We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$121
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$195
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$172
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$104
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$89
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$125
$120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$107
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$214
$186
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$803
$565
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,785)
Filter reviews
1,785 results
Traveler rating
1,475
228
59
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,475
228
59
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplanet restauranthigh teaoasis restaurantpink ladyfamous afternoon teachef's tabletennis courtscolonial hotelgrand dametable mountaingrand old ladymain buildingjunior suitecompany gardensoystersconcierge deskwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,785 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Celebrated birthday high tea at this glorious hotel in the shade of table mountain. Very grand and memorable. Definitely a bucket list tick off event. For foreigners it would not be costly.
To be treated in style with butlers etc. made the occasion even more special.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank jnnj2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are delighted that you were treated in such style at our hotel, thank you so much for your review and your compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our family (2 rooms) stayed for 5 days in early June 2018. Everything, from the initial reception to check-out, was totally professional. Service was attentive. Staff knew our names. The is the one hotel in Cape Town you have to stay in to truly experience a 5-star visit. We enjoyed the Planet Bar, what a relaxing atmosphere and you have to see the revolving solar system chandelier. The food at breakfast and in the Lord Nelson restaurant was excellent. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. We were fortunate to have a great view of Table Mountain. The concierges, Vass and Kieth, were very helpful both before and during our visit with their recommendations for sightseeing, restaurants, and arranging private cars for our day trips out of Cape Town to Stellenbosch and the Cape Peninsula. Also the pianist in the lobby in the evenings was one of the most enjoyable we have listened to anywhere.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

How happy we were to read this glowing review of your five day stay with us and we will be sure to pass on your compliments to all our staff as well as Henry Dike, our pianist. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018

Stayed at 'The Nellie' 20th-26th June 2018. Although we had enjoyed visiting before and partaking of high tea (so 'high', in fact, that you won't need to eat any more that day!), this was our first stay as guests. We were welcomed with open arms and made to feel just so relaxed, comfortable and at home, thanks to the lovely staff. The hotel was not busy (mid-winter!) and we got a free upgrade to one of the nicest suites in the entire building, overlooking the beautiful gardens. The room was gorgeous, quiet and with the most comfortable beds ever; yet you are only 10 minutes walk from the centre of Cape Town and everything the city has to offer - and a lovely walk at that, if you make your way down through the Company's Garden. But the best thing of all is the staff, and that is what makes this hotel so very special. You immediately get the feeling that they would do anything for you, nothing is too much trouble and all they want is for you to be comfortable and delighted with your stay. Cannot recommend too highly. Thank you, everyone, for making what was already meant to be a 'special occasion' for us so extra specially special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main part of the building, i.e. not too far from bar, restaurant, breakfast room etc.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pjv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are beaming with delight at your warm and wonderful review of our hotel, our staff, our location - we are so proud that we helped you to feel so "specially special". We do hope you will return, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

We stayed at the Belmond Mt. Nelson Hotel for 2-1/2 days -- it is a beautiful and elegant home away from home reminiscent of times gone by, with very good food, excellent personalized service. It is very close to downtown, but away from the hustle-bustle of the waterfront -- for us it was an excellent home base from which to explore the city. I only wish we had scheduled more time there.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank NEWLYRETIRED100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

We love the fact that you found our location to be your perfect home base to explore the city and that you felt you were staying in a beautiful and elegant home. Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

We stay at the Mount Nelson often. Sometimes my husband and I go for a romantic evening without the kids. Sometimes we take the kids. It's always wonderful. The staff are friendly, welcoming, helpful and not cloying. They are always excited to see our kids and have Johnson baby products in the room for us as well as beautiful cribs made up and sometimes they leave a stuffed animal penguin or two for the girls to keep. Very family friendly. But when it's just me and my husband we revel in the romance and alone time the hotel gives us. The breakfast buffet is the best I've ever had. Oysters, fresh juice bar, incredible pastries, etc. The afternoon tea is spectacular. We just had dinner at the Lord Nelson restaurant and it was cozy, yummy fancy food, gorgeous oysters from Saldana bay, incredible wine, great service....aaaahhh! It's the best hotel ever. Just go! You'll love it. We are there all the time and we live 1.5 hours away. It's our getaway, our second home, our favorite place.

Room Tip: The studio suite 507 is spectacular.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eddycape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

What a lovely description of our hotel being just perfect for romance as well as for families, thank you so much for your many compliments on our property and our staff. Delighted also that you love the cosy Lord Nelson restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews