We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb 5 Star!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #17 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is the very best Capetown has to offer. We had a beautiful room with great water views. The bathroom was elegant and breakfast is 5 star and included with your stay. The lovely plush setting for afternoon tea is more like NY or Europe than what some might imagine for South Africa. Immediately up the escalator is the entrance to an excellent indoor mall. This is the only place I would want to stay in Capetown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view and ice when your bags arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,513 - 1,519 of 2,437 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

What a great location, in one of the world's best citys, but its gone way downhill since I first wa here on the opening night. Then the standard were high but I doubted then if they could be maintained - guess what, they have not been.

Willing staff ( at times ) and service is often sloppy, because they don't know any different !
I tell it how it is and make no apologies for that, it used to be so good.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

We consistently work to maintain and improve the standards of our property to ensure the satisfaction of our guests, and I am sorry to hear your visit was not to your expectations. Through our staff we strive to bring an element of the beautiful culture and personality of our country to offer a unique experience of the city of Cape Town. I hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase The Table Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days. The welcome from staff was excellent and the service to detail was second to none. We had a room with uninterrupted views of the wharf and Table Mountain. The hotel is luxurious and has direct access to the main shopping centre. Food was excellent and lots of free parking. There is a running track out along the coast, all very safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulCathyTheLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

There are aspects of the hotel I liked..............just very few


The staff were friendly, the room was clean

Then there was the rest of it .........and I stayed there a week

It started just after checkin when I discovered in a five star hotel there were just two plugs both behind the curtain at ankle level and this was in an upgraded room ......... so working with power was impossible

Then my bag arrived with another gentlemans bag which I had huge difficulty in getting the concierge not to deliver ...........the other mans bag had a six inch label with the other mans name on it

Then there is the privacy sign........ you put it on the door and the staff come knocking ........particularly if you are in the bath

Put up privacy sign ..........get in bath........phone rings ..........ignore it..........door knocks.........get out of bath........can they deliver washing.........get back in bath.........can they deliver the ironing board........which I hadn't ordered............back in bath...........knock knock.........can they deliver the iron ........I didn't order either..........bath cold floor in room soaking


Talking about the bath ........no hot water before 6.30 am

Then there is the internet.........never works........had the IT people up .........no improvement


Then there's the TVs in the room reported broken four times ...........fixed three times ......on two occasions 13 hour later


Then there are the shaver points in bathroom.....there are none!

Then there are all the staff. In the restaurant we'll there are hundreds of them.......well try asking for butter or tea on two out of 7 days left before it arrived. Though just depended where you sat as on other occasions it was good

Then there is the breakfast good quality but hard to get anywhere near with the Chinese taking photos of everything


Did I complain ......yup.......4 times .......what happened well I got a whole load of sweets in my room and an elaborate display of rose petals and candles on the bath......when all I wanted was the TV to work and internet access

A really really poor place .......I thought the new fairmont in Dubai was bad but this is off the scale............in terms of prestige versus product truly the worst place I have ever stayed by a very very very long margin

Can I give them no stars?

As I said the taxi driver based at the hotel were good particularly Philip and Wallace but the third guy didn't know where Newlands stadium was and it took 1 hour to get there and 15 mins to get there. It's like asking a taxi driver to take you to Buckingham palace in London and him not knowing!!!!!!,

Room Tip: Chose another hotel if you value privacy , Internet access or watching TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review with us. It is through such feedback that we are able to address these issues. Should you return to The Table Bay I would ask you to contact my office directly to make your booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a special place to stay I Cape Town for a night before heading to the Swartland. After reading the reviews and we know The Table Bay hotel after many visits to the Waterfront but have never stayed in it we made this our choice. We were made to feel so personally welcome from the boom gates to where we were shown to our room. A tip request Waterfront views. The accomodation was beautiful and every detail had been thought of.
The position is great as it is right near all the fantastic restaurants and shopping the Waterfront offers. The breakfast is worth the destination alone. It is rated as the best we have ever had in our travels
We ate on the verandah watching the working harbour with the seagulls crying on the background.
We will definitely stay again and again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SanC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Fantastic Location; Great location - Stunning views of the Harbour and Table Mountain. Extensive breakfast choice. Secure and very convenient for the waterfront. The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment, however this does not particularly intrude. As other reviewers have commented, the service provided was inconsistent, sometimes staff would be attentive and unobtrusive, on other occasions, service would not be as expected -for example a request was needed to top up room toiletries and coffee etc. The ambiance, setting and facilities are excellent, however, for me, the inconsistent service is not what I expect to be delivered in a hotel of these aspirations. However to give credit were due, action was taken to address requests to rectify irritating service shortfalls, it is a shame that such requests were necessary.

Room Tip: We liked the view of the mountain (when the cloud allowed it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel is absolutely stunning. The breakfast buffet leaves you spoilt for choice due to the extensive choices on offer. The rooms have all the facilities that you require and the turndown service is excellent. The setting is superb with the V & A harbour close by, plus the views of table mountain and the Atlantic Ocean (with whales) were brilliant. Recommended ++

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,614 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,850 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,728 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,860 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: | Quay 6, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $322 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing