We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic grand dame of Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night at a conference and had a large beautiful room overlooking the lush gardens.

The hotel is an older property and been lovingly restored, it does not feel like a city hotel despite its location in he city and this is due to the expansive gardens and grounds. The room style is quite colonial rather than modern/contemporary so if this is to your taste then you will like this hotel.

They do an excellent afternoon tea which is well worth having even if you are not staying at the hotel.

I would suggest that this hotel is better/more suited to a leisure stay rather than business, I really like the taj for a business stay or cape grace on the waterfront.

The hotel is walking distance to all the key city centre attractions but further away from the waterfront.

Room Tip: I for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p750777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

I see from previous reviews that this hotel is everything you would expect from a 5 star.I endorse all that is said and wish that I could have stayed there longer than we did to enjoy all the facilities fully but we were on a tour and had to move on after three nights.I adored the "olde worlde" ambience,the service that made you feel special,the chauffeur car service,the fabulous food,the faultless service and the wonderfully comfortable rooms.Treat yourselves,people, to a once in a lifetime experience or more if possible.

Room Tip: We didn't use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Mount Nelson is one of the best hotels we've stayed at in the world and is even better thatn Raffles in singapore. Gasp - I hear from some people but seriously the Mount Nelson has the edge. There is nothing I could possibly fault about the 'Nellie' and we will keep going back because it just doesn't get any better than this. When you are sitting by the pool and enjoying a cool drink it's as close to perfection as you'll find. The rooms are delightful, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the Head Concergie is a Master even at such a young age. We ate out most of the time because there are so many lovely restaurants in Capre town that you have to visit but the Hotel provides a chauffeur car service where you are taken to the restaurant, you call when you want collecting, and there's your driver waiting to take you back to the Nelson. How lovely is that!

I could write pages on just how good this hotel is but don't take my word for it. We stayed there when the film Invictus was being filmed in and around Cape Town. Morgan Freeman was staying at the hotel and Noel Gallagher was also there enjoying the pool with his family. No-one bothered them and that's the sign of a good hotel when any guest can enjoy luxury without any hassle. I can sum up the Nelson Hotel in just a few words. "Go and stay there - you'll absolutely love it."

Room Tip: They are all superb. Don't worry for a second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilot1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is quite outstanding for it's accommodation, service and food. The setting at the top of Government Avenue is ideal for walking into the centre of the city. The facilities are excellent and the staff most helpful. Do not miss afternoon tea but be sure to book beforehand as it is very popular. The Planet Bar is a must even if just to soak in the ambience. The restaurant is much improved since we last visited and the meal one of the best due to the quality of the food, the attention of the staff and the help of the sommelier.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in adjacent buildings. Those in the main building more convenient particularly in in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Mount Nelson is everything it is cracked up to be! It really is the most beautifully run hotel, the service is faultless, breakfasts wonderful and was the most magical end to a lovely trip to SA. I could not recommend it more and will definitely be back. What a great hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We didn't stay in the hotel. So, this review is only for the afternoon tea, which is consistently listed as one of the best in the world. I enjoyed the experience. Unlike most afternoon teas I've been the sandwiches and pastries are served on a giant buffet (rather than the 3 tiered plates). The ambiance was beautiful, and I thoroughly enjoyed my time there.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank travelgirl1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have just returned from our annual stay at this wonderful hotel, and it gets better and better. We have the same delightful room every year, and only one small point is that the wifi is a bit variable. The warmth and welcome of the staff is completely unsurpassed. It is always a pleasure to have such great interaction too with some of the staff that are not always available to customers e.g the wonderfully knowledgeable gardeners, whose hard work certainly adds to the quality of our stay. This year there are some fantastic sculptures on show in the grounds with a map inviting you to visit them. The Bistro has been revamped for the better. Finally let me say that the service, food and ambiance are quite superb. We hope to be able to make this our holiday destination for many years to come. Thank you Mount Nelson

Room Tip: Some but not all rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icesk8terglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,708 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,394 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,820 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $459 - $826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, in Cape Town’s buzzing heart. We invite you to relax in our iconic pink buildings, airy rooms and dreamy gardens. Enjoy imaginative local cuisine, nourishing spa treatments and eye-catching artworks. Captivating visitors since 1899, Cape Town’s iconic resort hotel is a tranquil hideaway just moments from the city’s buzzing heart. Our 198 individually designed rooms and suites and a host of fabulous facilities appeal equally to romantic couples, families or adventurous groups. Stroll through our expansive gardens, take a tree tour or browse the outdoor sculpture exhibition. Discover the hotel’s history, art and culture on self-guided tours. Enjoy imaginative cuisine in our restaurants and soothing bliss at the spa. Just beyond our gates lies the pulsating city, with stunning beaches and historic hotspots moments away. Forever watching over the hotel is Table Mountain, another wondrous Cape Town landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing