was needed, Large wardrobe, huge bathroom, so clean and comfortable. TV , hair dryer , everything you would need. Molton Brown toiletries and every day great service to freshen up the room, evening room visits, where bed was turned down,rose petals left, fresh water, chocolates etc.

The hotel is immaculate.

Every member of staff at this hotel cares so much how their guests feel and you can see this is everything they do for you.

I would totally recommend this hotel and my husband and I only hope in the future we can return.

A fantastic holiday celebrating my 40th Birthday touring around South Africa.

Thank you to all the amazing team at The Table Bay Hotel, you are superb. :) :) :) you rock... Xx

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 420holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are delighted that we could show you the magic of Cape Town. Look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, Essex, England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I used to stay here when I was working (now retired) but hadn't been here for about 12 years. I used to think it was an excellent hotel. This time I was on holiday with my wife. We were not disappointed, it's still a great place to stay. Quality throughout with excellent friendly service. Ate in Cammissa restaurant and food and wine were superb. Also had an afternoon tea, which again was first class. Not cheap I know but worth the expense. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and managed to have dinner at our new brasserie, Camissa! The restaurant was named after the original Khoi word for Cape Town and means 'place of sweet waters'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a truly 5 star hotel in a great location. For the shopaholics there is direct access to the shops of the V&A Waterfront, plenty of restaurants and tourist activities on hand as well as easy access to the Cape Town city centre. The hotel is understated luxury with attentive staff and great facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSunseeker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Spent 6 nights here in a luxury room. Would recommend to everyone. Cant fault a thing. As already mentioned on Trip Advisor 'Breakfast' needs to be seen - mouth watering to say the least. Well done. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Next time you return, please make a reservation for dinner in Camissa, our new brasserie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,945 reviews
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Property: The Table Bay Hotel
Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing