We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed at this hotel one night and didnt have much time in the room, but the service was excellent and the staff only happy to help. Now you could say well you that's why you pay the high price tag, but I would say that this hotel is about service and delivering excellence!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captivatedoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have just returned from a magical holiday to South Africa and have to say the stay at the Mount Nelson was absolutely the best start to my SA experience. The service is out of this world ! If you are looking for a modern hotel with funky lighting and big plasma TV's and groovy decor then go elsewhere, but if you want a proper traditional hotel, where customer service is at the absolute centre of everything they do, serving wonderful food, the most amazing afternoon tea and the chance to bump into some of life's really interesting characters then there is only 1 hotel in Cape Town to stay in, the Nelly !

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I only had the pleasure of staying in this hotel for 1 night whilst away on business, however, this is definitely a place that I would return to to enjoy a much longer stay. The hotel itself is very impressive and from the moment when you turn into the driveway underneath the magnificent archway and drive up the palm tree lined drive - you are not disappointed.

The hotel itself if fantastic, very traditional building, so if you are looking for super modern (which I was not) you will perhaps prefer to go somewhere different. However, if you are looking for real opulence and class, this hotel is really for you.

All of the staff were very friendly, even when I had to check out at 4am in the morning the night receptionist was very helpful in arranging my onward travel.

The rooms themselves are fantastic, very large with beautiful bathrooms - really I cannot fault this hotel in any way - I will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: There are rooms with views over table mountain if that is important to you you may want to request t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have stayed in this fabulous hotel twice & it really is my favourite place.
Attention to detail is second to non, & in my opinion the staff cant do enough for you. Rooms are all fabulous. The gardens are so pretty in summer.Not a modern hotel, you need the Waterfront for that, but it has everything you could want.
Even if you dont stay you must try afternoon tea, it is wonderful. Full selection of teas, a table groaning with sweet & savoury goodies. Far better than anything i have had in UK, including the Ritz, & only cost about £16, extra for champagne.
After afternoon tea a walk through the park just opposite the hotel is a must. The museum is there & you can get a horse & cart to take you further or if you have trouble walking.

Room Tip: All rooms i stayed in were great, but i am sure if you were not happy they would be only too pleased...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorsetLoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

If only eyes could speak, those will be the ideal and perfect words to describe this amazing amazingly unlimited Stars Hotel. You wake up in the middle of the night JUST to double check if you are indeed sleeping like a King or it is just your dream again! Afternoon Teas are on another level..

Room Tip: New Suites are larger and stylish..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ndikdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This was my 3rd trip to Capetown but 1st time in downtown. Honestly I wanted to spend my 8 nights @ the smaller boutique hotels but being Valentine's week & peak season I could not get reservations at the top boutiques, though staying here was really a treat, so peaceful & a sanctuary in the city.
I missed my flight out to Capetown from Jo'berg & ended up waiting for the driver @ the airport coz of the flight change &traffic on his end. He took my luggage directly to Mt Nellie while I went off to Myoga &did not check in til 3pm. Check in was a pleasantly efficient experience, was greeted by name as soon as I arrived, upgraded to a nice quiet room on the 3rd floor facing the main pool. (2 pools, 1 pool is adults only). Wifi was free but in my room (267) was almost non-existent, though it worked fine in the pool area).
Transport: Having spent a bit of money cabbing around, the free hotel Toyota Prius rides to the waterfront etc were most appreciated, only gripe was what I thought was a free ride to the old biscuit mill's Saturday market cost zar 200. (The free Prius was available but they stuck me in a Benz).
Breakfast @ Oasis: decent amount of choices & I was happy as they had plenty of simple fresh veggies.
Gym: was in a cute little Victorian cottage which had a few rooms, nice equipment, view of Table Mountain & was never crowded.
Service: overall very good. It helps that Capetonians are a friendly and charming bunch. Byron the charming concierge helped with booking restaurants that did not even pick up phone calls. Chad at the front desk was helpful as well though he did forget to order my boxed breakfast which he offered for my 6am departure.
Housekeeping:
Good job overall but some room for improvement...For whatever reason any glasses /cups that were taken out of my room were not replaced. I finally called on my 3rd night to show them the empty drawers & dwindling supply of teabags.
Planet restaurant: Had Valentine's dinner here, food & service were ok compared to the rest of the great choices in Capetown (on this trip tried Myoga, Greenhouse, La Colombe, La Mouette, Savoy Cabbage, Constantia Uitsag, Test Kitchen, societi bistro, roundhouse, grand on the beach, food barn, la petite ferme, kalk bay Harbour House, Bistrot Bizerca). I.e.long waits between meals & drinks, had a tasting menu & they served a soup while skipping the dish before. My 6 course w/wine pairing took more than 3 hr to finish, other diners were in after me but out befote me.

But....Overall a good memorable place, a good 2nd home at a lovely location. Even if I don't stay here again, I would recommend Mt. Nellie.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Mount Nelson hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The staff, grounds and general Ambience make this one of the best travel experiences we have had. the whole Area is one of total tranquility with colourful birds and beautiful gardens to enjoy.

the only thing that detracted from a wonderful experience was the lack of dress code for dinner and afternoon tea.

Well done to all concerned.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.6 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,285 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $390 - $799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing