We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying too hard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Trying too hard”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed here for business for three nights. The positives: Great view of table mountain and the waterfront; good location; nice shopping mall attached; areas to walk and stroll along the water; clean and comfortable rooms; attentive service. The drawbacks: very expensive; a bit stuffy for my taste; restaurant was very elegant, but food was just average.

Overall, I can't really complain about this hotel in terms of service or quality. I guess I just didn't really like the old-fashioned vibe of the place. To me it seemed like it was kind of living in the past and trying too hard to be old world elegance. I will say that the transportation and drivers that we booked through the hotel were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    416
    116
    35
    29
See reviews for
398
949
59
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed at the TB some time back and have been meaning to write a review ever since, especially given that two sets of friends and relatives have been here on my recommendation and thoroughly enjoyed it. In fact, one family extended their initial stay of 4 days to 10! This is a fabulous hotel in an awesome location with staff who are really geared to pay attention to detail. The breakfast room staff provided a curtained-off 'private' area for the family with infant who stayed there recently, and the baby was whisked away so that the parents and older siblings could enjoy their meal in peace.
This hotel is an environment in which your every need seems to be anticipated almost before you voice it. In addition to all the amenities and little touches (Crabtree & Evelyn cosmetics, outstanding wall murals) you'd expect from a 5star deluxe property, it has absolutely the best breakfast selection I have EVER had (and I have travelled extensively on 4 continents) - On a Sunday morning you can spend hours over your meal, dawdling over the papers and watching the ships in the harbour. The staff noted that I asked for rye bread on my first day and on subsequent days I was offered several gluten-free alternatives.The Camelot spa is very good, though not the best I have experienced.
Sadly, have not been able to afford a stay here on recent visits to Cape Town, but have treated myself to high tea as a consolation:)

Room Tip: I seriously doubt there's a bad room in this hotel but ask of harbour and mountain views (yes,in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2011

During my first stay at Table Bay a while back I found the service wanting and I subsequently stayed at other hotels on the Waterfront. This time my company booked me in and I was very pleasantly surprised by the wonderful check-in and excellent service and the view of Table Mountain and the Harbour was priceless. Top marks to reception (wish that I could remember the receptionist's name). Some words of advice for management - and this is the only thing preventing me from giving it top marks -- The service in the breakfast room was often atrocious. The food is top notch but on the first morning I left without coffee despite someone asking if I wanted some and then nothing, not even a waitress in sight. There were only three of us in the breakfast room. The rest of the week was marginally better but I had to witness two ?trainee chefs arguing about time off right in front of me, waitresses chatting loudly in Xhosa and one continuing to shout across the room as she walked away, and my personal favourite - the waitress who put down the stack of dirty plates on top of mine (in front of me) so that she could scoop it up to take away. I would highly recommend this wonderful hotel and would like to suggest that management take immediate action to correct this so that Table Bay can live up to its five-star rating - which it otherwise deserves.

Room Tip: Harbour and mountain facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We'd stayed at the Cape Grace Hotel some years ago and were very pleased with it. We loved the cozy, intimacy and elegance of the Cape Grace and from across the harbor we had thought of the Table Bay Hotel as a bit of a loud resort. Nevertheless, we decided to stay at the Table Bay on this trip and were so pleased we did. While it is huge, it doesn't feel resort-like at all. It felt stately and like the Grand Dame of the Bay. Our rooms had commanding views over the harbor, across the city and up towards Table Mountain. It was enjoyable to sit in the window, sip on Amarula and just watch life on the waterfront -- including the harbors seals. While in Cape Town one of the peole in our party had a health issue (that had nothing to do with the hotel) and the hotel staff (from the restaurant wait staff to the housekeeping personnel to the guest services professionals) were at the absolute top of their game. We couldn't have been more impressed with their desire to meet each and every one of our many needs. We were impressed with this hotel in every way.

Room Tip: Be sure to stay on the harbor side of the hotel so that you have commanding views over the bay, acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoguyswhotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had a wonderful stay here while attending a convention in nearby wine-country. The hotel offers breathtaking views of table mountain, and is perfectly situated. It's conveniently attached to an indoor shopping area and an outdoor entertainment area, Victoria and Albert's waterfront. Every evening we wandered out the glass doors to the bay area where all the restaurants are situated and even enjoyed some live entertainment. We headed through the other doors in the lobby into the nearby mall (which had places to get batteries, photos developed, and a market). The hotel offered a breakfast that is worth the money, with a great buffet and the best selection of tropical juices! The concierge is more than helpful and will point you to some of the best beaches. They arranged our cab ride, sent us to an awesome beach, and handed us a pair of beach towels as we left. This was one of my best hotel experiences and was a great jumping off point for our daytrips to wine-country, beaches, cape of good hope, twelve apostles, and of course table mountain.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of table mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdawn30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This place has a wonderful view as it's biggest plus. What better way to enjoy Cape Town than to wake up to the majestic Table Mountain behind your rooms curtains. The location is fantastic being centrally located on the V & A waterfront and the breakfasts are a veritable smorgasbord of delicacies. I have been to a few hotels in my time and the Table Bay rates as the finest on this point. The staff were exceptionally friendly and the concierge was only too happy to assist with reservations and recommendations in this remarkable city. The only minus for me was the facilities at the gym were sadly lacking, coupled with this and the breakfast I think I gained three kilos just staying here for a few nights. On balance though I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others on their stay in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with table mountain views. Simply stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aar0n76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We visited twice in September, and enjoyed everything the hotel has to offer. Staff are impeccable and the breakfast has to be seen to be believed - its a huge smorgasbord, catering to every taste, from fresh fruit to oysters, pastries, cheeses, full cooked meals, noodles, duck .... everything! Best rooms have a view of the mountain. They're also cooler, with ocean view rooms getting sun most of the day. Watching the tugs in the harbour, the seals frolicking, the mountain clear or swathed in cloud - just gorgeous.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFlaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Property: The Table Bay Hotel
Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd, Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing