We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #16 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed for business and was lucky to be upgraded to a top floor suite on arrival. From the moment I arrived, the service was exceptional. My case was immediately taken from the car and delivered to my room. Arriving in the morning, I was offered (free) coffee on the terrace whilst housekeeping checked my room. Once ready, I was personally escorted to my room and then given a short induction to the hotels facilities.
Over the next 4 days, I sampled some lovely food and the breakfast buffet was fantastic. The hotel is joined to the shopping mall which leads down to the V&A.
Free wifi and english footy on the TV topped it off nicely.

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel would be great. I looked out over the sea towards Robben Island and was tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,596 - 1,602 of 2,331 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the Table Bay in November 2012 for 3 days. In short: excellent location, excellent views if you are facing the Table Mountain as we were, great breakfast. Good staff overall, but this is a big place and there is always a few downsides of being so big... in all, we were very happy with our stay, but it was not perfect. The only thing that really did bother me was the noise coming from outside the room, the doors are wooden made and you end up getting a "wake up call" if your neighbors decide to wake up earlier than you... Would we stay there again? Probably yes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lu_De_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed for three nights. Lovely room, very good service. Excellent location. We will try and come back if we visit S Africa again.
Would recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay.
Staff professional and very helpful at all times.
Food excellent.

Room Tip: Stayed on harbour side good view of Table mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 191281Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at Table Bay for a business meeting. The location is on the harbor. My room was on the back side facing Table Mountain and the working harbor, a lovely view. The location is good for getting the ferry to Robben Island and the cable car to Table Mountain. The room had its own terrace. The hotel is very well built, so if the glass doors to the terrace are closed, it is very quiet. The room was large, as was the bathroom, and well appointed with lovely cotton sheets and a good bed and a nice desk. The wireless was a bit of a hassle, but did work. The staff was very attentive and could not have been more helpful. The hotel has its own car service with excellent drivers. The food for our business lunches was just okay, but the people in Room Service tried very hard to accommodate my wish for fresh vegetables and fruit. The hotel connects directly to a "private" upscale mall that is vast. It includes many well known chains and designers, but also has some local stores like Lorenzi's which has beautiful, high quality leather goods.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

last October, we spent 4 nights at this hotel and it was perfect. It has everything that you expect from a 5 star hotel. Where it is located is also the best place to stay in Cape Town; day or night, you can access everything you need ( restaurants, shopping, Hop on Hop off bus lines, boat trips ,etc) by a short walking distance.

Room Tip: they are all good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smoino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I would reiterate all the positive things other reviewers have said about this great hotel. We stayed here for three days after a long grueling tour of SA and this was a perfect treat before our return to UK. Our room overlooked the harbour and Table Mountain, and contained all the facilities one would expect from a 5 star hotel. Staff were courteous and helpful, and I felt very well looked after. The spa staff were very professional and it was easy to get an appointment for hair and nails on the same afternoon. Well done!
The hotel opens into the shopping arcade and the Waterfront, leaving great opportunities for "doing your own thing" at night, or for exploring during the day. Lots of local restaurants nearby serving great food....
The breakfast buffet is to die for, and stretches for "miles"..... I just wonder what they do with the waste food at the end of the day..... there was a huge amount available!
I would certainly like to stay here again on my next trip to SA.

Room Tip: On the higher floors at the back overlooking the Harbour and Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrigeenYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

you couldn't be more central on the Waterfront, which is very buzzy, enjoyable, good atmosphere, great restaurants... Table Bay very good, excellent service, functional...everything works...maybe just missing a bit of "magic"! Pool (food and drink) was good

Room Tip: all quite similar...maybe Waterfront/Table Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town
2,098 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town
1,664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town
1,532 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: $301 - $970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing