We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An amazing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Maine
2 reviews
“An amazing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in "Old Nellie" at the beginning of December for 9 nights.From the moment we arrived we felt special!! We were welcomed by a lovely lady at reception who congratulated us on our anniversary and as the hotel was quiet upgraded our room.We never expected to stay in such a beautiful room and the view was spectacular.We woke up each morning with an uninterrupted view of Table mountain. All the staff went above and beyond what was expected of them.I feel that by naming a few it is an injustice to those I don't mention.Special thanks to Byron,Sydney, Robin,Jerald,Pamela, Katie, Margaret and Wilson.
From the pool to the gym to the restaurant and our nightly tea ritual with Sydney, everything was wonderful. The hotel is also in an excellent location if you want to get out and about and mix with the locals in Kloof street. It is a little piece of heaven and I can't wait to go back. I hope the staff get the recognition they deserve from the management as they are the reason it works so well... A wonderful holiday, if you get the chance visit,you won't regret it!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    167
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
232
639
43
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester,England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Geat place to unwind for ten days after a busy holiday spent staying at a winery in the Southern Cape, a safari at Ulusaba (truly magnificent) and re-aquintance with a country visited for the first time 30 years ago, such change.
We stayed in a cottage property within magnificent grounds just underneath the beautiful Table Mountain,a lovely lawn at our entrance leading to the outdoor pool hard to beat.
The service at the Mount Nelson is as one would expect, exceptional. We were not enamoured of the afternoon teas as reviewed but if you like sweets then go for it!
The prices are comparable with most 5 star advertised properties the restaurant food much better than competing local haunts, unusual for hotels of this type.
In summary an excellent place to stay in a wonderful location very close to City and places of interest, good value.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages, a very neat terrace of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

A grand driveway and stunning view, let down bŷ warm drinks to welcome and nowhere to sit. Great rooms, great afternoon tea and bar. Weak performance fixing the aircon in our of our two family rooms. Jerald the pool waiter set the tone for the service overall ,a star, the afternoon tea is rightly legendary. You will see cape towns hoi polloi in all their finery. Worth a visit for grounds/history and grandeur alone.

Room Tip: Third floor has highest ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night at a conference and had a large beautiful room overlooking the lush gardens.

The hotel is an older property and been lovingly restored, it does not feel like a city hotel despite its location in he city and this is due to the expansive gardens and grounds. The room style is quite colonial rather than modern/contemporary so if this is to your taste then you will like this hotel.

They do an excellent afternoon tea which is well worth having even if you are not staying at the hotel.

I would suggest that this hotel is better/more suited to a leisure stay rather than business, I really like the taj for a business stay or cape grace on the waterfront.

The hotel is walking distance to all the key city centre attractions but further away from the waterfront.

Room Tip: I for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p750777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I see from previous reviews that this hotel is everything you would expect from a 5 star.I endorse all that is said and wish that I could have stayed there longer than we did to enjoy all the facilities fully but we were on a tour and had to move on after three nights.I adored the "olde worlde" ambience,the service that made you feel special,the chauffeur car service,the fabulous food,the faultless service and the wonderfully comfortable rooms.Treat yourselves,people, to a once in a lifetime experience or more if possible.

Room Tip: We didn't use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Mount Nelson is one of the best hotels we've stayed at in the world and is even better thatn Raffles in singapore. Gasp - I hear from some people but seriously the Mount Nelson has the edge. There is nothing I could possibly fault about the 'Nellie' and we will keep going back because it just doesn't get any better than this. When you are sitting by the pool and enjoying a cool drink it's as close to perfection as you'll find. The rooms are delightful, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the Head Concergie is a Master even at such a young age. We ate out most of the time because there are so many lovely restaurants in Capre town that you have to visit but the Hotel provides a chauffeur car service where you are taken to the restaurant, you call when you want collecting, and there's your driver waiting to take you back to the Nelson. How lovely is that!

I could write pages on just how good this hotel is but don't take my word for it. We stayed there when the film Invictus was being filmed in and around Cape Town. Morgan Freeman was staying at the hotel and Noel Gallagher was also there enjoying the pool with his family. No-one bothered them and that's the sign of a good hotel when any guest can enjoy luxury without any hassle. I can sum up the Nelson Hotel in just a few words. "Go and stay there - you'll absolutely love it."

Room Tip: They are all superb. Don't worry for a second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilot1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is quite outstanding for it's accommodation, service and food. The setting at the top of Government Avenue is ideal for walking into the centre of the city. The facilities are excellent and the staff most helpful. Do not miss afternoon tea but be sure to book beforehand as it is very popular. The Planet Bar is a must even if just to soak in the ambience. The restaurant is much improved since we last visited and the meal one of the best due to the quality of the food, the attention of the staff and the help of the sommelier.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in adjacent buildings. Those in the main building more convenient particularly in in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Belmond, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing