We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Manipal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had just one day and a night in Cape Town and the choice of Table Bay Hotel was just right. Just off the waterfront, the atmosphere on Victoria & Alfred Wharf is decidedly delightful. Take a walk along the wharf to discover several eating places. The hotel rooms are spacious and neat. The staff are courteous and freindly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    399
    114
    32
    27
See reviews for
387
906
55
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisse
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place is amazing! From the checkin to the breakfast that is included with your room every thing is great. They come in each night to turn down the bed and pace rose petal on the pillow, a bottle of water if you get thirsty during the night and a wondrful piece of nougat for a bedtime snack.
The hotel is right on the waterfront, not far from the Ferris wheel and countless restaurants from McDonalds to the finest seafood, to Greek and many more.

Room Tip: My husband had a room on his last trip that faced the Mountain, this trip we face the bay. Both are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Table Bay Hotel in Cape Town is a superb choice. The staff is attentive, the bedrooms and bathrooms are modern,spacious and well appointed, the lobby and public spaces are welcoming, warm and beautifully decorated in a modern English style, breakfast is a feast for the eyes as well as the stomach, and the location on the V&A Harbor is superb. We can't say enough good things about our stay and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I (unfortunately) only stayed one night here in February. We had a lovely time – the hotel has great staff and great facilities – all in a great location. I would happily recommend and would love to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Table Bay Hotel is an absolute destination. We arranged pickup from the airport by the hotel and we were greeted by a very polite gentleman who had cold water on ice in the car when we arrived. The staff's service is above anything I've ever seen and I've been a lot of places. It's right on the V & A waterfront and has excellent views from almost everywhere in the hotel. You can't be this location. It's within walking distance of everything. It's right in the middle of almost any experience you want to have and has an entrance from the hotel directly into the V & A Mall. The food was excellent and breakfast had so much variety. On trips to Cape Town, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtravelrealty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was definitely one of the best hotels we've stayed at, and being our first experience of Cape Town it really did the city proud. We had a wonderful view of the Table Mountain and port below from our 8th floor suite. The room itself was large and had a good bathroom. The hotel staff were really efficient and helpful, including the Concierge who went beyond the call of duty in advising us of an impending influx of visitors to the City due to a conference. He therefore suggested he should book us into restaurants for two evenings. He also arranged a hotel chauffeur to take us on a superb tour of the Cape of Good Hope and surrounding areas. Our thanks to Naser Elkurdi, our tour guide, who did a great professional job. Well done Table Bay - we would thoroughly recommend you.

Room Tip: Choose sea or mountain/port view. We prefer the latter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose-of-the-Shires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were travelling as part of a group and I think that everyone loved this hotel. Superb location - attached to a large, classy mall and right on the waterfront. The breakfast buffet was huge - like nothing I've seen before. The bed unusually comfortable.
The staff in the dining room deserve special mention as they really tried hard to please - and they did.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randalljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Property: The Table Bay Hotel
Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing