We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Iconic grand dame of Cape Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Iconic grand dame of Cape Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night at a conference and had a large beautiful room overlooking the lush gardens.

The hotel is an older property and been lovingly restored, it does not feel like a city hotel despite its location in he city and this is due to the expansive gardens and grounds. The room style is quite colonial rather than modern/contemporary so if this is to your taste then you will like this hotel.

They do an excellent afternoon tea which is well worth having even if you are not staying at the hotel.

I would suggest that this hotel is better/more suited to a leisure stay rather than business, I really like the taj for a business stay or cape grace on the waterfront.

The hotel is walking distance to all the key city centre attractions but further away from the waterfront.

Room Tip: I for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p750777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    158
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
220
601
41
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I see from previous reviews that this hotel is everything you would expect from a 5 star.I endorse all that is said and wish that I could have stayed there longer than we did to enjoy all the facilities fully but we were on a tour and had to move on after three nights.I adored the "olde worlde" ambience,the service that made you feel special,the chauffeur car service,the fabulous food,the faultless service and the wonderfully comfortable rooms.Treat yourselves,people, to a once in a lifetime experience or more if possible.

Room Tip: We didn't use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Mount Nelson is one of the best hotels we've stayed at in the world and is even better thatn Raffles in singapore. Gasp - I hear from some people but seriously the Mount Nelson has the edge. There is nothing I could possibly fault about the 'Nellie' and we will keep going back because it just doesn't get any better than this. When you are sitting by the pool and enjoying a cool drink it's as close to perfection as you'll find. The rooms are delightful, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the Head Concergie is a Master even at such a young age. We ate out most of the time because there are so many lovely restaurants in Capre town that you have to visit but the Hotel provides a chauffeur car service where you are taken to the restaurant, you call when you want collecting, and there's your driver waiting to take you back to the Nelson. How lovely is that!

I could write pages on just how good this hotel is but don't take my word for it. We stayed there when the film Invictus was being filmed in and around Cape Town. Morgan Freeman was staying at the hotel and Noel Gallagher was also there enjoying the pool with his family. No-one bothered them and that's the sign of a good hotel when any guest can enjoy luxury without any hassle. I can sum up the Nelson Hotel in just a few words. "Go and stay there - you'll absolutely love it."

Room Tip: They are all superb. Don't worry for a second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilot1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is quite outstanding for it's accommodation, service and food. The setting at the top of Government Avenue is ideal for walking into the centre of the city. The facilities are excellent and the staff most helpful. Do not miss afternoon tea but be sure to book beforehand as it is very popular. The Planet Bar is a must even if just to soak in the ambience. The restaurant is much improved since we last visited and the meal one of the best due to the quality of the food, the attention of the staff and the help of the sommelier.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in adjacent buildings. Those in the main building more convenient particularly in in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Mount Nelson is everything it is cracked up to be! It really is the most beautifully run hotel, the service is faultless, breakfasts wonderful and was the most magical end to a lovely trip to SA. I could not recommend it more and will definitely be back. What a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We didn't stay in the hotel. So, this review is only for the afternoon tea, which is consistently listed as one of the best in the world. I enjoyed the experience. Unlike most afternoon teas I've been the sandwiches and pastries are served on a giant buffet (rather than the 3 tiered plates). The ambiance was beautiful, and I thoroughly enjoyed my time there.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have just returned from our annual stay at this wonderful hotel, and it gets better and better. We have the same delightful room every year, and only one small point is that the wifi is a bit variable. The warmth and welcome of the staff is completely unsurpassed. It is always a pleasure to have such great interaction too with some of the staff that are not always available to customers e.g the wonderfully knowledgeable gardeners, whose hard work certainly adds to the quality of our stay. This year there are some fantastic sculptures on show in the grounds with a map inviting you to visit them. The Bistro has been revamped for the better. Finally let me say that the service, food and ambiance are quite superb. We hope to be able to make this our holiday destination for many years to come. Thank you Mount Nelson

Room Tip: Some but not all rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Icesk8terglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,733 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,454 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Belmond, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing