We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels we have stayed in worldwide. Service impeccable, food wonderful and first rate accommodation. Staff friendly, attentive, knowledgable and helpful. We could not fault it. We would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mwright982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next visit to Cape Town. As an FYI, we have just had the opening of "Summer of Sculpture 2" in our gardens where we have 17 South African artists exhibiting 22 sculptures.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    182
    48
    15
    6
See reviews for
256
709
49
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Mount Nelson Hotel is truly an oasis in the heart of Capetown. Lush gardens surround this stately low rise hotel and Table Mountain rises behind; a stunning, jaw dropping vista. From the moment one arrives, entering through the massive white columns and up the long shaded drive, one is treated like royalty. Each and every staff member is remarkable; friendly, professional, and helpful. They do whatever they can, to make your stay special.

My room was beautiful; a large, elegant retreat overlooking the pool and gardens, the bed, exceptionally comfortable with top quality linens.

Each morning I enjoyed a delicious buffet breakfast on the terrace. It was a wonderful, leisurely way to start the day and I felt always a little reluctant to leave and go sightseeing! From the Mount Nelson Hotel, both routes of the Hop On Hop Off bus can be accessed, as the bus stops right at the main entrance. The courtesy car is also available should you want to go directly to a specific location, such as the waterfront. As much as the waterfront is a lively and interesting tourist destination, I was quite happy to not be staying there. I much prefer the quieter, secluded nature of the Mount Nelson. It is also a great spot from which to set off on a walking tour. Very near are the Company Gardens, the National Gallery ( very worthwhile!) and other museums and attractions, as well as many good restaurants.

I loved my stay at the Mount Nelson. I would love to go back, and if I am ever able to return to Cape Town, I will return to the Mount Nelson. In fact, I would go back to Cape Town, just to stay at the Mount Nelson! Now that's an idea!!

Room Tip: I had a pool view and it was very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noreen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. Hope to see you again if you have a chance to return to Cape Town. In the meantime, you may want to see the new movie, "Long Walk to Freedom". The movie is being released on November 29 and it is a chronicle of Nelson Mandela's life journey from his childhood in a rural village through to his inauguration as the first democratically elected president of South Africa. I haven't seen it yet but will make sure I see it.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

You should be in no doubt that this is a great hotel - all class. Whether its the friendly and professional staff, the splendid breakfast spread, or the hotel's beautiful grounds and graceful sculptures, there is so much to love about this timeless hotel. When we stayed nothing was too much trouble - e.g. when we checked in the WiFi was not working in our room, but it was not long before a technician was up to fix it without the usual fuss that often accompanies such irritants.

The hotel is also ideally placed right across the road from the Government Avenue gardens, placing it within walking distance of the national museum and planetarium, the national gallery and national library, St George's Cathedral, and the Jewish Museum. In addition, there is a stop for the 'hop-on hop-off' bus right out the front off the hotel. Add to this the service of the hotel's 'courtesy car', and there not many sites in Cape Town that are out of reach!

Along with the hotel's famous 'High Tea and its marvellous heated outdoor swimming, it's not difficult to see why this hotel has such a great reputation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anactbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on your stay at the Mount Nelson Hotel. Sorry to hear that you had WIFI issues. I understand that you like culture. So, if you do return to Cape Town, you can look forward to the opening of a new museum, MOCAA - Museum of Contemporary Art Africa, at the end of 2016. Hope to see you then! Thanks for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Mount Nelson is probably the most amazing hotel I have ever stayed at…. I think I have found my 'spiritual' home here. So, what is truly different about the Mount Nelson? well for one, it is the personal service received from the moment you step into the foyer - for the whole of my stay everyone greeted me by my name (how refreshing is this…?) and would stop and ask (with great interest) how I was enjoying my stay… The front desk was very welcoming and informative, the head concierge, Byron was wonderful, accommodating, with a real 'can-do' spirit, and with a smile that would brighten up anyones day. OK, so too the location of this hotel is quite stunning, the gardens are wonderfully tended and beautiful, and my large, comfortable room had the most delightful view of Table Mountain, it is also central to downtown Cape town and easy to walk, if you feel like it. The high tea was a major highlight of my stay, a veritable feast, wonderful service, a great way to wend away an afternoon. I also got the experience the spectacular food (and accompanying delicious wine) in the Planet restaurant, which has been one of the best food experiences I have had in the last five years - it is certainly on par with Djelina in LA. I was very impressed. The only question left to answer is how soon I can get back…
Please thank everyone for working and proving such amazing service from their hearts - beautiful to witness the real essence service in action.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. May the Mount Nelson Hotel remain your spiritual home. We'd love to have you you back. Thanks for visiting.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millwood, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

What an amazing old, but new where it matters, hotel. The best of British slightly faded elegance. The setting is beautiful, the rooms large and comfortable. The front desk and concierge are amazing. From my first email contact to reserve, they were perfect. They provided very affordable airport pickup, making me feel really secure as I arrived tired in a city I didn't know.

The hotel is surrounded by simple but good and affordable restaurants, and the concierge chose one for us each night which was a success.

The breakfast is one of the best buffets I've ever had.

Although it's not in the hopping waterfront area, it is an easy and safe walk through the company garden area to the center of town. And if you want to go to the waterfront, the hotel provides transportation.

We had a view of Table Mountain from our room.

Most of all, everyone was just so pleasant and helpful. And for that kind of experience, the price was right.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, which let us walk rather than use the elevator, which we always prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillwoodTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Mount Nelson Hotel on Tripadvisor. Byron and his team at the concierges desk do a great job all supervised by our star guest relations manager, Mr. Joey Michael, who has been looking after our guests for almost a quarter of a century. Thanks for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

In many respects Mount Nelson is the only hotel in Cape Town; it is in any event one of the oldest and in today's South Africa it fully retains its charm and its place as one of the best hotels in the world. The site is unique, the gardens are vast and contain so many types of plant species that the visitor cannot help but marvel at their beauty in every season. The service is impeccable as are the afternoon teas, and indeed all the restauration facilties from formal dinners to breakfast on the vast terrace. The staff are excellent, professional and natural. Really, where else would you want to go for that really special occasion? My visits are not so recent unfortunately, but when I next travel to South Africa I shall certainly return here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Paul Rice, the hotel's head gardner who has been working at the hotel for more than 25 years, and his team do a terrific job. We are also about to launch our second sculpture show next week. There will be about 20 sculptures from South African artists.
Hope to see you on a future trip back to CApe Town. A bientot!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a treat to be invited for afternoon tea at the Mount Nelson. Beautiful setting, great service and excellent buffet! The fudge was not expected, but it was delicious - perhaps as a take away gift on departure? The afternoon was wonderful! Thank you Mr Ploum!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed the afternoon tea. Will pass on your thanks to Chretien Ploum.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Belmond, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing