We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Table Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #16 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a great experience we had at the Table Bay Hotel. Exceptional staff...every single person was lovely. The breakfast was amazing....oysters, sushi, waffles, eggs to order, fruit, fresh squeezed juices. The room was lovely with a beautiful view. High tea with wonderful scones was perfect . The dining room is exceptional with a large selection of South African wines and great food. Location is very convenient....actually, it was a perfect stay.

Room Tip: I do not know how you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,427
    383
    107
    29
    26
See reviews for
370
859
52
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I wish to thank Mr Banda and Loma for their exceptional service!
It is a pleasure to stay at such a well maintained and beautiful resort
It never ceases to amaze me that the resort grows from strength to strength each year
To all business or holiday travelers, no other resort can compare to the Table Bay.
The food is a culinary spoil
The atmosphere and location is superb
I look forward to my next visit

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercades S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here post cruise after staying at Cape Grace pre cruise, we thought Cape Grace was the best but Table Bay for us was exceptional, we got of the cruise and the bell boy took our bags to the hotel we were that close, check in was a breeze we were greated by all the staff offered a drink, it was very special, the hotel is gorgeous, very classy decor and art work felt like we were in another time, the room 116 was very large with a massive deck which over looked the crusie ship we had just departed, We had the breakfast the next day, we did not have the buffet but checked it out and it was the best breakfast buffet I had ever seen, catered to every taste, again staff very attentive could not do enough for you, I actually prefered this hotel to Cape Grace, better location. but really hard to choose, if you have the opportunity check them both out

Room Tip: The first floor with the big patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheffgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Satyed in Table Bay from 29th Jan till 3rd Feb 2013.Rooms have got some of the most beautiful views of the ocean. Access to a good mall ( with all the big brands and also a very useful drug /grocery store). Plenty of restaurants , wayside restaurants and bars alongside. Decent jacuzzi , and food was outstanding . We only had breakfast here - Truly one can Breakfast like a king here. I was surprised , a predominantly western fare , but on one day they had some delectable parathas too . Great location , great service and great food. A class act

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank journeysofmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have to say that this hotel has the best location in Cape Town. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Because this hotel is quite old, if you expect a morden furbished hotel it will not suit the taste. However, it is right in the V&A Warerfront, with wonderful view and accesibility to the top shops, bars and restaurants. The breakfast is wonderful, it provide a big selection of foods. High tea is good as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
160 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

What a location for a hotel. Looking at table mountain. Very clean, great position, great breakfast if you can't find something you like at there breakfast you would never be happy. There big secret is there staff all wonderful people!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dogsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is wonderful hotel for holidays and for business. With its premium and quiet location, excellent breakfast and good service!
Very good choice for shopping and eating places around hotel. Hotel concierge will advise where to go for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Algirdas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Property: The Table Bay Hotel
Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing