We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Nelson A Class of It's Own”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
424 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Mount Nelson A Class of It's Own”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is by far the best hotel staff my family has ever experienced. My daughter loved that they would have her favorite cup of hot chocolate in front of her, seconds after sitting down. She giggled every morning feeling important like in the movies! The buffet breakfast was by far the best breakfast in the World. We never missed breakfast! The rooms are spacious and beautiful, from a time era long past. The swimming pool and spa are modern and so lovely. The grounds are huge and well maintained with beautiful flowers and foliage. High Noon Tea's presentation is fabulous, with 25 types of teas and scrumptious chocolates and desserts. Our room had the view of Tabletop Mountain. Loved watching the clouds roll in and out from sunrise to sundown, it was never the same and when the Dr. Winds arrived the clouds galloped in. By walking out the front door, It's a nice walk to downtown through the park. By going out the back door, it's close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiian555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    185
    49
    15
    6
See reviews for
263
721
51
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was the first hotel we checked into after traveling for some 20 plus hours from D.C. Just entering the property through the large white columns was impressive, the grounds beautiful. The check-in was flawless, with bellhops ready to help us wary travelers to our rooms. The rooms were beautifully appointed, huge windows overlooking the gardens. In the mornings, we walked through the gardens to our breakfast, which was a combination of buffet (many tables full of food, one dedicated to meats/cheeses, one to fruits (some I've never seen before), one to breads, and so on). Despite all the hot food (including 3 quiches), you could also order off the menu and there were also freshly made waffles and such. Many fresh-squeezed juices. We were not there for tea, as we were out and about touring CT and surrounding areas, but in the evening, we enjoyed the veranda, having wines and soup. One evening my sister and I also enjoyed the restaurant in the hotel, we were terribly disappointed that we were so tired because it was probably the best restaurant we ate at while In Africa, 5 star all the way. The beds were crazy comfortable, pillow topped and nice duvets. Very clean. Huge tub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scgirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went there for morning tea - tried out 3 different teas - they served savoury as well as delicious cakes. You never felt that they were rushing you. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Will go back to try their afternoon tea next time we're in Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 427sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel's pampering provided the perfect conclusion to a cruise vacation. On staff tour guide Darrol Lee picked us up right at the dock. He proved to be so charming and knowledgeable that we booked him for our entire 3 day stay. He rapidly assessed our interests, and provided a spectacular insider's journey around the Cape area. The front office staff was extremely welcoming. With a smile Chad Bartman offered us a wonderful upgrade. He proved to be attentive throughout our stay. The suite was massive, and featured a long veranda with a view of Lion's Head. The grounds are absolutely stunning with a backdrop of Table Mountain. The food venues are varied and excellent. The elegant old world lounge and conservatory is famous for its afternoon tea. The Planet Bar has a whimsical decor and serves up super cocktails and scrumptious appetizers. The sunny Oasis poolside restaurant is the scene of the unbelievable smorgasbord breakfast and the tasty å la carte lunch. The wait staff was totally attentive. We did not get a chance to experience the popular Planet Restaurant, but I assume it is on a par with the rest of the facilities. I am simply in love with the hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms with views of Table Mountain or Lion's Head
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhsboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel was our first stop on our tour of South Africa. We were welcomed with cool towels, iced tea and lemonade. Our room was lovely, with a bay window overlooking Table Mountain and a tiny balcony. It was quite spacious, with a large bath and and extremely comfortable king sized bed. The entire staff was well trained, gracious, and friendly. The building is beautifully restored, while maintaining its colonial charm. High Tea was a special treat, served in a beautiful room with all the elegant tidbits you could hope for. The breakfast buffet was a fantastic spread. Our only problem was trying to find room to try everything on the menu. We had filled out a questionnaire on our departure, and received a lovely personal letter from the manager when we returned home. I would highly recommend a visit to the Mount Nelson to anyone visiting Cape Town and searching for a beautiful hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VOLUNTEERGIRL_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatif
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I arrived there and i felt i am in a huge luxury castle. The costumer service was excellent. the rooms where beyond what i imagined! I had a pleasant stay with my lovely wife, and i recommend couples to go there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadil-Ghazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mount Nelson for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon. The hotel was fabulous, it is full of character, very luxurious and the service is second to none.

We were spoilt from the moment we arrived, every member of staff looked after us and the efforts that all of the staff went to to make sure we enjoyed our stay was extraordinary.

The hotel is spotless and the food was delicious. We took advantage of the courtesy cars to take us to table mountain and down to the waterfront. We had afternoon tea on the terrace and relaxed by the pool. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

We could not recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: We had a room over looking Table Mountain (this is at the back of the hotel) and was great although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Newlyweds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,550 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,154 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,390 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Belmond, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing