We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mount Nelson rocks!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
1 review
“The Mount Nelson rocks!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

What a hotel. What a holiday. We took our 5 month old baby daughter, and had a fantastic time. They provided a cot, steriliser, complimentary baby toiletries, and generally did everything to make our stay superb, including sorting a baby sitter for each of the 8 nights. It was our third visit to Cape Town and our first visit to the Mount Nelson. Guess where we're going next year. If you do, make sure you speak to Joey, the Guest Services Manager, who will organise a gourmet tour of Cape Town's finest restaurants. We're going back next year!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank PhilandEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewCapeTown, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2008
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your very kind words on your recent experiences at the Mount Nelson Hotel. I am most pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves and that our baby facilities and services were also enjoyed by your 5 month old baby! Joey has been a great asset and ambassador of the Mount Nelson for 19 years and I will pass on your kind comments to him. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Warm regards
Andrew Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    179
    46
    14
    7
See reviews for
251
694
48
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

I loved this hotel. From the moment I arrived there was service and smiles from every staff member. The room was perfect, clean, well maintained with a beautful turn down service in the evening. While there, Cape Town experienced a huge wind storm, and in the morning we found lots of debri all over the grounds. But before we finished breakfast the staff was out cleaning and taking care of the damage.
The breakfast buffet was incrediable. I have never seen such a complete buffet breakfast with fruit of every kind, meats, fresh pastries all in an artist display.
There are wonderful verandas in which to have drinks in the afternoon or the abundant afternoon tea.
This hotel is part of the Orient Express Hotels and the service is superb along with the style. Every room is a bit different, no two alike, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Ambiance
  • Disliked — Away from shopping
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lfairheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewCapeTown, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2008
I thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences of your recent visit to our beautiful property. I have shared your feedback with all my managers in order that they share with their staff in their departmental meetings. Your comments have also been posted on our staff notice board as with all our trip advisor comments. On behalf of the team at the Mount Nelson Hotel we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and now we have our newly opened Librisa Spa you can spoil your selves even more!! Warm regards Andrew Cook General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

Having stayed at this Grand old lady of cape town on several occasions at various times of year I can say that she never lets us down with views of table mountain right behind her you cant beat it! The rooms are luxury ,the decor very classic but this lovely hotel combines the old with the new! with bathrooms I find it hard to get my partner out of as she enjoys the big baths and spacious showers,this is a great place to relax and take in the Cape town sights, .At night it was so close to places to eat that even if you chose not to eat in the hotels own restaurants which I must say provide a great chance to try local delicacies, the staff always helpful and knowlegable provided great suggestions for alternatives,whilst the in house bar provided a great place to wind down at night especially when you don't want to go out.

A chance to relax by one of the pools, a smaller one for the occasions we wanted an adult only time or the bigger one which was great for families, the hotel seems to be suitable for both couples and families alike and the afternoon teas are not for those with small appetites,the kids loved it, eat as much as you like, its a meal on its own.

  • Liked — The bedroom space and quality of the beds,fresh fruit in the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lonmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewCapeTown, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2008
I thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences of your recent visit to our beautiful property. I am most pleased that as a luxurious oasis resort in the heart of a city centre we are able to cater for families, couples and individuals alike whether on holiday or business. Our two heated swimming pools have been a great success as we are able to cater for families in our Oasis pool and those wanting some piece and quiet away from children in our Cottage pool.

I have shared your very kind feedback with all my managers in order that they share with their staff and your comments have also been posted on our staff notice board for all to read.

On behalf of the team at the Mount Nelson Hotel we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and now we have our newly opened Librisa Spa you can spoil your selves even more!! Warm regards Andrew Cook General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2008

Me and my family went to south africa with our friends it was beautiful but when we reached the Mount Nelson our trip became even more amazing. The lobby was indescribable and was always in tip top shape. The garden and pool, were to die for! The pool was at a perfect temperature and the garden had beautiful flowers and tranquil areas. When we were taken up to our room by a very lovely staff member we came to find a perfect sized room with a mini bar,table,tv , phone ,AMAZING bathroom - ( which also included a dressingroom!) And the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in! The food in our min bar was delicouous and not at all expensive!!! The view was panoramic! There is no other word to descibe it. I also got to enjoy seeing the spectacular views in more detail when i went in a helicopter which the hotel very graciously orgainised for me! - It wasnt just helicopter rides that the hotel had contact with ,shark cage diving,snorkling,climbing,visits and many more exiting activites to enjoy. The service was impeccable and the staff were a joy to have around. When we were staying there, a wedding reception was being held at the Mount Nelson and it was a joy to watch the bride and groom so happy. The Mount Nelson is the best hotel i have ever and will ever go to! The never wanted to leave and i am definately going again!

  • Liked — The Activites at the hotel
  • Disliked — The food in the lobby wasnt as amazing as the food in the bar
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxi000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewCapeTown, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2008
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your very kind words on your recent experiences at the Mount Nelson Hotel. I am most pleased that you enjoyed our luxurious oasis resort in the heart of our beautiful city. It is most gratifying to hear of the positive services our staffs have provided you and these have been shared with all my managers and your comments have also been posted on our staff notice board for all to read.

On behalf of the team at the Mount Nelson Hotel we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and now we have our newly opened Librisa Spa you can spoil your selves even more!!

Warm regards Andrew Cook General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2008

An absolutely wonderful hotel with luxurious rooms, attentive staff, beautiful surroundings and very good location. We thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakfasts. If you enjoy the classic "old world" style hotels, then the Mt. Nelson is not to be missed.

  • Liked — Comfortable room, excellent staff, great breakfasts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Leejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland-on-sea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

Warm reception, lovely and spacious room, friendly staff with a personal touch (not always so in 5 star hotels) good food and service, felt very comfortable - did not want to leave! Good central location - lovely walk from hotel through Company Gardens to Greenmarket Square.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jeantonybula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

The Mount Nellie was lit up like a lighthouse when the power cuts blackened out the rest of Cape Town. It continues to uphold standards, come what may. I like in particular the fact it recognises that not every guest enjoys other guests' screaming kids and offers, for instance, a quiet pool in addition to the main one. A fine place with excellent standards of service and good food and wine.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lugosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
1.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Property: Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Belmond, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing