We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
280 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Magnificent Hotel”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Mount Nelson is Cape Towns iconic luxury hotel and deservedly so.
It has been in operation for approximately 120 years and has 220 rooms including junior and luxury sites
The hotel is part of the Belmont group of worldwide luxury hotels.
The food at the Planet restaurant in the hotel is superb and their buffet breakfast well worth the price. Booking is essential.
Their 5 course tasting menu is definitely worth it and is more than ample.
The hotels High Tea is famous throughout the country and is a must for anyone visiting Cape Town.
However please remember to book.
There is a wonderful Spa and hydro on the hotel grounds.
They have the usual pools as well as tennis courts.
Worth a stay if somewhat pricey.

Room Tip: A room in the pool area is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Clive,

Thank you for your review of the Grand Lady. We are in fact 115 years young, embracing our legacy but at the same time we staying young at heart!

We do hope you welcome you back to the hotel when you visit Cape Town again!

Best regards
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of our General Manager, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    185
    49
    15
    6
See reviews for
261
719
50
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Mount Nelson at the start of our holiday to South Africa. The "Pink Lady" has a real charm, and the service was excellent. We booked our trip with Trailfinders, and received a room upgrade on arrival- the room was very spacious, with a really comfortable bed and an enormous bathroom and overlooked Table Mountain. We visited in mid-May, which was going into the quiet season, but there were enough guests for the hotel to feel busy, but not so many that it felt crowded. Because it wasn't peak season we were able to use the courtesy car service whenever we wanted, and the drivers were polite, smart and very professional, as were all the staff. Everyone at reception knew our name, even if they hadn't been there when we arrived. Breakfasts were fantastic and in the evenings, we ate in the bar, the lounge and the restaurant - in each location, the food was very good, and the wine great quality and value. I particularly liked that when I was ordering just one glass of wine in the bar, I was invited to taste it first, and alternatives were on offer if I didn't like it. I think what really stood out was the individual character of the hotel- you didn't feel like you were staying in an anonymous hotel which was part of a big chain. We would certainly return to this hotel if we are in Cape Town again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfieSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear alfieSussex,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel again soon!

Best regards,
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of GM, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagos
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Beautiful pink vintage hotel, The rooms were biggggggg!!!!!!!!!
I loved the breakfast spread and the tea room(even though they let me play the piano)
I like the complimentary shuttle and i think the recptionist Busiwe was marvelous, actually the staff were very friendly. it was clean and i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zonalagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back again soon to the 'old English Castle'!.

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of our General Manager, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Iconic, classy, storied and stately, this is your place for a peaceful haven in a lovely setting. Ask for a copy of the history to hear the walls talk. Great location with complimentary lux car shuttle to Table Mountain entrance and V&A Waterfront, plus a helpful walking tour map to Kloof and Long Street restaurants and boutiques right outside the security gate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jetfuelblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Grand Dame of Cape Town, we are looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of our General Manager, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Mount Nelson is on the outskirts of the city area but don't be put off by the location. It's within walking distance however the hotel offers free transfers to the waterfront, Table Mountain and the beach area (subject to availability of course, taxi's are very reasonable and reliable.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed and in our case overlooked the magnificent gardens of the hotel. The sculptures in the gardens are world class and well worth the time to explore.
Cannot fault any of the staff, very professional, friendly and always ready to help with any queries.
Made our first stay in the Cape area very happy and pleasant experience

Room Tip: A view of the gardens is well worth seeking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennyray09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel, and for choosing to spend your first holiday in Cape Town with us.

Our location is indeed perfect to explore Cape Town, our best beaches and one of the Natural Wonders of the World, Table Mountain; and walking distance from the cultural hub of Cape Town.

We do hope you welcome you back again soon,

Best regards
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of GM, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Have been here many, many times (unfortunately not for a few years though, so the date I have given is the earliest possible option I have) but am only just getting round to reviewing. It's very simple:

Lovely staff (everyone - receptionists, maids, waiters/waitresses, security etc)
Really nice afternoon tea
Amazing breakfast! One of the best places for breakfast buffets (and a la carte) I've been to
Really nice restaurants
Great pool
Nice area of Cape Town
Very comfortable and well-facilitated rooms

Recommend to anyone going to Cape Town!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plummerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel, and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of GM, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed in a suite in the Mount Nelson over the weekend, which is something we do every year for our wedding anniversary. Although service has never been bad (normally quite good) it was exceptional this time. The hotel seemed in tip top condition and our room was extremely comfortable and spacious. Could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Devil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel and for celebrating your anniversary with us. We do hope to welcome you back again soon and that your experience will be even better!

Best regards
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of GM, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Belmond, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing