We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #17 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is my third stay at this hotel. The hotel is ideally located with beautiful ocean and mountain vistas. The hotel is linked to the best shopping centre in Cape Town. The rooms and restaurants are world class. As a member of Leading Hotels of the World, you can be rest assured of a high quality of accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 130 a great family room with young kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seedat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,673 - 1,679 of 2,441 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the table bay hotel. Service was regular, breakfast was a lot but not freshly made,swimmingpool was dirty and there was no guard. We aspected a lot more because it's "a leading hotel of the world"! Kids club was only open from 11 to 4 and 2 days they closed because there were only 4 children!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgit1880271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent three days at The Table Bay Hotel in Cape Town at the end of our holiday in South Africa. The views from our room to Table Mountain across the harbour were superb and provided an ever changing backdrop. The room was extremely well appointed and the housekeeping staff kept it in pristine condition.

The service in the hotel was exemplary. The staff were friendly, cheery and most helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were all anyone could ask for. There was plenty of choice (and a glass of sparkling wine if one wanted one), and a chef would prepare an individual omlette or anything else if asked. We had dinner in the hotel on two ocasions and the waiters were helpful and attentive and the standard of food was excellent.

We used the roof top pool with views over the harbour and my wife had a massage; both excellent experiences.

On our last morning we mentioned we were leaving and before we had finished we were presented with a significantly sized cake (enough for six or eight people) with the words 'bon voyage' in icing on top.

In fact, staying at the Table bay Hotel was the icing on the holiday as far as we were concerned. First Class!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

In Dec my sister and I had the good fortune to be guests of The Bay Hotel on the Waterfront. Par Excellence! The epitome of luxury! Contrary to our belief that this was not a place we could afford, we found very affordable meals on the A La Carte menu. Prices all round were reasonable, particularly taking into account the quality and luxurious beauty of the hotel, Lounges are spaciously comfortable and while we were there the entertainment was of a standard equal to anything I have seen in Europe or America. The band playing in the Palm Lounge added to our enjoyment (Summerfield). I took pictures and will try and post them but I am not that computer savvy so not sure I can upload. Oh! lots of easy parking available. Great!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the harbour. Very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookiemair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Views of Table Mountain morning or nite perfetto! And the waterfront views too! Top quality room, view, linens, and attention to amenities. Location to die for in the heart of the V&A and all its buzz! Christmas decor was delightful...Concierge service is tops in dealing with airline horrors! Loved the rose petals on turndown---even though sadly I was alone! Would go back in a heartbeat and loved returning after 8 years to find the same ambiance!

Room Tip: go high! Table Mountain view best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barefootsusyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was on honeymoon and spent 02 nights at this awesome property and great hospitality of management made my stay memorable.

Upon arrival, everyone from bell desk, front office & relationship team were welcoming and enthusiastic I was also lucky to get a complimentary upgrade, SA Wine and Cake upon arrival.... Guest Relationship lady have escorted me and my wife to room and shown all facilities of hotel and special features of Superior Luxury Room - Ocean View...

Being into a travel industry, I generally find pros and cons in almost every hotel i visit but this is one of the few hotels i come across wherein I could only found pros and not a single cons...

pros:
1. Location - Bang at V & A Waterfront.. - In fact hotel have a special access to the Mall from Lobby.
2. One of the finest buffet breakfast of Cape Town... You get everything you need.
3. A feel of luxury.
4. Hotel is surrounded with best of Cape Town view - Harbor, Ocean & The Table Mountain

Room Tip: Ocean View or Table Mountain View... Avoid Harbor View. Prefer Corner rooms to get best of view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiv4241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We recently stayed at Table Bay Hotel as the end of our South African trip. Upon check in, we were offered an upgrade which was just divine. We had a beautiful corner suite with amazing views of Table Mountain & the waterfront. The service all around was very good & we would certainly stay there again should we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsPDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,614 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: | Quay 6, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $323 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing