We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing experience ”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Mount Nelson for just under a week. Upon our arrival we were offered some sparkling wine and were pleasantly surprised by being upgraded to one of the small bungalows with a private garden. All the staff without exception was lovely and really helpful. During our stay we enjoyed many nights outside on the terrace sipping their innovative and delicious cocktails. The Planet Restaurant is absolutely delicious. We also experienced the famous afternoon tea which was absolutely exquisite, with a wide range of sweet and savoury options and an equally wide range of teas to chose from. Lastly - the experience at the spa was wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel and very keen on coming back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hortyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and the recommendation - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of General Manager, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,281
    187
    51
    15
    6
See reviews for
265
730
51
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. The room is very nice with full of traditional items as room decoration. I particularly liked the extremely spacious bathroom. I saw some tiny ants but didn't bother me much. The service is excellent. Everything I used in the morning was taken care of and back in the original spot by mid day. I had a car service but I think it's easy to get around since it's near one of the main streets.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laf10lol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We hope to see you back again soon for some rest and relaxation this time! Come and enjoy the leisure facilities and activities we have on property also in and around Cape Town.

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of General Manager, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opatija, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Staying at this hotel is one of my favorite memories of travelling to South Africa. Beautiful colonial estate with gorgeous breakfast terrace and garden, wonderful spacious rooms and excellent staff. I attended a wedding at this hotel, and stayed for 4 days. On arrival I was upgraded to the most wonderful suite across the main building separated from my friends however, separate entrance, spacious suite, marble bathroom with luxury treats and i-docking station made me feel truly pampered. For someone who appreciates old world luxury hotel style, this hotel is a perfect choice. I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunawayDuckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of our General Manager, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great location, staff, and unexpectedly, a fantastic breakfast buffet
Exterior a little dated but rooms with huge windows/ doors opening to great view makes up for it. Extremely helpful front desk, concierge and bell staff

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Z1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We will be improving the exterior of the hotel over the next 12 months, so next time you visit us you will beautiful view all around you!

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer (On behalf of our General Manager, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at the Mount Nelson before but not for a while and this time was the best! This was our last 2 nights in SA before returning home to the UK and thanks to the hotel and its staff for making it a memorable experience. We were fortunate to be given an upgrade to a suite and the room was both beautiful and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with a great selection to choose from.
On our second evening we enjoyed a delicious wine and dine event (Môreson) with friends and family in the Planet Restaurant and during the event we were very lucky to win a voucher for Afternoon Tea for 2 which we enjoyed before travelling to the airport on the following day. Thank you to the staff for letting us use the voucher earlier than the start date (a few days later).
Also, the hotel was extremely accommodating to allow us to use its facilities after checking out on our last day as our flight wasn't until the evening.
We would recommend the Mount Nelson as a treat and look forward to another visit in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SmartN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and choosing to stay with us again. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Wine and Dine evening, these evenings bring the best of the Cape wine-lands to our guests. Afternoon Tea is indeed an occasion and it was only our pleasure to be able to accommodate your request to use the voucher earlier.

Thank you for your recommendation and we are looking forward to your next visit with us.

Warm regards,
Louise Pheiffer, on behalf of the General Manager, Xavier Lablaude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We arrived in Cape Town by Silversea Cruise ship and were collected by the hotel on arrival. All went smoothly and we arrived to a clear day and lovely views of Table Mountain. This was the only day of our 3 day stay that the mountain was clear as on the other days it was occluded by fog/pollution. The Hotel is delightful, with manicured lawns and wonderful service. You are made to feel very welcome and spoilt. The pool area is nice with plenty of seating in the shade and they make a lovely cup of tea. In fact, afternoon tea each day became our favourite meal of the day.
Recommended for people who want a genteel experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you Joyce for taking the time to write a review. This time of year we experience all seasons in one day here in Cape Town, and Table Mountain is often covered in fog/cloud or what we call the 'table cloth'. Glad it cleared before your departure, it is such a magnificent sight. Our afternoon tea is indeed an occasion at the hotel, and we do hope to see you back again soon, you are always welcome.

Best wishes,
Louise Pheiffer, on behalf of General Manager, Xavier Lablaude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We just left after 3 days at the Old Lady. A friend recommended it and he said it would be a ' delight' and it was. Full of old colonial charm yet with modern twists that kept it contemporary too.
We stayed in the Helmsley part of the hotel which is out the back which put us off at first, until we saw the room, I mean suite, or by London terms, apartment. Just wonderful old deco charm and really really big! Byron, the concierge is so good he knows all the restaurants and all the menus off by heart, impressive! Not over priced for food or drink, but you have to like olde world Grand hotel charm. But it's not stuffy or too formal just charming. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMaxxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about your recent stay with us. The Helmsley wing you stayed in offers beautiful and spacious rooms, and we will be investing in the property to add a few more modern touches to the rooms.

Byron is a true asset at the Concierge desk, he is well traveled himself, and does apply himself to know (and experience) all the best places in Cape Town in order to recommend them to our guests. We have shared your compliments with Byron.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Cape Town,

Warm regards
Louise Pheiffer (on behalf of our General Manager, Xavier Lablaude)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,032 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing